We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Peaceful, Beautiful.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamaica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winhall Brook Campground
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We look forward each year to camping at Winhall Brook. The campground is kept very clean. Rangers and police keep everything safe and peaceful. If you want to party find another place. Tents or campers. Lots of fun things to do near by.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Molar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 30 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have camped here several times over the summer of 2012 and already have reservations to go back in 2013!! The electrical sites are perfect for any size RV (we have a 32 ft. travel trailer). Even the no hook up sites are great. Picture perfect scenary, beautiful river, and some nice hiking trails all around. Well maintained by the Army Corps of Engineers, this is a great place to take the family for a weekend or even a week of relaxation. Huge fan!

Room Tip: The South Electric sites are all good, but try to pick one that is inset from the loop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandRHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Maybe we got lucky, but this place was just perfect for us. There were 8 adults and 5 kids (7-13)with us plus our dog. We had the spots 62-64 which are located in a little section with 59-61. Those spots were empty so we had the whole area. We set up camp in our spots and used the other spots for football, biking riding, etc. Couldn't ask for better. We were right on the river, which was running at about 1 1/2 to 2 feet in depth. The kids built a dam across the river and got it to about 3 -3 1/2 feet, then opened up a sluce and tubed down the shoot. That occupied them for about a full day. We hiked down a gravel rode about 2 - 2 1/2 miles to a spot where the river ran deeper and jumped in off the rocks. That was another great day. The last day we went to Pike's Falls (about a 10 minute drive) and the kids had a great time. The campground was quiet at night, the bathrooms were as clean as you can ask from a campground. No problems, no hassles, just great family time. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Spots 62-64 are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hfamilyvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place would be great if they would only enforce the rules! When you arrive they give you a sheet of pet rules. This is about all they do to encourage people who to control their dogs, since they don't bother to enforce those rules. Seemed like every campsite had at least 3 or 4 dogs and none of them on leashes like they were supposed to be. Dogs peeing in the river, dogs pooping all over the campground, dogs barking constantly, unleashed dogs running through our campsite. Noisy people partying until 2am and treating the whole loop to a Toby Keith concert. You can complain to the camp hosts who will come and "talk" to the offenders, but they will be right back to whatever they were doing before the dust even settles on the road behind the golf cart. I have nothing against well-behaved dogs on leashes, or people having a good time, but this is ridiculous!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Went to Winhall Brook with four other families. We all had either an RV, a trailer or a 5th wheel. We stayed in the area that had electric hookups and water hookup. Not all sites have electric & water. Because Winhall is not large by any means, it was easy to pretty much see all of the sites. Whether or not you have an RV, or reserve a lean too, or even a tent site, I think you will be pleased with your site. Some sites have river view. This river runs the length of the campground and offers two areas for swimming or tubing. Although our kids did not go to the Sat night movie, they did partake in the sunday evening kids scavenger hunt. I did not use the facilities as I had an RV, but the park rangers kept the campground clean so I can't imagine the restrooms & showers were dirty.
Winhall is located a few miles from Stratton Mountain Ski area. Check out their website as they have events during the summer & fall. The close by village of Jamaica offers a few ecclectic shops. There are a few dams nearby that offer scenic views and beach areas too.
That Bridge! In order to get to the majority of campsites, you must cross the river. The bridge over the river is a narrow one lane wooden plank bridge. Did I mention that it's narrow! Although the bridge can accomodate your Class A or 5th Wheel Trailer, you still need to have your "A" game on when crossing. No straight approach to the bridge. You will need to get straightened and get straightened quickly. You will have less than a foot clearance on either side and if you turn to soon when exiting you will clip your rear .
( Happened twice to other campers while we were there). The bridge does not seem to deter people as Winhall is continuously booked solid. So just take your time on the bridge and you'll be fine.
Overall a very nice campground that I will stay at again and again. Can't wait to go in the fall!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CTSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Recommended by friends for years, we booked 2 lean-to sites with said friends and our families. It could have been a pleasant stay, but it would have been much appreciated if they had advised us when we booked our stay that we would have heavy construction equipment, and therefore dusty dirt flying up every time a vehicle drove by and lots and lots of noise...
My biggest issue with the VT campground system is that there is no human involvement! Book it online, and you're lucky to get someone to pick up the phone when you call the campground direct. That and there are some bathrooms that don't offer soap(!!!) for washing your hands! after all, I am a nurse....and I will get off my soapbox now...no pun intended:)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNKimmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Winhall Brook Campground is the only place i want to go for my summer vacation! the staff is great, they have Men/Women bathrooms with stalls mirrors and a shower, which is cleaned regularly! a beautiful river,, so refreshing, and at night it puts you asleep. SATURDAY MOVIE NIGHT FOR KIDS ! im still a kid at heart so i love it! its a very relaxing, comfortable place. i suggest it to everyone who loves camping!! ive been going here for the past few years and i will be going for a very long time to come!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lovesummerlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winhall Brook Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winhall Brook Campground

Address: 919 Winhall Station Rd, Jamaica, VT 05155-9256
Location: United States > Vermont > Jamaica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Jamaica
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Winhall Brook Campground Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing