We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific family weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Governor's House in Hyde Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Landgrove, VT
1 review
“Terrific family weekend”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Governor's House is a magnificent estate right in the center of Hyde Park, the county seat. The innkeeper, Suzanne, has done an extraordinary job of restoring the house to its former grandeur and maintaining its period character while incorporating updated amenities. She is rightfully proud of her efforts.

We were a family group of seventeen (including several small children) staying for a long weekend, and with the large and numerous common spaces and a back yard perfect for games, there was ample room to carve out private spaces. Suzanne was a most remarkable innkeeper/hostess tirelessly catering to our needs. She worked so hard, we were sure she had a twin sister helping. If you like good service, an historical context, and being surrounded by turn of the century craftsmanship and elegance, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    17
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
93
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Such a wonderful place to stay in VT !! This home is wonderful, everything has been thought of by the inn keeper. A very relaxing setting both indoors and out. The scenery is spectacular, but can't compare to the fantastic (multi-course) breakfast. The inn and it's keeper are warm and inviting. I can't think of a better place to unwind and recharge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My fiancee and I are planning a church wedding and celebration for later in the year, but wanted to go somewhere just the two of us for a "getaway and elope" type of deal (we live in a state where same-sex marriage isn't yet allowed). We decided on the Governor's House after reading many reviews, and we were not disappointed! Our room was very nice - the food was great - and the owner took care of EVERYTHING, including a private dinner for just the two of us after the ceremony! It was the least stressful part of our wedding planning so far. We had a peaceful and joy-filled weekend in a beautiful part of the state, and I am dying to try out some of the recipes of the marvelous food we ate while we were there!

Room Tip: We stayed in the English room, which was very nice - but no shower (sitdown tub only) and it's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia_Explorer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed over a long winter weekend and had a wonderful, romantic time. Suzanne was the perfect host, a great person to talk to and efficient and thoughtful behind the scenes.

The house itself is lovely with tasteful antiques and cozy spaces. Breakfast was terrific.

Dining options nearby are somewhat limited so make a reservation at a good restaurant in Montpelier and then return to The Governor's House to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This is my second time at the Governor’s House in Hyde Park Vermont. Both times I attended the Jane Austen Weekends. The Bed and Breakfast is full of character and charm, extremely well maintained and clean, very good value for the money. A great collection of books and DVD’s are available at the Inn.

During my first stay we stayed at the English Room my personal favourite of all the rooms. During the second time we stayed in the French room another beautiful room with lovely views. Suzanne Boden is the perfect hostess, very caring, friendly and helpful. She is a great cook her breakfasts, dinners and English afternoon teas are simply delicious. Her Austen quizzes and quite challenging but at the same time quite fun and enjoyable.

The Governor’s House in Hyde Park is the perfect getaway for me in New England and I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: The English room has old charm, quite spacious with a fire place and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, CT
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Extremely comfortable, clean and quiet Inn. The bed was very comfortable and the room was magnificeintly kept. We enjoyed using the jet tub and relaxing in our room for a long weekend. Breakfast each morning was delicious and a nice experience. Suzanne made us feel very comfortable and at home during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Suzanne and the Inn continue to excel in providing a unique experience. I have been a guest a number of times and our stays there remain special. Suzanne is the perfect hostess and innkeeper and provides individual and thoughtful attention regardless of how full the house might be. We continue to be amazed by the warmth of the decor and our comfortable journey back to a time when thoughtful attention to detail really WAS important.

We have spent quiet weekends at the inn, as well as a special event that really was special.

Breakfasts are great, don't sleep too late.

Room Tip: Check with Suzanne. Decor is different in every room and she is great in matching tastes with avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.2 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Fitch Hill Inn
Fitch Hill Inn
#2 of 2 in Hyde Park
164 reviews
8.9 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,803 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
174 reviews
9.1 mi away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's House in Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House in Hyde Park

Property: Governor's House in Hyde Park
Address: 100 Main St., Pob 300, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House in Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Governor's House in Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing