We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Lovely rooms, comfortable bed, good breakfast, lots of rooms to explore or hang out in. Great soaking tub in the bathroom.
Suzanne is friendly and untiringly helpful. Definitely a place I'd return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmw_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
92
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I must write this review while this place is still fresh in my mind. I am wishing I never had to leave. As everyone has stated the Inn is the epitome of charm - without question. Truly impeccable. We also enjoyed having Suzanne as our host. This is not a place for those who require high maintenance. If you're thrown off by having to follow "house rules" while staying in a 19th century home book your stay at a commercial lodge down the road.

My husband and I are the easy going type, flexible, open to most anything that might come our way (especially when traveling - come on!) and we had the best weekend we've had in a long time at the Governor's House.

We were running late the first night and didn't arrive until 10:30pm. We figured we had missed the evening snacks, and probably kept up the Innkeeper who had to attend to an early breakfast. Suzanne was not at all put off by our late arrival and actually served us some hot cider before bed! There was also a small amount of delicious sherry stocked in the room, which we also sipped on in front of our fireplace in the English Room.

The next morning we had to leave super early to get to Jay Peak, which meant being out the door before breakfast was served. Suzanne happily packed up a breakfast to go of muffins, clementines, cheese, and juice. The next night we received a bottle of chilled champagne when we arrived back after dinner.

After a long day of skiing, the deep soaking tub was just what we needed! And Suzanne provided some delightful bath products from a place across the border in Canada. After baths we wondered around the Inn and talked to some fellow guests and Suzanne, and particularly enjoyed perusing her immense collection of books in the library, including the scrapbook she put together of what the house was before she bought it, and how she turned it into what it is today. Remarkable story! Then we grabbed an old production of Macbeth (with Ian Fleming and Judi Dench!) from Suzanne's movie collection and took it back to our room (which seemed just perfect for the occasion), turned the lights off, turned the fireplace up, and relaxed with great ease and joy.

Suzanne's breakfast was delicious the next morning, and served with all of the guests gathered around one large table, as it should be. It's true that Suzanne might be what you'd call an "environmental freak" - but she's a Vermonter for heavens sake! I figured anyone familiar with Vermonters would expect to drink tap water and reuse towels. Her way of doing things never got in our way. She made several smart, practical decisions (heat down at night, tap water in glasses, large bottles of bath products to last for several guests) - nothing intrusive or difficult to work around. (When in Rome, folks.) Her principles might get in the way of some, and perhaps she could advertise them better to ward off any entitled travelers. But if you're up for taking places and people as they come while traveling, this is just the place for you. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My mother and I attended a Jane Austen-themed weekend at the Governor's House, and the entire experience was incredible. The house and surroundings are gorgeous, particularly in the winter, and it is located close by the attractions of downtown Stowe while retaining its charming removal from tourist areas. I truly felt like I was had been transported back to the early 19th Century. The host was welcoming, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable. I cannot recommend the Governor's House highly enough, and I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful historical house! The decor and architecture takes you back to another era. Many different rooms to relax in and read. If watching a movie is how you'd like to relax in your room, they offer something for everyone. Very clean. The views of VT's mountains are beautiful. Host was friendly, welcoming, attentive, and serves a deliciously breakfast! Left feeling like it was a special treat...and I was there on business.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abuelaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Well kept, clean and comfortable in a charming village, close to Stowe but far from the crowds. We were very touched by the attention to detail in the elopement package. Made for a memorable time. The inn keeper is welcoming and strives to make your stay perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The weekend of Hurricane Sandy we were married at this wonderful B&B. However are stay was cut short as we had to return home to "batten down the hatches." So this October we returned to celebrate our 1st year wedding anniversary. Suzanne is so friendly and very attentive. She works so hard to make everything perfect. Her home is beautiful, clean, and very well appointed. We would recommend this lovely B&B for your stay in the area and especially for your wedding. Every detail is taken care, leaving you free to enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyranogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful house, warm and welcoming host Susanne, we had a wonderful stay. Cider on the terrasse, fresh cookies and apples in the hallway, hearty breakfast. I recommend and will most definitely return there next year for another perfect fall weekend getaway in Vermont.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJR450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
8.1 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
10.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Hyde Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
8.4 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
9.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's House in Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House in Hyde Park

Property: Governor's House in Hyde Park
Address: 100 Main St., POB 300, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House in Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Governor's House in Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing