We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”

Joey's Junction Bakery
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: What a surprising! Such hospitality, charm, and well-made, real food! See recent article at http://www.7dvt.com/2009highgate-gets-bakery-caf-art-side. We were thrilled with the food and the service at this unexpected find for food/art in rural Vermont. Fresh vegetables from the garden outside, everything made on premises from scratch by the Culinary Institute-trained chef. Who would have thought! I'll be delighted to write a review for them!
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were vacationing on Lake Champlain and just happened to drive by this place. I stopped and bought a delicious berry pie and we came back for breakfast the next day. The portions are enormous! In fact, you should consider splitting one between two people. Everything was delicious and the prices are very reasonable. In addition, the owners are very personable and obviously have put a lot of thought and effort into designing the place, which is really charming. A great Vermont experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Felix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vermont at its best”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My friend who owns the local Swanton Motel took me to Joey's for breakfast. Wow! Egg orders are made with three eggs, homemade country sausage patty is huge, and you get a choice of homemade bread for your toast. Wish I was there long enough to try Joey's lunch menu but I have no doubt it is awesome too. And don't forget to stock up on Joey's delicious maple syrup that he makes from his own maple tree farm. Great looking homebaked pies, pastries, and bread for sale. Treat yourself and go there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DicedBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Home cooking, friendly service, great artwork and all the maple syrup, pies & other goodies you can take home--who could ask for”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Joey's is one of my first go-to places when I arrive in VT from TX. Food is generous and excellent (sharing or to-go boxes are helpful). Atmosphere is pleasant, cozy & friendly (Joey is greeter extraordinaire, El's artwork is engaging, and visiting with other customers is encouraged). You can bring your own container for syrup in addition to buying some from Joey. And pies and pastries are suitable to serve to chefs, which I've done on several occasions. Joey's is a destination place, not only for me but for friends and family who come to visit and want a taste of VT. Go there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank curwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love, Love, Love”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Huge portions, personable visit with Joey, look forward to returning. We had a giant pancake the size of our plates, with eggs cooked our way (scrambled) on top with nice crispy bacon. On the table was a vat of his own real maple syrup and a container of maple cream. Add cups of terrific coffee and thick cream and we could not have been happier. We bought one of his coffee mugs to take home. He also has thick maple stopping with pecans for ice cream, his own vanilla extract, bakery goods, and maple syrup and maple cream. He'll even refill jugs you bring back empty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“such a disappointment . . .sigh”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Joey's Junction was highly recommended and it didn't measure up. We ordered Italian sandwiches and were served a split roll on top of which was about a half of head of Romaine lettuce, stalks and all, a couple of slices of tomatoes, cheese, ham and salami, and a fist-full of limp scallion stalks. All of that had olive oil poured on top. It was not a sandwich and there was a nothing "Italian" about it. Other than the tomato and the roll, which were good, the res was flavorless pile of mediocre food. We were told when our order was taken that there was only Joey and the waitress working so we would have to wait a while. We readily agreed since we had heard so many good things about the place. It was a long wait and not worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey's Junction Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Joey's Junction Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing