We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret In Vermont!”
Review of Seyon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seyon Lodge
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was part of a group of 5 friends - all ladies - who recently stayed at Seyon Lodge for several days of snowshoeing, relaxing and fun. We had a wonderful time and can't say enough good things about this wonderful hidden gem. There are numerous miles of trails throughout the state park property, accessible right from the front door of the lodge. Seyon Lodge is located in Groton State Forest. Although we could have chosen to explore the surrounding area as well, it was fantastic to be able to simply relax and enjoy all our snowshoe adventures without starting up the car again after our arrival. Probably the best thing about Seyon Lodge is the incredibly friendly and accommodating staff. It felt as though they were almost a part of our group while, at the same time, they were more than respectful of our privacy. The rooms were small but clean and cozy and the shared bathrooms were plentiful. Cozy nooks throughout the building allow breaks from outdoor activities for reading and relaxing. In the evenings, we threw logs on the fire in the living room and played board games in front of the fire. And what can I say about the food? It's a good thing we were burning all those calories because the meals were incredible. Bottom line - we are all Vermonters and have many opportunities for outdoor recreation without an overnight stay, but chose to spend some time at wonderful Seyon Lodge. This was our first stay, but it won't be our last. We plan to come again and hopefully experience Seyon Lodge in every season of the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We "invaded" the lodge for a large family reunion in early August 2013. It was a wonderful stay but highlight to everything was the very accommodating staff at the ranch to our three-generation, carnivore/vegetarian and boisterous family. We opted for full breakfast & supper meals and were very pleased with the variety & quality. Many of the veggies came right out of the garden in back of the lodge--fresh and tasty. Rooms were small but nicely decorated, clean & comfortable. Rowboats were available for fly fishing or just poking around. The pond isn't apt for swimming, but Boulder Beach on Lake Groton is a short drive away. You can bike to the lake, but biking back up to the lodge is a mini Pikes Peak challenge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShoeLess2Boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A group of us stayed here over Labor Day weekend. The lodge sits back from a gorgeous, quiet pond surrounded by pine and fir trees. In the morning you can hear loons. The staff is very helpful and prepares delicious, organic and free-range food for you - and can also stoke up the campfire or the fireplace for you. There's excellent wi-fi, though no phone service. It's very like a B & B with shared bathrooms, simple and charming. It's far away from road noise, but pretty close to nice hiking trails, the Cross-Vermont bike trail, and two lakes for paddling. We had a full weekend of activities, and appreciated the comfort at the end of our days. You don't even have to leave the lodge - there's a hiking trail around the pond.

Room Tip: One room on the first floor is right next to the living room, so it might be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Envirotraveller_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The staff was very nice and very helpful during our recent stay at Seyon Lodge.

Apart from the location in a forest and the many possibilities of relaxation, this is certainly a most important aspect of the qualities of the place.

Mario Otis and friends

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

As we were driving up the dirt road to the property, I felt every drop of stress evaporate. The location is so beautiful, it felt like a movie set -- too amazing to be real. The pond with the hills behind is gorgeous, and you can sit in some adirondack chairs to admire the view or go out on a rowboat. The farmhouse has charming rooms that are simple, comfortable and clean. There are nice touches like cocoa and teas in the sitting rooms. And the porch with tables topped with wildflowers from out back are a terrific place to eat breakfast and start your day, while your day can end relaxing at the firepit. I cannot wait to go back. Make sure you go into town (Groton) to stop at Brown's Market Bistro, a charming restaurant with great food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of attending a wedding at Seyon Lodge. Although many wedding guests were camping nearby, we opted to stay at the Lodge for a comfier stay. And, we were so happy we did! It is simply charming. The views of Noyes Pond are amazing & we loved getting to jump in a rowboat to take in this gorgeous setting. The innkeepers were warm and helpful, the rooms cozy and comfortable, and the continental breakfast spread was ample. We are so grateful to our newlywed friends for introducing us to such an amazing VT destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #2 which was cozy with a firm, full bed and a view of the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatTravels30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

10. Beautiful views, sunset across noyes pond
9. The Loons, up close and personal
8. The rowing machine....err, row boats only on this pond. Great workout against the current and breeze.
7. The rooms arent rustic. Theyre nicer than some hotel rooms, and the cross breeze and sunrise in your window is hard to top
6. Fishing advice from paul, staff
5. Warm welcome from jessiemae, year-round live-in innkeeper
4. Jessie's seyon lodge cooking with local farm ingredients.
3. The lodge feels like visiting an old favorite relative's home: warm, instantly familiar. Makes u want to take off your shoes upon entering
2. The local trails rife with wildlife
1. The fly fishing. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_0679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seyon Lodge

Address: 2967 Seyon Pond Rd, Groton, VT 05046-5162
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Groton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Groton
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Vermont's best kept secrets, Seyon Lodge State Park provides rustic and welcoming facilities in the midst of the inspiring beauty of Groton State Forest. Situated on the pristine shores of Noyes Pond, the Lodge provides year-round lodging and meeting facilities for individual guests and groups, including small conferences, retreats,and weddings. Private rooms with shared bath accommodate 16 overnight guests, while a fully equipped commercial kitchen prepares meals, catering to the whims of your guests. The Lodge at Seyon is situated within the 27,000 acres of Groton State Forest. The secluded setting allows guests to enjoy some of the most beautiful and undisturbed natural scenery in Vermont. Wildlife abounds and hiking and cross-country ski trails provide easy access to the solitude of the surrounding forests. Fly fishing for brook trout on Noyes Pond is considered among the best in Vermont, with boat rentals available at the Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seyon Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing