We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WV Traveler”

Cj's At Than Wheelers
Ranked #31 of 53 Restaurants in Hartford
Restaurant details
Keyser, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“WV Traveler”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

After an 11 hour Amtrak train ride we were told about CJ's. Very historic tavern with an amazing waiter and even more amazing food. Would recommend this place to anyone who wants a great meal on a budget. WE went back again on Friday night for karaoke and they made us feel like we are part of the community.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingwvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient take out for Hotel Coolidge”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I wanted something to take back to our room and eat. We looked at their menu, called in our order, picked it up in ten minutes. While we were in the restaurant picking up our order, we enjoyed conversation with the personable staff. The sandwiches we ordered were exactly what we expected for the price (a club sandwich is a club sandwich).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwhopson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It's a dive...but great food and drink”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

You won't see it from the road and you might worry about walking down into the basement but once you are in, go for it. The service is friendly. There is no fancy menu but enough to meet your dinner needs and the food is pretty good. Had burgers and Philly Cheese Steak. Both were very good and reasonably priced. Best surprise were the home made Onion Rings. Definitely try them. We were there mid week in July and the only show in town but worth staying on the Vermont side of the river if you want to stay in White River Junction.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We all liked the employees though it took a real long time to get our food & then they'd forgotten 1 item. Not a big deal & they did immediately rectify it when we reminded them. My fried haddock sandwich, with the sweet potato fries was quite good. The cole slaw was nothing to write home about. The atmosphere in the dining area was kind of gloomy but it was a downstairs combo bar/restaurant. My brother liked his burger but regular french fries were just so so. With just a little effort they could've been great. All in all, not a bad experience but not super great either.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cj's At Than Wheelers also viewed

White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 
White River Junction, Hartford
 

Been to Cj's At Than Wheelers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing