We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Vermont... hands down!”

Ruthcliffe Lodge & Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best of Vermont... hands down!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Ruthcliffe is one of those very special treasured finds that you don't really want to tell too many others about for fear that there won't be room for you next time around. After several annual Summer cycling visits, Mark and Kathy have become friends and we certainly feel like family whenever we return. The six motel rooms (B&B basis) are simple, clean and comfortable and the view is extraordinary. Scattered Adirondack chairs to sit, relax and read on the lawn while enjoying the view or simply sipping some chilled wine on the deck before dinner is recommended. The topper though is Mark's amazing food. Good wholesome soups, a memorable salad vinaigrette and main items generally with an Italian base, many offering a seafood angle and with an adequate selection of matching wines. Boats can also dock as sailors dine. Oh, and don't forget the Vermont breakfast, copious enough to gear you up for whatever outdoor activity you might have planned for the day. The same lodge staff return every season and each makes the place homely. Shout out too to our good ole hairy pal Bosco (probably off chasing skunks in his dreams)... as no lodge is complete without a "hound" to welcome you or to whimper as you depart.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hurlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
madison, wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Waterfront Dining with the locals”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Right on the water in a very lovely setting -- porch. Family run & service was great! Portions are HUGE -- might want to share. Most of the other diners arrived via boat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesehead07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
296 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Vermont”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not only is it the best in Isle La Motte...its the only place....but the best in Vermont. The place is nice and the food great, service was excellent. Our waitress was super and not just so dumb college kid. The night we eat was not super busy so maybe if it had been the service would have been slower? I am usually pretty critical and this place was very good. Prices reasonable and the view was great. The only change I would make would be to add some outdoor speakers on the deck..We had to talk softly if you didn't want everyone to hear your conversation...by the way we heard every word from the table next to us unfortunately.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stehib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely view and good food in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good quality food and our meals came with salad, bread, and soup. Beautiful view. The Tuscan bean soup was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant that deserve a Michelin star !”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the lodge from September 1 to 3.

Ate all nights at the restaurant, which is maybe the best one in Vermont.

Service is of class. Food is top quality. Mark, is a great Chef !

If the rack of lamb is on the menu don't miss it. It is the best rack of lamb I ate. Soups, salads and desserts are just perfect.

And dining front of Lake champlain in this oasis is a charm.

Thank you very much Mark and Kathy for making our week end a Great Week End !

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Intersocietal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruthcliffe Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ruthcliffe Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing