We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skunk Hollow Tavern

Skunk Hollow Tavern
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Windsor, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We sat at the bar and had an older woman with brown reddish hair wait on us. She had the personality of a gnat, and should not be a bartender. Other than that the food was great, we will visit again and next time we will sit at a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We got our order to go (burger & stuffed mushrooms) an enjoyed it in our condo. The staff were friendly and the food came out fast. I have no complaints about the food or price. The atmosphere as I was waiting was very friendly and they accepted cards which was nice since many places are cash only. Don't avoid this place because of the name, there is nothing stinky about this place :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daxandthara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a good meal and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We so enjoy Skunk Hollow tavern and restaurant for the consistently good food and enjoyable atmosphere. Don't expect the Ritz Carlton, but if you want a cozy atmosphere and a good meal in a country setting, this is the place to meet your friends and dine. If you want a bit more formal setting, eat upstairs with tablecloths on the table, with the very same good menu. We have never been disappointed and will return again and again. We have shared this info with many friends and if a visitor to our state asks where to eat that is different, we invariably recommend Skunk Hollow as a good choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GatorFan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stop for drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like walking back in time. Great bartender and the building has character. This place has an historic feel and is in the middle of nowhere. Charming spot

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CCR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Loved the burgers. Also loved the live Irish music. We were a big group and though they ended up putting us in different rooms, this great small hideaway was able to accommodate all of us.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skunk Hollow Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Skunk Hollow Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing