We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway with comfort and beauty”
Review of Windekind Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windekind Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Huntington B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I have been to Windekind farms twice. The first time I went alone to work on a book. I stayed in the smaller cottage and it was great, everything I needed, inclding cable TV to watch the Caveliers basketball game. My hosts were truly special and made me feel very welcome. I was able to walk the well cut paths in the beautiful mountain range which surrounds the property. While I was there I saw the Breidblick cottage and decided then to return with my girlfriend in the future and stay there.
We drove from Cleveland, about 11 hours, and arrived on Sunday afternoon and had lunch on the patio with a view of the mountain range. We hiked and strolled the spacious grounds and collected Fall leaves.
When it came to cooking we brought our own food and prepared every meal in the large kitchen where windows allowed us to view the property and mountains while we cooked.
The entire experience was one of peace, relaxation and also discovery. We look forward to another visit to Windekind.

Frank and Allison

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OhioTimetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 107 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful two week trip to New England. One of our highlights was Windekind farm in Vermont. The farm is picturesque and quiet peaceful. All kind of hiking trails were available right on the property and also it is a beautiful place to unwind and relax while traveling. Mark and Maritjke were wonderful hosts as well as Ocee, thier dog, who was most welcoming. We stayed in the studio which was perfect for 2 and quite cozy. We look forward to returning to this beautiful region.
Happy Travels!
K. Koller, Texas

Stayed: October 2008
Thank kjhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My husband and I chose to visit Green Vermont for my 40th Birthday. We ended up being both stimulated and able to fully relax by staying at Windekind Farm and came back refreshed, inspired and with a new vision that would mirror what we saw and experienced in this gorgeous place.

Windekind literally dead-ends in a lush green valley of 200+ acres of hiking and cross-country ski trails. It is comprised of three charming and soulful buildings on a property landscaped with stone walls, ponds and natural gardens. We stayed in the Briedaclick cottage, a wonderful post-and-beam cottage with a gourmet kitchen and beautiful views from every window.

How thrilled were we to drive the short distance to Richmond for fresh organic meat, produce and fresh-baked bread and then return to our oasis to cook up a storm and drink the case of wine we had brought with us. It was a slice of heaven. In fact, although we both love to dine out, we spent every meal in.

We were able to easily visit Burlington one Saturday to check out the Farmer's Market, but we were really pleased as punch to just stay on the property and go hiking with our dog, and either throw open the doors to enjoy the fresh air by day, or hunker down in the toasty, amber-lit house at night cooking favorite recipes and having romantic dinners.

As attractive and special as this property is, it would be something less seductive without the two special people who created it and who lovingly care for it. Marijke and Mark Smith are an inspirational duo, filled with wisdom, laughter and vision. We were able to share some time with them and still feel inspired a month later. One could only hope to create such a grounding and enlightened life as they have in the middle of pastoral beauty like this. They haven't been in the back seat during their ride through life!

We hold these memories of Vermont dear and look forward to returning next year. For the locavore and gourmet food-lover, Vermont is light years ahead of most of America. Pro small business, proud of its home-grown products, and with its priorities in all the right places, we were stunned by how similar it was to Europe. Even small towns in the middle of nowhere are filled with friendly people who appreciate local products and support their local economies. This is not about price or convenience, it's about sustainability, passion and intelligence. Not to mention the scenery is gorgeous and Windekind awaits. Bon voyage to those who love such integrity.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BonVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

Windekind Farm is a fabulous place, tucked away in the mountains of Vermont. Our cottage (Breidablick) was gorgeous with everything we needed, but maintained a cottage character. The location is beautiful -- and the trails right from the property kept us busy for a week. We are very discerning travelers and search long and hard for amazing places to stay. This is definitely one of our top finds. You won't regret it.....especially perfect for those who love privacy and the outdoors. The pics on the webiste were very accurate. We can not wait to return.....

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Sumi-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We just returned home from a relaxing stay at Breidlebeck Cottage at Windekind farm. The cottage has absolutely everything you will need for a home-away-from-home experience: kitchen is fully stocked, linens are soft and plentiful, bed is SO comfortable, TV has tons of channels, great books on the shelves - we could go on and on. Best of all are the lovely owners and dogs on the property who greet you and guide you through the beautiful hiking trails and other gems of the area. We're very much looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

I am sure, no matter what the season, when guests of Windekind Farm get their first glimpse of the spectacular beauty that surrounds the farm, they are speechless. We were as we drove down the hill into the little valley that was our home for a week.

The owners, Mark and Marijke are kind and welcoming and truly want to make their guests feel at home. And what a home! The two cottages that we rented, for our family of 6 adults, were each thoughtfully filled with comforts and necessities. Expertly hand crafted by Mark, the cottages make you feel as though you have stepped into a Carl Larsen painting. Beautiful, with lots of light and 360 views of the gorgeous Green Mountains.

Groomed ski trails into the hills right from our door! We had a wonderful winter adventure at Windekind Farm and recommend it highly if you are looking for peace and the beauty of nature to surround you.

B. Weismann

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Norwegiancats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

My partner and I have stayed at Windekind three times now, twice in the dead of winter and once in the lovely warmth of late summer. All three times were wonderful, unique experiences, and we loved the feeling of being in a 'home away from home'. We stayed in the studio on our first visit, and it was cozy, cottage-like, and warm. The gas stove is a particularly nice feature, and we were able to curl up in front of it, and also encourage Assa, the doggy ambassador of Windekind, to curl up with us!
The second and third times we stayed in Breidablick, which is a beautifully restored blacksmith's studio. It is evident that both owners, Mark and Marijke Smith, have put so much love and attention into all the additions, decorations, and changes they have made to Windekind. From the paint colors to the kitchen fixtures to the cozy bedrooms, it is clearly a place to feel at home and welcome.
Mark has been so helpful and knowledgeable each time we have visited, and we so look forward to returning again and again. He offers maps to kayaking spots and trails for hiking, as well as recommendations for restaurants, museums, etc.. He is clearly so happy welcoming guests, both old and new. The farm is a creation that has arisen from the passion of two people who love nature and love making people happy and comfortable.

In the summer, we enjoyed several amazing kayaking trips, and in the winter we enjoy walking/hiking along the trails on the farm. It is wonderful to stay on the farm and still get in a great hike/walk, then venture out into Hinesburg, Burlington, or Montpelier for food, entertainment, or bookstore browsing. We especially enjoy visiting the Boyden Valley winery in Cambridge, VT, to stock up on their excellent wines and maple syrup.

We are already eager for our return to Windekind in April, when we will stay for an entire week!

Also, Windekind is pet-friendly, which we greatly appreciate.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mrsmadrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windekind Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windekind Farm

Address: 1425 Bert White Road, Huntington, VT 05462
Location: United States > Vermont > Huntington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Huntington
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing