We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Fashion Fun”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highgate Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyler Place Family Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Fashion Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Greatest vacation spot! Food was fabulous and plentiful. Kids activities for pre-teen age kids included mountain biking, banana boating, crafts, archery, bowling trip to St. Albans, swimming in the pool and in Lake Champlain, huck finn rafts, rock climbing, etc. There were just as many adult activities including yoga, zumba, bike tours, archery, sailing lessons, skeet shooting, wine tasting, cooking class, etc. None of us missed the TV or phones...we were too tired at the end of the day. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Rooms were modest but didn't need anything else. A must visit at least once if not more than once! Many families were there that had visited many times before. All the families were very friendly and easy to get along with.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webster2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
141
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Awesome, every meal for both adults and kids. Awesome, every activity for both adults and kids. Awesome, every detail for both adults and kids. Take clothes for a variety of wea5ther and know that there are no TV or telephones. my kids never even asked about TV they were kept so entertained.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladukart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

This was our first time at Tyler Place, and we'll very likely return next year.

Tyler Place consists of a number of cottages near the water. There's a main building which consists of the lobby, the 'inn' rooms, dining room and lounge as well as a games room in the basement. Very well laid out and clean. Diners have a nice view down a huge expanse of lawn to the water.

Massages from Shoshana were excellent - probably the best we've ever had!

Our Parent's Helper was Michelle, a daycare instructor and mother who was full of energy and enthusiasm. We felt completely at ease leaving our child with her.

The food was almost universally delicious! I particularly liked the ginger raisin cookies, and the blue cheese salad dressing, which was so delicious that I had to have salad with every possible meal in order to have the dressing. There was a lot of consideration given to people's different tastes, e.g. regular, decaf or dark roast coffee, and multiple choices of milk at breakfast (skim, partly-skimmed, whole, soy). Since it was Vermont I wished they had a sampler cheese plate, but they never did (oh well, just nit picking here...it was the best buffet food I've ever had).

Tyler Place had a nice selection of books at the inn, as well as in our cottage. We brought lots of books, but know we can fall back on a huge selection at Tyler Place next year.

There were very few disappointments. Our cabin's dishes and coffee maker were very dirty - unbelievably so. So housekeeping does not get five stars . And we chose to replace our first parent's helper. Tyler Place was quick to act and find us an excellent replacement, which was much appreciated.

What I also liked about the place was that even though you're miles from the nearest restaurant, TP does not nickel and dime you. Alcohol is not included in the rates you pay, so it was surprising that they do not charge a premium at the bar. I was astounded by the fact that the prices were so good for a beer or a glass of wine. I mean, they COULD charge a premium because there's nowhere else to go BUT they don't. Kudos to them. Wow.

One word of caution: there is a general store on the main road across from the entrance to Tyler Place. It's listed in their literature as a place to stock up on beer or groceries. My advice: avoid that dump at all costs. I went in to find dust covered snacks and poor selection. It needs a major overhaul. There's a large & beautiful grocery store, Hannaford's, maybe 12 minutes away - Tyler Place gave us directions. Stock up with what you need and you're all set to go.

Everyone was super nice here, not just staff but all the guests. It's like you're on Fantasy Island or something. I wish it was closer so I could go back more often, but maybe that makes the memory even more special.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somebody_else
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We chose Tyler Place this year based on the fabulous reviews from Trip Advisor. It was a wonderful decision, and we plan on returning next year. Our kids are 3.5 and 5. They had tons of organized age-based activities. (8:30am-1:30) and (5:30pm-8:30). During the adult "free time" you can participate in organized activities (ex. mountain biking, cooking classes, trap shooting) or just do your own thing (kayak, play tennis, putt putt, read, relax, zip line, get a massage, etc).
The food was OUT OF CONTROL delicious, fresh and abundant.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable with housekeeping daily.
The guests and staff were all friendly, approachable and accommodating.
The location was easy to access (50 min from Burlington) and only 3 minutes from Canada and about 1 hour from Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MadrugadaTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

This was our second visit to TP and it was just as good as the first. Many other reviews have already touched on all the wonderful things associated with TP, but one additional plus is the mattresses. I am always prone to morning back aches despite multiple mattress replacements; however, every morning at TP was ache-free. On the first week back to regular school, my daughter started crying and said she wanted the Tyler school. All week long she had a blast. We're certainly looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

We've been coming to Tyler Place for 8 years and can't imagine our Memorial Day weekend without our trip to Vermont. This is truly the most wonderful place to vacation with your family, from babies to teenagers. There are endless things to do in the sunshine and in the rain. The Tylers have created magic.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CousinElmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

One of the best gifts we have given each other and our family has been to take them to Tyler place resort every year.
It's great for special times in a marriage, to help foster independence in the children, to reenforce the joy of being a family.
Love this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellyBNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highgate Springs
12.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
17.1 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cadillac Motel
Cadillac Motel
#2 of 5 in Saint Albans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Auberge du Lac Champlain
Auberge du Lac Champlain
#1 of 1 in Venise-en-Quebec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
#1 of 2 in Venise-en-Quebec
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
11.9 mi away
Back Inn Time
Back Inn Time
#1 of 1 in Saint Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyler Place Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyler Place Family Resort

Property: Tyler Place Family Resort
Address: 175 Tyler Place, Highgate Springs, VT 05460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Highgate Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highgate Springs
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 age-staggered kids programs for Infants to Teens. A cozy cottage or family suite with separate parent's bedroom. Awesome, enthusiastic, counselors you'll want to take home with you. Exceptionally good, wholesome meals - three times a day - plus snacks. Evening meals without the kids - a chance to recharge your marriage. An amazing variety of land and water sports with no waiting lines. Lots of fresh air, green grass, blue water, bonfires and nights full of stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyler Place Family Hotel Highgate Springs
Hotel Tyler Place Family
Tyler Place Family Resort Vermont/Highgate Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing