We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Family Vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highgate Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyler Place Family Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Tyler Place is simply the BEST! The kids can't wait to go to group each morning and evening, and form wonderful friendships. They report that the group leaders are amazing. As adults, we enjoy camp activities or we can just lounge around. Be prepared to gain a few pounds from the fabulous food! The Tyler family and their outstanding staff make this a vacation your family will want to take year after year!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherGoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Heather,
We're glad you had such a good time--you and your kids! And it's great to hear that the food, staff, camp programs and activities were up to your expectations. We hope to see you again next summer!

Thanks,
Caitlin
TP Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
141
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is special. The staff are so wonderful, joyful and exude fun and excitement. The camp program is something my 9 year old was not too excited about, but after about 5 minutes he changed his mind. He is now saying that we must return next year. This place is where memories are created, not a typical vacation spot and not a typical experience-- it is so much more.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlDad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice review! We're glad your 9 year old changed his mind about camp - we would hate for him to miss out on the fun. We hope he gets his wish to return next summer!

Best,
Caitlin
TP Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been on vacations all over the world, and TP is the best there is. The Tylers and their staff are exceptional in their ability to welcome and entertain you. If you can get a reservation, take it!!! The lake is pretty cold early in the summer.

Room Tip: Take whatever you can get. It is all rustic and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wow - thank you for your kind comments about the Tyler Place! We're happy to welcome all our guests and make them feel at home here. Yes, the lake is chilly the first few weeks - but well done for braving it and going in. We hope you'll be back!

Best,
Caitlin
TP Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Absolutely brilliant. We just got home from our fourth year visit to this unbelievable destination resort family camp. If you don't like to be around positive people that continually lift up your spirit and provide you with the means to better yourself and do better for the world this place is not for you. If you love people and group activities or if you are social and love to be around wonderful human beings in a beautiful setting on beautiful Lake Champlain then this is a good spot for you. The food is off the charts. The counselors do an excellent job with you and your kids. The staff is unlike any staff you will encounter at any leisure facility in the world. I have never seen anything like the phenomenon that happens at this place. Absolutely unbelievable.
For anyone inquiring about Tyler Place this is a family camp. If you have kids anywhere from the age of newborn to 15 years of age you will love this place and so will your kids. The camp is set up to take care of your kids and then set up to take care of you. There are separate activities for the parents and for the kids. All meals are adults only, with the exception of a family breakfast option. Your kids will be running away to camp at 8:30 every morning until 1:30 in the afternoon. By 1:30 you will have had breakfast, been involved in a morning activity like fly fishing, kayaking, yoga, a baking class, a mountain bike trip, a tennis tournament, had lunch and been ready to pick up your kids to spend the rest of the afternoon at the lake, the pool, some athletic field or on some family group activity like a fishing trip or nature walk.
At 5:30 the kids return to camp for dinner and an evening activity, while the parents enjoy happy hour and another gourmet dinner with new friends. At 8:30 pm, the kids get out of camp, play for an hour or so and you have the option of having one of the counselors coming over to sit while you go back up to the lodge for jazz night, trivia night, dance party or bonfire. It is a full day filled with great people and good clean fun.
I cannot say enough good about this place. We have made some incredible new friendships. Our children have had some of the best days of their lives. Even if you are not an outdoors type of person you will enjoy this place. All walks of life will enjoy this place. Bring your happy face and enjoy the trip.

Room Tip: Get a lake house if you can. The inn is nice also and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! I'm glad you had another fun year at the Tyler Place and had so many nice things to say about our location, staff, food, and programs - your description is perfect for potential guests looking for more info about the TP. To many more years of great family vacations!

Best,
Caitlin
TP Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our family recently returned from a week-long vacation to The Tyler Place, after finally making it off of the resort’s waiting list. Despite having to put off the vacation for a year until space became available, the wait was definitely worth it, and we are already looking forward to returning next year.

Tyler Place is located in a rural setting along the shore of Lake Champlain in upstate Vermont, just a few miles from the Canadian border, and about 90 minutes south of Montreal. It is a family-owned/operated resort, which has been entertaining guests since the 1930’s, and which has gradually expanded over time to its current size.

At present, there are roughly 70 different accommodations at the resort, ranging from hotel suites to entire houses. With the exception of the early and late seasons, all resort stays run from Saturday to Saturday.

The Tyler Place shares many commonalities with other high-end U.S. based all-inclusive resorts, including extensive onsite recreational opportunities, ample staff, and numerous amenities. However, Tyler Place stands out due to it having a very elaborate series of childrens programs, covering infants through teenagers.

This childrens programs are a major draw for those who visit The Tyler Place, as it allows families to strike a balance allowing for both family time to enjoy the resort and the surrounding region, while still enabling the parents to spend time together.

We’re not the kind of folks that leave the kids at home to head out on our own vacations, and initially we were a bit apprehensive about the idea of going on vacation and handing our kids off to complete strangers for a significant portion of the day. However, after reading countless reviews about the resort, and doing some other research, we decided to give it a try.

We arrived on a Saturday afternoon, and found our way to the Inn, which is one of the main activity hubs on the property. The Inn serves at the location where all adult meals are served, as well as the resort’s front desk, the bar, and the location of the majority of evening social events. After a brief introduction to the resort, we were given the keys to our accommodations, and directions.

We stayed in Carriage House, which is a four unit accommodation. Our unit consisted of three rooms. The main room had a king sized bed, two burner stove, microwave, full-sized refrigerator/freezer, and a functional fireplace. This large room also had a table with four chairs, as well as two upholstered chairs, a dresser, and a closet. A smaller bedroom contained two twin beds, a dresser, two night-tables and a large closet. The bathroom was also of good size, in great condition, and also had a closet in it.

Although only the small bedroom had air conditioning, it was sufficient to keep the entire accommodation comfortable.

After getting settled into our room, we explored the resort, quickly became accustomed to the daily schedule of operations and soon dropped off our kids at their facilities.

The childrens programs are divided by age groups. In total, there are approximately a half-dozen different age groups with programs available for infants through age 15. Each group has a different name, and there are different age-appropriate facilities on the property for these various age groups. The infants (less than 2 years old) as well as the “Junior Midgets” (2 – 3 years old) operate out of the Playhouse. The next few age categories operate out of the “Clubhouse”.

Our youngest child, who is 19 months old, cried the first few days when she was dropped off at the Playhouse. However, Autumn, her “Parents Helper”, was quickly able to calm her down and get her involved in a number of activities on the property. She did a wonderful job with our daughter, and our daughter quickly acclimated and began to enjoy the program.

Meanwhile, our 3 year old was much more enthusiastic, and upon seeing the other kids his age, and the massive array of toys, he said “see you”, as he walked in the door of the first program, and quickly immersed himself in activities.

The childrens programs operate from 8:30 AM – 1:30 PM each day, and then resume from 5:30 – 8:30 PM in the evening. A schedule is printed at the beginning of each week, so that everyone knows what activities are occurring on the specific days. The events played out in accordance with the schedule, the only exception being that the events on two evenings were switched due to inclement weather.

Attendance at the programs is entirely optional…and so families can readily choose to skip one or more sessions to partake in other activities, or simply to relax. However, most families seem to have sent their kids to most, if not all of the sessions. Given the enthusiasm of our 3 year old for the program…I’m not sure he would have allowed us to do something else with him!

The kids in the various programs participate in a variety of age-appropriate activities, similar to those which they would likely be partaking in if they were at a more traditional summer camp. There were several arts and crafts type sessions, as well as time spent fishing, pontoon boat rides, time swimming at the pools, activities in the gym, a “carnival night” complete with bounce houses and games, and a farm night with hay rides, pony rides and a petting zoo. Other activities involved a magic show, a “bug night” where the participants learned about insects, and a campfire night.

The infants were typically transported around the property in double-strollers, and the “Junior Midgets” typically went from place to place in oversized wagons – with 2 to 3 kids per wagon. The older kids typically walked from place to place, frequently while chanting funny songs/cadences along the way.

The staff-child ratio was impressive. During the evening programs, the ratio was 1:1 for the infants and could not have been more than 2:1 during the day. For the “Junior Midgets” program, the ratio was at most 3:1, and frequently 2:1.

Ample food was provided to the kids, with snacks in-between meals as well. We received reports as to what our kids ate, and various other information about what they did from day-to-day. At all times, the childrens staff seemed extremely enthusiastic about working for the resort, and did a great job with the kids. Our sons only "complaint" about the food was that he couldn't get seconds on dessert. (A couple of really good brownies in a takeout container from the adult buffet solved that complaint.)

For the grown-ups, there was a plethora of activities, and excellent food. Breakfast was available from 7:30 – 9:30 AM. Traffic peaked shortly after 8:30, which was the starting-time of the children’s programs. Lunch started around 11:30 and continued through 1:30. Dinner ran from 5:30 – 8:30. The main dining room, referred to as “Lakeside”, is entirely off-limits to children. However, in the event that parents wish to eat with their children at any specific meal, they can do so in two other adjacent dining rooms.

The meal schedule was very convenient. No reservations were needed, and one could simply show up and eat at anytime during the designated hours. At most, we waited perhaps 5 minutes for a table, and the large majority of times we were seated immediately upon our arrival.

As to the food? It was great. How good? Let’s just say I gained week…despite being very active biking, kayaking, etc. I’m going to lay the primary blame on their pastry chefs. Deciding among the 3 or 4 evening desserts was oftentimes impossible.

All meals were served buffet style. However, if you have an aversion to buffets, do not let this deter you from giving The Tyler Place a try. The buffet area itself was relatively small, with just 2 main tables, a dessert table, and, when needed, an ice cream area and/or carving table. Food was only brought out in relatively small batches, and immediately replenished as dishes got low, thus ensuring freshness of food. Meanwhile, the food area was constantly being patrolled and cleaned, and remained immaculate.

Breakfast consisted of eggs, at least two kinds of meats, as well as a potato dish, and depending on the day of the week, pancakes, Belgian waffles, French toast, a quiche or other baked egg-based dish. Frequently, there was a staffed omelette station also available. During the week, we learned that the eggs utilized on the omelette station were locally obtained from an organic farm. Matter of fact, we even met the farmer that raised the chickens which produced the eggs.

In addition to the main dishes, there were ample varieties of bread/bagels/pastries/fresh fruit served daily, as well as a hot cereal. On at least two occasions, lox and a variety of condiments were also available. In addition, there were at least 4 – 5 days on which Eggs Benedict, or a variant of it, were served. One variety was an Irish-themed dish with an English Muffin, Corned Beef and then a poached egg. Another amazing version involved lump crab meat. At every breakfast, there was a large heated container of real maple syrup for use on the pancakes, waffles, etc.

Lunch involved a wide variety of foods, from a simple but extremely good grilled cheese and tomato sandwich, to a cookout-themed day with hamburgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken sandwiches, portabello mushroom sandwiches, etc.

Dinners included items such as New York strip steaks, whole main Lobster, beef tenderloin, etc.
Dessert was served with both lunch and dinner. The dinner desserts were more elaborate, but all of the desserts were excellent.

Lunch and dinner also featured a fairly elaborate salad bar, with several dressings, including a Balsamic Maple Vinaigrette. The items on the salad bar were pretty much consistent from day to day, but it seemed that several ingredients were rotated to provide some variety.

Coffee, Tea, Lemonade and Iced Tea were included with all meals. Soft drinks and alcohol were extra. The bar was well stocked, and also featured in excess of a dozen beers, plus a number of wines and champagnes.

The adult activity list was extensive, and included bike rides (3 levels depending on experience), rock climbing, sailing lessons, fly fishing, pottery, yoga, aqua aerobics, kayaking, tennis, cooking classes, a low ropes course (team building exercises), field games, pottery class, winery tours in nearby Canada, etc.

There were also several “traditional” events which occur every week, including a staff vs. guest softball game, a mini-triathlon, and a regatta using the Hobie Cat sailboats.

Up until last year, activities were apparently on a sign-up basis, with sign-ups starting precisely at 5:30 PM. Apparently this led to some inconveniences, with folks standing by to await the posting of signup lists.

In order to remedy the problem, inject some fairness, and avoid the unpleasantness of having to “camp out” to ensure one’s ability to participate in a given program, everyone can sign up for activities from 5:30 – 7:30 each night. If there are more folks signed up than can be accommodated, the participants are put through a simple lottery process. Steps are taken to ensure that if a couple or family signs up for a given activity, that couple/family will either all be enrolled, or all be stricken.

I was told at the front desk that individuals would only be “bumped” from one activity during the week, and that after getting bumped, such individuals would be given a higher priority to ensure that they weren't repeatedly left out of other activities. From talking with other folks, it seemed that the “priority” rule was actually triggered after someone was bumped from two activities.

Regardless, in many cases, events were held multiple times throughout the week, so even if one ended up getting bumped due to lack of space from one event, there were oftentimes other identical (or similar) activities on other days. Likewise, in almost all cases, even when events filled up, there were other events that still had availability which one could enroll in, even at the last minute.

We signed up for quite a few events, and we were only bumped once. In my case, I subsequently received a message stating that someone who had been offered a spot had backed out, and thus was still allowed to participate. Net effect, I really don’t think there was a shortage of events, and the “bump” issue really was not a problem.

More often than not, my difficulty was figuring out which activity I wanted to participate in, because several interesting things were scheduled for the same timeslot.

I enjoyed the sailing lesson on one of the resort’s numerous Hobie Cat sailboats, led by Tony, one of the waterfront staff members. These boats are fairly small catamarans that are very easy to operate. Although a novice sailor, I quickly picked up the basics, and ended up using the sailboats on several occasions throughout the week.

Soon after, I found myself in a flyfishing class. I am a very avid fisherman, but have not had the ability to learn flycasting (which uses a different type of rod and several specific casting techniques. The 90 minute class was led by a professional flyfishing guide, and designed as an introduction to the sport. As such, it was full of practical tips for those interested in picking up the hobby, but yet not overwhelming for those who simply wanted to make a casual one-time effort.

One day, heavy, daylong rains forced the cancellation of virtually all outdoor activities. I had signed up for a morning session of “Field Games” (dodgeball, kickball, and the like), which ended up being relocated into the fieldhouse. The staff member who led this event was named Jim, and was from Scotland. He did a great job of leading us through a variety of games, mixed in with some teambuilding and other related activities. The event was so popular that a subsequent afternoon dodgeball event was added later in the week as a follow-up activity.

Another event I participated in was a kayaking trip. In retrospect, I think this event speaks well as to Tyler Place’s attention to detail. The original plan was to kayak to a winery, followed by a wine tasting, and then return to the Resort. Unfortunately, the heavy rain earlier in the week (in conjunction with a very wet spring/early summer for this region) rendered this river route unsafe. There was an alternate, and safer, kayaking route which was chosen as a substitute. Unfortunately, it was nowhere near the winery. Nevertheless, the staff quickly solved that problem. At the conclusion of the kayak trip, a staff member showed up with a respectable cheese and cracker tray, and multiple bottles of wine, to provide a wine-tasting to replace that which was originally to occur at the winery.

My wife and I also participated in an organized trip to the Choiniere Family Farm, an organic dairy farm. We were given a guided tour of the farm by Matt, a 3rd generation farmer who was graduating high school that same week. Due to sickness in his family, the family member who usually gave the tours was unable to do so, and Matt stepped in to fill the role. He told us that this was the first time he gave a solo tour of the property. Despite this, he did an excellent job showing us the farm, explaining the science behind much of their operations, and answering quite a few questions from the group.

On various other days of the week I decided to skip the planned events, and instead chose to spend time at the waterfront, fishing from kayaks, learning how to do Stand Up Paddleboarding (SUP), and sailing the Hobie Cats.

There were also several cocktail parties – one on opening night, as well as a mid-week lawn-party, during which complimentary alcoholic (and non-alcoholic) beverages were served. Members of the Tyler family were present at these events and helped to introduce new guests to returning guests. (Just to be clear, the Tylers didn't isolate themselves from guests and merely appear at these events. They led some of the group activities, oftentimes ate meals in the dining rooms with resort guests, attended many of the other social events, and also casually interacted with guests in passing to make sure everyone was enjoying their stay. In many ways, they and their staff essentially treated the guests like an extended family -- no small feat when dealing with close to 200 people.)

Evening events were also available from approximately 9 – 11 PM, and the Resort made available a variety of “Parents Helpers” to watch over children (at an additional hourly charge) if the parents wanted to attend the nighttime events. These events included a Trivia Night, live Jazz music, a show on card tricks, a nighttime campfire/wine/beer social and a slideshow of photos at the conclusion of the week. The rates of these Parents Helpers was extremely reasonable (roughly $8 – 10/hour depending on the experience level of the person).

The overwhelming majority of events at The Tyler Place are included with the resort fees. However, there were nominal charges for the use of motorized boats, and a very popular $15 “Champagne Cruise”, which basically involved a 45 – 60 minute sunset cruise with complimentary Champagne on Lake Champlain.

Aside from these activities and events, there were countless other things to do on the property. There is a rockclimbing wall built to accommodate a variety of skill levels, a large workout facility with treadmills, ellipticals and various weight sets, countless tennis courts of both all-weather type and clay, an archery course, a mini-golf course, a driving range, adult and child zip lines, and countless benches and chairs scattered about quiet spots throughout the resort, typically with water views, as well as many hammocks. Wireless internet is also available at several hotspots throughout the property, and 4G cellphone reception was pretty good throughout most of the resort area. Many of the accommodations also have screened-in porches or a nearby screened gazebo.

Individual lessons were also available for swimming, biking (for kids), and tennis. Massage, manicures, pedicures, etc. were also available at an additional charge. Guided fishing trips were also able to be coordinated with a guide that would apparently come to the property and meet guests to take them out on Lake Champlain.

I don’t know where the Tyler family finds its staff, or how they recruit folks to work at the resort, but whatever they do, it’s working quite well. Every single staff member seemed to be extremely enthusiastic about his/her job. None of them appeared to simply see their role as a “job”, and everyone seemed passionate about what they do—whether dealing with the staff at the boat docks, or the folks cleaning the accommodations.

Case in point, by day three, the waterfront staff knew my name (an impressive feat considering there were roughly 100+ adults on the property). My wife, who had not been to the docks before, came down to meet up with me and my son. A staff member immediately offered her assistance, and then helped her spot us out on the lake.

Every time I went to the docks, staff members were very proactive in offering to assist – whether that would be to carry a SUP to the water, to ready a kayak, grab a paddle or just stabilize the boat when arriving or departing.

Another time, my wife and I were leaving our accommodations and observed a staff-member doing mid-week cleaning of the unit above us…by cleaning a windowsill with a toothbrush! The attention-to-detail, and thoroughness, was amazing.

Transportation around the resort was primarily by walking and bicycles. A variety of single speed bikes, as well as helmets, child carriers and tagalongs were provided by Tyler Place. (Tagalongs are single-wheel units that mount to an adult bicycle, enabling children to ride with an adult, and help peddle.) Child bikes, and some “balance bikes” were also available, as were cargo baskets to mount onto bikes. An on-site maintenance shop is open most of the day to assist with any problems that arise with the bikes, and to make adjustments. Mountain bikes are also available for rent, at the rate of $20/day. However, for those participating in organized bike trips, the mountain bikes are provided free of charge for those specific events.

Nothing really stood out as being significantly negative about the entire trip. A few times our drink glasses were not refilled promptly at dinner…and one time there was some confusion about who was serving our table, and about 10 – 15 minutes elapsed before our appetizer arrived. Still, in the context of a week-long vacation, these “problems” border on being trivial.

At the conclusion of the week, we were handed an elaborate survey, which we were asked to fill out and return to the resort. We were also given a two week window during which our accommodations are being “held” for next year, giving us the opportunity to return in 2014.

We’re already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Since the accommodations vary from building to building, ask the Resort to provide you with the narr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jth3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Wow- what a detailed review! Thank you for your thoughts and feedback. If future guests have questions about what to expect at the Tyler Place, your review answers and explains everything they could need to know. We're so glad you had a good time and are looking at coming back in 2014!

Best wishes,
Caitlin P.
TP Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We travelled to Tyler place for the first time this spring. Despite the horrible weather our family had a wonderful time. Our children (19 months and 2.6 years) loved going to camp every day and adored their counsellors. We felt very safe leaving our children in their capable hands while we went off to play a myriad of activities including dodgeball, fly fishing etc. The food and adult only conversation at meal times was fantastic. The rooms were very clean and more than ample in size. We have already booked to go back again next year and have been raving to our family and friends about the wonderful time we had!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heather19_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for your review, and we’re so glad you had a good time. We love hearing that couples get to reconnect and have their own fun while the kids are off having a blast, too. We’ll work on better weather for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

As busy working parents we have found that traveling post kids has been nearly impossible. Although its fun to show new things to our daughters, we are often bleary eyed and beat after our "holidays" and find it difficult to unplug. I found Tyler Place by accident and made my reservation late. I didn't get it when we first arrived. The accommodations are modest but you aren't going for that. The first night we went down for the welcome party. My husband and I are pretty outgoing and this was right up our alley. We enjoy meeting new people and we never felt awkward about being new- Mr.Tyler was even there introducing us to folks. We had a blast and from that first night on we felt like we were vacationing with friends. And friends that totally get that you adore your child, that you are beat from work and that just want to hang out and unplug. The week flew by with a great mix of family time, high adrenaline adventures for my husband and workouts and yoga for me. My daughters also made friends and had a really great time.
On top of that - the food and drinks are outstanding and a real tribute to Vermont. From the Maple Mojito to the roasted radishes it was fabulous. For many this seems like a real alternative to Disney where your kids can try archery and learn to fish instead of sitting in endless lines waiting for 3 minute rides and meanwhile you get to really unplug and enjoy yourself.
I did like the fact that we could eat some of meals with our daughters - my understanding is later in the season the dining room is closed off to children completely. I wouldn't have been happy if I was completely closed off from them. I also liked having 'adult' dinners while my daughters were enjoying pirate night or carnival night.
We plan to return next year the same week because we liked the vibe. I think this will definitely work for our family for the next few years or at least until our kids are really ready to travel and see the world.

Room Tip: Book early. No joke - super early. Like for next year. I like the Point or Cedar Meadow cottages for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bohemia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caitlin P, Public Relations Manager at Tyler Place Family Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, and we’re glad you felt right at home here. What a happy “accident” that you found us! Our goal is to provide a vacation that is truly for the whole family – and it sounds like you were all able to take advantage of that. We’re thrilled to hear you’ll be back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highgate Springs
12.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
17.1 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cadillac Motel
Cadillac Motel
#2 of 5 in Saint Albans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Auberge du Lac Champlain
Auberge du Lac Champlain
#1 of 1 in Venise-en-Quebec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
#1 of 2 in Venise-en-Quebec
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
11.9 mi away
Back Inn Time
Back Inn Time
#1 of 1 in Saint Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyler Place Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyler Place Family Resort

Property: Tyler Place Family Resort
Address: 175 Tyler Place, Highgate Springs, VT 05460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Highgate Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highgate Springs
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 age-staggered kids programs for Infants to Teens. A cozy cottage or family suite with separate parent's bedroom. Awesome, enthusiastic, counselors you'll want to take home with you. Exceptionally good, wholesome meals - three times a day - plus snacks. Evening meals without the kids - a chance to recharge your marriage. An amazing variety of land and water sports with no waiting lines. Lots of fresh air, green grass, blue water, bonfires and nights full of stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyler Place Family Hotel Highgate Springs
Hotel Tyler Place Family
Tyler Place Family Resort Vermont/Highgate Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing