We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Philly Cheese Around”

Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Hinesburg
Restaurant details
Hinesburg, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Philly Cheese Around”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It you are looking for a Philly Cheese Steak and you are anywhere near the Paisley Hippo, you got to go. I always get the traditional with hot peppers. It is great. They have a full menu with a lot of other items, but I can say much about the rest. Call a head and your stuff will be ready when you get there. I love it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Subs & Snacks”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The hippo combines a casual atmosphere with delightful combinations of delicious ingredients. The Paisley Hippo offers new twists on old favorites. Several variations of Cheesesteak and many other delicious offerings. Some tasty appetizers (macaroni & cheese bites among them) round out the menu. Stop by for a great lunch!

Helpful?
2 Thank BellWildFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Hippo Hits It!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Okay, so you want a super fresh, inventive sandwich that uses the freshest, very best meats and veggies you can get? Well, look no further than the Paisley Hippo. Tucked away in a small mall in Hinesburg, the folks at the Hippo know their sandwiches. As soon as you walk through the door, you are greeted by friendly staff clad in tie dye shirts that will happily craft your lunch or dinner. I have frequented the Hippo on several occasions and have NEVER been disappointed, either with the food or the service. It is as clean and pleasant a shop as any I have been in, and found no issue with cleanliness or friendliness. If I know someone is looking for a good place to eat, I would have no problem recommending the Paisley Hippo to anyone.
Their menu is diverse and interesting, with daily specials that appeal to just about every palate. Their breads are fresh and the greens are top notch. Next time you take a trip to Hinesburg, look for the Hippo. It's well worth the drive!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMountainMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Subs”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The sub I purchased was excellent; however, I would have liked to see the food preparers wash their hands/wear gloves before preparing. In the time spent making my sandwich-money, phones, and pens were touched before going straight back to making the sandwich. I feel this is unsanitary. I think the staff could have been a little friendlier too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tsel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best subs in Vermont”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The bread is baked daily and the meats are great. Small shop, booth and tables for seating. They offer wraps, also, and great cheese steaks. I love the roast beef with extra provolone, personally... but my friends eat a variety and love every one! Oh... and they serve both regular and sweet potato fries. :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop also viewed

 

Been to Paisley Hippo Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing