We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, smooth jazz” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinesburgh Public House

Hinesburgh Public House
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Hinesburg
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mechanicsville Rd & Rt 116
Transit: http://hinesburg.org/hinesburg_rides.html http://www.cctaride.org/pdf/Current%20Web%20Schedules/February%202013%20schedules/46.pdf
Description: We are a community supported restaurant serving dinners made from scratch with locally sourced food. We have a full bar with 12 craft beers on tap. Outdoor dining available in season.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
161 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice food, smooth jazz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've been wanting to try this place for awhile and took advantage of being nearby to stop in on a Sunday afternoon. Glad I did. They have jazz every Sunday (4 to 8). Band was great. I'd had a large breakfast, so sat at the bar and tried a couple of small plates and two beers while I enjoyed the music. I loved the sweet potato chipotle soup (had some spice, but was also served hot - so many places serve soup tepid at best, cool to cold at worst). Place was clean and bright, service solid. I learned they serve brunch Sundays (otherwise it's dinners). I plan to return for brunch and dinner and could see my score going up to 5. I left with a real great feeling about the place, but given that I was there mid-day before it got crowded (might change the ambiance), and didn't have a full meal, figured I set the bar at 4 for now. But on this one short visit, very impressed and eager to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local foods, beautifully prepared”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I eat here once a week, on average, and really appreciate the variety of dishes available. Sometimes I'm in the mood for a creative salad and salmon, and sometimes I just want a burger. Instead of appetizers they have "small plates", which are great in combination with a salad or soup for a reasonably priced meal (I've been known to combine poutine with the kale & beet salad, which is a little contradictory but I'm hoping it just balances itself out.) I also love that they source most (all?) of their foods locally. I'm not a drinker, but my beer-drinking friends like the beer selection. It's also one restaurant where I don't feel awkward for arriving early when I meet friends there: there's a cozy couch & rocking chairs by the woodstove which is a pretty perfect place to hang out on a snowy winter evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodthrushVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad for a quick bite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Since we live only a few miles from the Hinesburgh Public House. It's been kind of a go to place if it's late and we don't feel like eating at home. The food is good and they have some great beers on tap. The prices are a bit high for what I call a pub fare. The service isn't bad, but it can be a bit noisy if there is a crowd since it just one big open room. They do have a deck, but I've never tried it since we only go in the winter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, Vermont
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy local food, best pretzels in the world!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a gem of an eatery in the small town of Hinesburg, Vermont.
From the moment you enter the Public House you feel like you are visiting a good friends business. Everyone is so friendly and makes you feel comfortable, and right at home.
We have eaten here several times, and everything we have tried is fresh, and so good. From the pulled pork sandwich with maple berry BBQ, to the Lobster Mac&Cheese with truffle and herbed breadcrumbs, and everything in-between, you will not be disappointed! But, it should be mandatory that everyone starts their dinner off with Grillo's pretzels. These are the most delightful, amazing pretzels I have ever eaten, hands down!!
This is a great place to go, relax, eat great food, and feel at home.
TRY THE PRETZELS .......

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thebrigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville VA USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant with good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

What a great spot for lunch or brunch! We met local friends here for Sunday brunch (their recommendation). We are told it is in the upstairs of a former cheese factory. It's right in the village of Hinesburg on the side of a small hill with a nice local view. Be sure to ask for a table with a view. The brunch menu (available online) has pretty traditional brunch fare. Service was efficient and friendly. Don't confuse this with a high-end white table cloth country inn or 150-year old village pub. But it is exceptionally good at what it does! We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinesburgh Public House also viewed

 
Hinesburg, VT
 

Been to Hinesburgh Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing