We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently the best of its class”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highgate Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyler Place Family Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently the best of its class”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tyler Place is one of the best family resorts- hands down. I agree with most of the other reviews and would just point out that this is not a fancy Ritz type of resort. So, if you are expecting an insect free environment with poolside bar service and a shower that emits a lot of water, this isn't the place for you. There are no tvs in the bungalows (aka small, wooden cabins), no radios, and most don't have a washer and dryer. Spiders can become your friends (they eat mosquitos). There is a/c. However, that only adds to the uniqueness of the experience. As one who usually has the tv on, it was a nice break and plus I have the Ipad :-).

Tyler Place is heaven on earth for the kids. The staff is well-trained and amazing. All three of my kids couldn't wait to return to their "groups" for the day and evening activities.

Parents- bring a book, have a car to get out once in a while and discovery Vermont or Canada and be sure to book a babysitter for an evening activity.

The food is amazing and plentiful- only complaint is I gained a few pounds. According to my kids we'll be back or they'll never speak to me again.

Room Tip: Be sure to inquire about location of the house and if you or a family member has physical limitation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weissattys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
141
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just returned from our second trip to The Tyler Place. Our children are 4 1/2 and 8 and had an even better time than last year (didn't think that was possible). This year we immediately settled into the routine. We rarely saw our 8 year old who often spent the afternoons hanging out with friends from group. The food was even better than I remembered and my husband and I enjoyed tennis, mountain biking, hiking, kayaking and skeet shooting.

Over 80% of the families were former guests and it was great to reconnect with many that we met last year. A friend asked me if I had any negatives and I can't think of one other than to say, as other reviewers have, that this probably isn't a vacation for extreme introverts. You can definitely have "down time" but all meals are a pretty social occasion.

Advice for new guests:
- pick out your bikes as soon as you get there to avoid them being "picked over"
- sign up for the next day's activities the night before during cocktail/hour dinner...there is something for everyone from yoga and arts and crafts to sailing and mountain biking
- take advantage of the laundry service - very reasonable
- sign up for a family portrait when you first arrive - great price and excellent quality
- don't buy/bring too much food/drinks for your cottage. We tried to buy less this year and still had too much. You are fed amazing meals all the time (and delicious appetizers at 5:30). I'd recommend just some bottled water and fruit/granola bars for the kids if they are early risers and can't wait until 8:30 to eat breakfast with their group
- pick at least a night or two and line up a babysitter so you can go back to the Inn for the adult entertainment - Jazz, Karaoke, Dance Party, Monte Carlo Night, etc.
- when you first arrive you may feel a little "underwhelmed". Some of the staff housing lines the main road and the cottages are definitely not plush. They are however very comfortable and have everything you need.

Room Tip: If you are at all interested call and get on the waiting list NOW. People make reservations up t...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first experience at the Tyler Place Family Resort. We were there during the fourth week of July. The setting is pretty and serene, located on Lake Champlain only two miles from the Canadian border. The grounds of the resort are clean and very well-maintained. The food is incredible. The child care/activities are great. The organized adult activities are incredible. The best part is befriending fellow guests and staff. The way it works is the week that you stay is your week until you don't want it anymore (or your kids are too old to come anymore, whichever comes first). You can always switch weeks, but if you keep the same week, you most likely will vacation with the same guests annually. It really is great. I must admit, I am on the introverted side and was a little leary about dining with other guests at every meal. But, by the second day, I was in the groove of things and loved it.

Recommendations:
-Participate in as many of the organized activities as possible; this is where we got to know most people with whom we dined.
-Do the low ropes course; you'll know why after you do it.
-Don't come with a huge group of friends or family; bring your spouse and children; this will force you to fraternize with other guests instead of those whom you already know.
-Try to eat with different people every night
-If you need "down time" as I did, there are a few two seater tables that you can use when you need them (we did at breakfast and sometimes at lunch).
-Don't expect luxury accomodations; the cabins are rustic and not very modern; but you won't be spending much time in the cabin anyway.
-Be open minded, and just have fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BES1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Tyler Place is one of those unique places--and it is the staff that really make it amazing. There really are lots of people who keep going each year. Couple things to know however, when they say they really don't want kids at the adult meals, they aren't kidding. Kids can come to breakfast, but only the teens are permitted to choose foods from the buffet--younger kids are not even allowed in the room where the buffet is served. Bring your passport---they are super close to Canada and the pottery class requires you to travel to Canada. Also, turn off your cell phone roaming or you may get a huge bill if your phone 'roams' to Canada. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovetotravel4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

At this point the reviews are becoming redundant, but I felt compelled to add my raves. Just got back from our first week at Tyler Place with the family and cannot imagine vacationing anywhere else with the kids. Every detail is covered, from the wide range of adult activities, the 8 hours of fun planned during the kids groups, to the cheerful enthusiastic staff and the gourmet food. Lake Champlain is a treasure, and TP presents many ways to take advantage of all that Northern Vermont has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vesperPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Everything you've read is just not enough to say good about The Tyler Place. I don't even know where to begin. By far the best vacation -ever- and we'll be going back again and again! Everything about Tyler Place is always "just so". Our kids LOVE everything about it. They beg to go back every year and can't wait. We can't wait either. The activities, the atmosphere, the food, the accommodations, all just perfect. I don't want to get into a 'laundry list' of reasons to go, but highlights include worlds-best-massage, the "slide of death" at the lakefront, the zipline, the pottery excursion to Quebec, and the butterscotch custard at dinner! From soup to nuts, everything is just perfect.

Room Tip: There's not a bad accomodation in the place! BUT, my personal preference is for the 'cedar m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PennaTravelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallahassee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Everyting I had heard and read about the Tyler Place is absolutely true. This place is just pure awesome - the staff are great and the food is wonderful. There are so many activities it is hard to choose what to do. This was our first time and we plan on going again next year. I cannot give this place enough accolades.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrr4604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highgate Springs
12.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Albans
17.1 mi away
Hotel St. Bernard
Hotel St. Bernard
#1 of 1 in Saint-Bernard-de-Lacolle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
12.5 mi away
Cadillac Motel
Cadillac Motel
#2 of 5 in Saint Albans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Auberge du Lac Champlain
Auberge du Lac Champlain
#1 of 1 in Venise-en-Quebec
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
Gite la Maison du Jardinier
#1 of 3 in Venise-en-Quebec
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
11.9 mi away
Back Inn Time
Back Inn Time
#1 of 1 in Saint Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyler Place Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyler Place Family Resort

Property: Tyler Place Family Resort
Address: 175 Tyler Place, Highgate Springs, VT 05460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Highgate Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Highgate Springs
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
9 age-staggered kids programs for Infants to Teens. A cozy cottage or family suite with separate parent's bedroom. Awesome, enthusiastic, counselors you'll want to take home with you. Exceptionally good, wholesome meals - three times a day - plus snacks. Evening meals without the kids - a chance to recharge your marriage. An amazing variety of land and water sports with no waiting lines. Lots of fresh air, green grass, blue water, bonfires and nights full of stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyler Place Family Hotel Highgate Springs
Hotel Tyler Place Family
Tyler Place Family Resort Vermont/Highgate Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing