We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay, just as wonderful as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitch Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fitch Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
320 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Second stay, just as wonderful as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've stayed at The Fitch Hill Inn twice, for three nights each time, while working nearby in Hyde Park. The hospitality of the hosts if amazing, with fresh cookies and lemonade (and coffee and tea!) each evening. The breakfasts are just decadent, with local fruits and homemade breads and muffins.

Both trips, I've been in the Quebec room. It's a light, friendly room with a decanter of sherry by the bed. (Yeah!) True, the shower is small, but the towels are thick and room so well appointed, you won't care. You're not here for the shower.

There's a lovely set of outdoor decks. Deer wander by, birds at the feeder - there's a bird book by the door, if you are interested - If not, grab a bottle of wine and enjoy the sunset. No worries if you don't finish your white wine, the Inn has a fridge (and microwave) outside your room on the second floor to store it overnight.

This is one relaxing B & B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
106
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

This was our second stay at this wonderful B&B The rooms are very comfortable. The hosts treat you like family except that they do all of the work and cook and serve super breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harold w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dialectgirl
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have nothing but the best to say about this B&B. It is so much more than just a bed and breakfast. The beds are nice, the decor makes you feel like you're at home, there are a couple bottles of water in your room, fresh toiletries every day, pretty rustic views from each room, a bowl of candy/chocolates on the table... for those who like to watch a movie on a rainy night, you also have a TV with a DVD player in each room, and a selection of films in the library downstairs!
Every night when you get in, you can wind down with a fresh cookie and cup of tea or hot cider, in front of the fire, playing a game (of which there is a selection in the library), or just hang out in the library talking, or watching a movie. They even provide a computer to get you online, on top of the wireless that you can connect your own device to.
Breakfast is always a homemade treat, not just your old scrambled eggs, but a souffle; not your old dry waffle but a moist, pumpkin and maple syrup pastry. Fresh and different flavoured muffins every day! You can choose to chat with the hostess, or have a quiet, private corner.
Thank you, Julie and John, what a wonderful getaway! :)

Room Tip: You can see a great and accurate description of each room on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dialectgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a superb B&B with the owners Julie & John having gone out of their way to think of everything to make your stay so comfortable. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Julie with freshly made cookies and warm cider. She showed us round the first class facilities, a sitting room warmed by a wood burner, a lounge with TV, and an impressive library of Videos, DVDs, books and games for use by guests. We stayed in the Massachusetts room, a very spacious bedroom with the most comfortable king bed, armchairs, small fridge, table, closet and TV/video player, iron, ironing board and hairdryer. Also provided was a decanter of Sherry, bottled water and a bowl of candies. The bedroom has its own AC/Heating control so you can set the temperature to your own preference. The bathroom is spacious with a good sized shower cubicle and is well provided with a huge assortment of toiletries, with additional items (razors etc) also available. Cotton robes are also provided.
In each room is one of the most comprehensive and useful guest books with histories of the house (1786), the area and the owners, sample menus of nearby restaurants and 5 or 6 suggested circular drives. On the landing, guests have the use of a butlers pantry to make coffee, warm drinks or even microwave popcorn. The house itself is beautiful and full of the most charming pictures, cross-stitch tapestries and artefacts. But the piece de resistance is the superb gourmet breakfast which includes delicious freshly home-baked muffins, speciality breads, a fruit plate of some sort, juice and a hot entree ( savoury or sweet on alternating days). Julie is a most attentive host although sometimes overly so. but you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and a luxurious and pampered stay

Room Tip: It is well worth the few extra dollars to book one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I found this exceptionally quaint B&B on the CAA website when booking our driving route to go from Toronto to a family cottage in New Brunswick. We decided to drive through New England to change it up and because we know it's beautiful country. Right from when we called and booked the room with Julie the hospitality started. She asked about any dietary concerns and preferences which is very thoughtful. When we arrived mid-afternoon John was there to greet us, gave us a tour of the house and premises and some great stories about how they had come across some of the magnificent antique pieces in the house. He was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and even looked into where my husband could go get a beer that he was craving! We took our books and lounged in the beautiful peaceful backyard on some Muskoka chairs for a while. My husband went in to take a nap but was back in a couple minutes with hot cookies fresh from the oven that had just been put out. Chocolate chip and raisin oatmeal. Ridiculously delicious - along with lemonade and other refreshments. Such a homey thing to offer! After a nap we drove 5 short minutes away to dinner. We took a short walk but went to bed early because we wanted to have an early start. When we got back to our room we saw that they had put a fan in the window - it was very hot that weekend - which really helped cool the room down. Next morning breakfast was ready at 7:30 just like we had agreed upon - they are very accomodating and work with your schedule. The breakfast was 3 courses with pumpkin muffins warm from the oven that we slathered in maple cream (we also bought a jar and brought it home it was so good), then stuffed french toast with maple blueberry sauce and bacon and finally a baked pear. I could barely eat half of each course I was so full but it was truly like a kicked-up homemade meal. Coffee was always hot and fresh - it was like eating breakfast with friends, except the friends are serving you and treating you like royalty! It was the perfect start to the day which then consisted of the continuation of the breathtaking drive through Vermont, onto New Hampshire and then Maine. This B&B is in a tiny town surrounded by beauty. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys small casual B&B atmospheres and genuine, service-minded innkeepers! In fact a couple weeks later my niece stayed there on our recommendation and adored it. One thing to remark on is the birds - the crows are VERY loud for those of us who are city dwellers and not used to being awoken while it was still dark out...but we got over it!

Room Tip: Our room was the New York room. Small, with a very small bathroom, sink in bedroom but fine and extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We loved this place because attention is paid to every detail and need. John and Julie make it look so easy. We were the only ones staying on the day we arrived. It had been raining and we were pooped. Well, fresh baked cookies and tea were laid out to start near the woodburning stove. It got us off to a great start. I had checked out all the rooms on their site . One thing that I did not "feel" from the site is the total warmth and comfort of the place. The views from our room (The Vermont Federal room) were super. One note, is some of the private baths are quite compact, so if you are a person of size, do ask which would be most comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent. I wish we had booked two nights there. We were just passing though, so did not explore the town. We did visit the Cabot Creamery nearby though and that was fun.

Room Tip: Vermont Federal rm. or Mass. room back w/ views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

Julie and John's old house is beautifully kept up. The room was attractive, the bed comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the hosts warm and friendly. We stayed here on a ski trip - within easy reach of Smugglers Notch ... Also, the cookies were delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skier60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
8.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.8 mi away
Village Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Governor's House in Hyde Park
10.0 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
8.8 mi away
Smugglers' Notch Resort
Smugglers' Notch Resort
#1 of 2 in Jeffersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitch Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitch Hill Inn

Property: Fitch Hill Inn
Address: 258 Fitch Hill Road, Hyde Park, VT 05655
Location: United States > Vermont > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic farmhouse on a quiet residential street set on a hill with mountain views. A full hot breakfast is served each morning. Near Stowe, Smugglers' Notch, and the Northeast Kingdom. Come experience the tranquility of our 18th century Vermont home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fitch Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing