We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sommelier Says: Remedy is WORLD CLASS!”

Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant
Price range: $9 - $23
Description: Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant is an eating and drinking establishment dedicated to the serious enjoyment of food, wine and exceptional service. We offer a variety of small plates, accented by our housemade cheese from our own Spoonwood Cabin Creamery. Enjoy our creative small plates, raclette night, handcrafted cheeses and accompaniments—all served in a beautiful, intimate setting.
Restaurant details
Description: Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant is an eating and drinking establishment dedicated to the serious enjoyment of food, wine and exceptional service. We offer a variety of small plates, accented by our housemade cheese from our own Spoonwood Cabin Creamery. Enjoy our creative small plates, raclette night, handcrafted cheeses and accompaniments—all served in a beautiful, intimate setting.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a wine professional and sommelier in Manhattan with family in Vermont, and Remedy, I have to say, is absolutely top shelf for wine and food lovers -- and my favorite place to eat and drink when I'm in the area (and when I can get a table!). It was amazing to discover this place in such a tiny Vermont town. Take my word for it: it more than holds its own against the top wine bars in NYC.

Remedy's rotating wine offerings are world class, educational, well-priced, and not pretentious or snobbish (same can't be said for the types of wine places I often find myself frequenting here in the city) -- and the warm, inviting service by Kyle and Nancy takes the whole experience to the next level. Remedy is probably the only place in the area that can meet my (admittedly lofty) standards.

Cheers to Remedy!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andrewlohse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful Wine & Cheese Boutique coupled with a great Wine Bar.
Cheese maker Nancy Bergman and sommelier Kyle Frey never fail to impress with the quality of their products and hospitality. Ms. Bergman makes world class soft ripening cheese which she kindly permits me to sell in my store. They are all great but my favorite is the Grappino, the most full flavored of the bunch. The wine selection curated by Mr. Frey is thoughtful and holds many delicious surprises from all over the world.
They also have a wonderful wine bar named “Remedy.” The couple holds theme based dinners based on the cuisine and wine from various viticultural regions. The last one was from the Savoie region of France and there was exquisitely melted Raclette Cheese everywhere. Needlessly to say the 6 or so wines were perfect and though I’ve been in the wine business for 30 years (7 of which were in France) I was surprised to try wines that I’d never heard of.
Jacksonville, Vermont is lucky to have them, I’m lucky to have them 20 minutes away.
Reservations strongly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank williamsQ7677CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybR733WT, Owner at Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2019

Kyle and I thank you and Manat a thousand times! It's always fun to have you play our game of great wine and food pairings! We so appreciate you taking time out of your busy days and nights and crossing the Mass. border to see us! Can't wait for the next visit, and learning about all your own wine and culinary experiences!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

The owners share their love of European wines and fresh food in a cozy, relaxed environment. Sit back and have fun while Kyle and Nancy work their magic - you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Butlerbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybR733WT, Owner at Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2019

You like us! You really like us!
We are always thrilled to have you in our dining room and hope that we can continue to wow you with great wine and food pairings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019

I really can't add much to what the other reviewers who have given this wonderful spot 5 starts have writtien -- they are all spot on consistent with our experiences there. I use the plural because we've been back many times - - brought friends and family from Manhattan and Connecticut - -and they have always been impressed and delighted with the wine, the food, the ambiance, and the warmth and generosity of the hosts.
And speaking of warmth - -pulling up to this cozy spot in the small town of Jacksonville is totally part of the charm, whether it's a snowy ski week-end or a summer day. Worth the trip from anywhere on the East Coast!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybR733WT, Owner at Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2019

Kyle and I are so thankful for your kind words and await your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We were transported back to the best small bistro you could find in the Alps last Saturday night. The atmosphere is charming and cozy, the food and wine outstanding and the proprietors (Nancy and Kyle) friendly and knowledgeable. March is raclette month at Remedy and it had been years (more like decades) since my last Swiss experience. We started our meal with a glass of bubbly, then a mushroom appetizer paired with a rare wine. I realize now that I should have taken notes, but suffice to say, that all the pairings were outstanding. Next was a traditional raclette served with potatoes, gherkins, onions and a small salad. We added a charcuterie platter with various dried meats and bread. My date drank red, I drank white.
Dessert was a dense almost flour-less chocolate cake served with fresh whipped cream....simply heavenly. We finished with a moscato dessert wine. I haven't had this much fun dining in eons.
The menu is small and changes regularly. I can't imagine anything not being worth the travel. (maybe 35 minutes from Brattleboro and the same from Greenfield).
Make a reservation and have the best dining experience possible!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lgsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancybR733WT, Owner at Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2019

At long last, our many heartfelt thanks for this amazing review. You get us! Come back soon, please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Been to Remedy Wine Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing