We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect destination!”
Review of Windekind Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windekind Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Huntington B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“The perfect destination!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Windekind Farm is wonderful - Mark and Marijke were amazing hosts for us. Marijke took the time to speak with us about a beautiful day trip to drive and see the mountains and small towns. Mark gave us a tour of his model trains and explained to us the intricacies of putting them together by hand!

The accommodations were exquisite. Such a beautiful landscape and the perfect escape from New York City. The stay was perfect for us - peaceful and serene. We also loved the experience as we were able to take our little dog with us. He loved it too - he got to run off the leash and chase after some cows!

We look forward to one day re-visiting Windekind and staying in the newly finished cabin!

Andrew, Joyce and Leo
NYC

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachussetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have been staying at Windekind for 8 years now, and it still ranks as our #1 spot. It is a beautiful farm in a small valley surrounded by trails (great for xcountry skiing/snow shoeing or hiking). The trails are amazing and wind through the hills, across streams, atop mtns with great vistas. This is the place to really get away from it all. We love that we can step out the door and right into our ski, snowshoe, or hike. (there is a great sledding hill too)

The Briedablick cottage has been our favorite but this year Mark and Marijke have added Campanula, which is just gorgeous. This new cottage has the beauty and views you expect from Windekind, but it also has a luxurious sauna, radiant heat in the bedrooms, wonderful craftsmanship and surprising details. We just loved our stay and, as usual, our kids begged to stay longer. We can't wait to come back this summer and watch the sunrises and sunsets from Campanula's huge wraparound porch.

Our family always feels at home here and Mark and Marijke make sure everything is just perfect. You will love this place -- it really is Vermont at its best.

Room Tip: Studio is great for two people, Briedablick is perfect for our family of four (two small children) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumi-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Windekind Farms for 2 weeks in November. Not the best time of year (part-time drizzle and snow), but the facilities we enjoyed and the customer care provided by Mark and Marijke was beyond the 5 star rating of Trip Advisor.
Our Family - my wife and I, along with our son, his wife and daughter (granddaughter) - utilized both the Breidablick Cottage and The Studio. What wonderful accommodations - cozy, fire-in-the-fireplace warm and a great place to bring in materials and cook for ourselves. On the sunny days, the walk through the compound, meadow and the woods was fabulous. Marijke found a sled for my son and granddaughter to sled down the hill - squealing all the way. Mark hosted my son and I in his shop to describe his train hobby (Wow!).
What a warm and gracious couple! And the accomodations were just as great. My son and family stayed in Breidablick (we cooked our Thanksgiving Turkey dinner with all the trimmings there) while my wife and I snuggled in The Studio.
While we were there, Mark, having finished Campanula, gave us a tour and then welcomed his first guests there. The next time we go to Windekind - AND there will be a next and more - we'll certainly consider this great new accommodation.
And I haven't even mentioned the wonderful land surrounding Windekind - suffice to say, whatever you imagine a Vermont wooded and meadow setting to be - double it!
Marijke & Mark: Thank You for creating and opening up this wonderful location AND sharing yourselves with your guests!

Room Tip: As mentioned elsewhere, The Studio is great for a couple. The kitchen there could be used for cookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

great getaway. I recommend to everyone. Just perfect. We went in october and it was just beautiful. It was very well located and plenty of things to do. We will definitely be going back in the future. Well priced too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We recently took our first trip to New England. We stayed in the studio for just a couple nights. I wish it could have been longer but we had other destinations to get to. The setting was beautiful nestled at the end of a winding gravel road in the mountains. The studio was well appointed and had everything we needed. It was plenty big enough for the 3 of us. I especially enjoyed the claw foot tub. Our gracious hosts were more than willing to share their knowledge of the area and gave us terrific pointers and ideas for day trips. Our son LOVED Elsa and Mark's train. Hope to go back someday and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kidneynurse05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently spent two nights in Breidablick Cottage as our home base for leaf peeping in northern Vermont. The setting couldn't have been more stunning and idilic. The surrounding hillside was covered in fall colors set against a pasture of grazing cows and our cottage was rustic but very comfortable. The updated kitchen includes everything you would need to cook and the cottage comes complete with tv and radio. While the location is a bit off the beaten path, we were close enough to excellent restaurants and grocery stores. Mark and Marijke are wonderful hosts and helped us with our itineraries and local attractions. Mark's train shop and track layout were highlights for us. We even got to take the train for a few spins around the property! I would highly recommend Windekind for a special stay in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The cottage is rustic, simple, and beautiful!!! The setting is back in a valley overlooking beautiful scenery. Queen bed upstairs is very soft - sleeps two. Futon in living area is somewhat firm and can sleep two. Place is charming and hosts are as well. Enjoyed our short stay and hope to return for an even longer one!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szmorr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
10.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterbury Stowe
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
19.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston
12.0 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Burlington
12.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windekind Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windekind Farm

Property: Windekind Farm
Address: 1425 Bert White Road, Huntington, VT 05462
Location: United States > Vermont > Huntington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Huntington
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing