We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grafton Inn”

Old Tavern Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Grafton
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Grafton Inn is famous for its imaginative cuisine, thoughtfully prepared with fresh locally sourced food and exploding with flavor. Our knowledgeable service staff, led by Chef Martin Schuelke, is eager to explain ingredients and methods, and to help you explore our Farm to Table cuisine with us.We are open seven days a week from 6 – 9 p.m. A children's menu is offered. Reservations recommended.
Penfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grafton Inn”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Food was excellent. Charming, intimate atmosphere. Wonderful service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Went to the Phelps Barn part of the Inn on a lovely spring Friday night based on an advert in the local paper (we’re more or less local). When we got there we discovered it was reserved for a private function, and but the same menu was being served in the garden room of the main inn. The Barn looked inviting -- restored rough wood, fireplace, etc., music some evenings. The garden room was a lot fussier….. but we’d driven 20 miles to get there so we stayed. One of the attractions for us was that the Barn offers beer on tap – but we couldn’t have any due to the private function. (Odd -- we know there is only one kitchen in the Inn and food gets carried to the Barn through the garden by waitstaff -- why beer couldn’t make the return trip mystified us.) So we had to order bottled – a decent IPA from a Brattleboro brewery that only comes in 22.5 oz bottles: for us too little to share, to much to drink solo. We both ordered the fish and chips. The potion was decent enough, but the preparation was terrible. The haddock was coated in a thick layer of soggy bread-like batter, not at all crunchy or crisp. The “pub fries” as they called them were shoestring potatoes, pale tan and slippery, not crunchy. My spouse swore the entire plate came from the freezer case of a supermarket and had been prepared by someone who couldn’t. read the package directions. We could have prepared much better at home and saved ourselves a bundle. The Inn and much of the town is financed by a private non-profit organization and its restaurants are really the only game in town. Maybe a little competition would improve their focus. A pay-day treat turned into an expensive mistake - No return trip for us…..

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wombat27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ask for their specials”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Have the specials and enjoy the chef choice. A perfect place for it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank DeaverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

A perfect spot during leaf season, but the food is a little tired. You will feel like you just stepped onto the set of "Four Seasons".

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Majulamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A classic New England Inn”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Set in the beautiful old center of Grafton, the inn offers wonderful dinners set in the elegant old Inn. We dine there often and are never disappointed. The food and service are great. Dont miss this place, old Vermont at its best.

Helpful?
Thank Buildr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Tavern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing