We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Vermont setting”
Review of Quechee State Park

Quechee State Park
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vermont setting”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a must see park if you are in the upper valley area. Make sure to view the gorge from the bridge and then from below. If you happen to be here during foliage you are In for a treat. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VERMONTCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Family of 5 spent a weekend. Very large campsites. Plenty of room for our SUV and 2 large tents at our site. Each site also provides a cooking grate over the firepit and a picnic table. Bathrooms were clean and updated. coin operated showers were spacious and also very clean. The park has wood you can buy but thats it, any other camping supplies (ice) you need to drive in your car to go off site to buy. A Dunkin Donuts is also a 1 mile drive in a car if you want coffee. Park has a beautiful open field for kids to play in so don't forget your frisbee, football, or other sport games for teenage kids to play. there is no playground.

The walking trail to the quechee gorge is 20 minutes and well worth the trip. However, be warned the walk to the gorge is downhill and fairly easy, but the walk back is uphill and can be steep at times. Definitely wear closed toe shoes not flip flops. We were able to swim at the bottom of gorge and there is even a cliff you can jump off and swim in but I recommend this for kids ages 10+. We will definitely be coming back next year as there are plenty of other touristy things to do in this beautiful area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quechee State Park”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Quechee State Park in Quechee, Vermont includes walking trails that go to the bottom of Quechee Gorge and a bridge that visitors can view Quechee Gorge from above and a Visitor center with knowledgeable staff that answer all questions, exhibits of things to do in Vermont, booklets, maps and clean restrooms.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarolB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shutesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
227 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great little park for family camping”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We passed by this park a year ago and realized that it was convenient to the highways and tourist attractions so we decided to come back to it for a couple of nights to check it out. We were not disappointed. We chose a lean-to site (Birch) that was away from Route 4. This was a good choice. Our site had a long driveway so we had some privacy, and yet we were right across from the restrooms too. The restrooms were clean, the roads were well maintained, and the recreation field had a sandbox with toys in it for kids to play with. There are trails to the gorge and to the official visitor center. It is also walking distance to mini-golf and a couple of restaurants.

The downsides- no real playground and no swimming. Usually we don't stay at a campground without swimming but we made an exception in this case.

We stayed for 2 nights during the week and it was quiet, not sold out. The rangers were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at just before 8pm the ranger on duty offered to deliver the firewood to our site and she did in just a few minutes. The next day I asked at the office about VINS and I was given a $3 discount on admission. Plus the ranger gave us an activity book to help our daughter become a Junior Ranger. We went back to the campsite and filled that out right away!! My daughter was very proud to earn her badge. :0)

Still undecided about going back since we did manage to see all the sights here, but it was a good trip and I liked the place. Definitely try to get a site in the back of the park though. The ones along Route 4 will be loud. Even in the back we could hear the traffic, but we could also hear the birds and watch the squirrels and chipmunks too. Not likely to see many deer or other wildlife in this park though. It's too close to the highway.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Natural Resources”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great time in the outdoors... Excellent for first time visitors to Vermont. Kinda wish it was six weeks later so that we were able to enjoy the fall colors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quechee State Park also viewed

 

Been to Quechee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing