We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time to see”

Goodsell Ridge Preserve
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the time to see”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were staying nearby and pulled in to take the scenic trails around the preserve. There is a small visitor's center where a very knowledgeable gentleman explains about the geology of the island and some of the fossils found here. There is a short video about the preserve and several small displays of fossils. The trails loop around and through the surrounding landscape, some are quite short and it is worth taking a few of the trails to make your time here worthwhile. The signs are self explanatory and the trail markers easy to follow. All of the good fossil sites are near the visitor's center, the woods are inhabited by mosquitos in the summer so bring repellent and don't brush against anything that looks like poison ivy. I had a burning red welt on the back of my hand for a few days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Visited the preserve on our bikes”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

in July, the place was bursting with flowers and birds! Saw some turtles, but very few people. It was midday on a Monday, and very warm, and we didn't stay long. The whole island really is lovely, and a very special place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StarM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fossil hounds will love this place”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A wonderful side attraction on our bike ride around the Island. With a more knowledgeable member of our group we might have seen more but a special hidden treasure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ffxvttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“480 Million Years Old”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is also known as the Chazy Fossil Reef. It was fun to take the white trail and walk the mile and a half around the reef. This little hike takes you over coral/fossil reefs(be sure to look down), over fissures, through the woods and a small little meadow. We walked both on and off the path-you find more fossils off the path but have to look carefully. Be sure to wear bug spray and sun sunscreen. I would not go out of my way to make the visit but it is worth the drive if you are staying in the area. Also a great place to stop from a bike ride!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank readerboehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating bit of Geology that anyone can appreciate”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We took the white blazed trail on July 28, 2012. The path is very well maintained and marked. The history provided is an incredible look at the geology of the area an can be fully appreciated by a layperson. We saw dozens of fossils in the rock at our feet.
Unfortunately we arrived after the visitor center was closed, but still found the available information on the trail highly informative. If you are planning a visit to any of the Lake Champlain Islands, the Goodsell Ridge Preserve is well worth the visit. Their website is at:
http://www.ilmpt.org/ilmpt/The_Goodsell_Ridge_Preserve.html

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodsell Ridge Preserve also viewed

 
Isle La Motte, VT
Isle La Motte, VT
 

Been to Goodsell Ridge Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing