We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil and pristine”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tranquil and pristine”
Reviewed August 23, 2006

My wife and I recently spent our anniversary at the Old Tavern, and found it to be one of the loveliest inns we have stayed in. The porches with rocking chairs are perfect for reading (the N.Y. Times is available at the general store down the street) and the rooms are nicely decorated in colonial New England style. The restaurant serves excellent New England/New American cuisine, making creative use of local ingredients. It compares favorably to restaurants in the same price range in major cities. Across the street from the main inn building is a picturesque sloping lawn with a natural swimming hole. We would highly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a peaceful New England retreat.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambridgetraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
197
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

This was our 2nd visit to the Tavern Inn at Grafton, Vt. This Inn is quaint and in the middle of nowhere in Vt. The Tavern Inn has much history to it but it's history is of LOCAL origin and not of major historic value. Granted, some folks of yesteryear fame\fortune stayed here, but that's it. The changes they made in amenities in the past 2 1\2 years is having installed a\c in each room, and room telephones. However, to use the phones for either local or long distance calls, there's a steep charge for both. Also, they have cell service now, but, it's NOT Verizon Wireless compatable. They DO have 1 TV\computer in a separate barn building to the rear of the Inn. Also, the nearest dining other than the Tavern Inn's own restaurant is up in Chester\Londonderry or wherever else you find it. The food at the Tavern Inn is GREAT but pricey. The employees are VERY polite and personable. If you desire peace and quiet without room TVs, and no major attractions nearbye, then Grafton's the place to go to. If you desire shopping, a good choice of dining, etc, then we recommend Manchester\Manchester Village. Zoey's Restaurant in Manchester Village is INCREDIBLE!, in taste\ambiance\wait staff\pricing. Depending on your reason for getting away, Grafton is either ideal or not.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rad1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 4, 2005

This is a real bargain during the winter. Lovely inn, fireplaces in public areas, extremely scenic town, nice cross-country ski trails down the street. Rooms at the inn plus rooms across the street are lovely and comfortable. We've enjoyed the very quiet cottage across the street when the inn was full. The room had lovely views and beautiful furnishings. The cook-to-order breakfast the next morning comes with the room charge. Be sure to order eggs Benedict!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2004

The Old Tavern Inn in Grafton is very quaint with very friendly\personable staff. Having stayed for 1 night in November 2003 for the 1st time proved quite an enjoyable experience. The ride to Grafton is long from northeastern Mass (2 1/2 hrs), but well worth the trip even in mid autumn. The room we had at the Tavern Inn was old, medium sized, and considering there's no phone or TV, it was still very pleasant. The only criticism we have is the dining cost. The restaurant is way overpriced for a place not in Boston or NYC, but the FREE breakfast was well worth it. We were able to reserve a room practically overnight due to impeccable timing after a patron cancelled thier reservation just before I called to make mine. Otherwise, the Tavern Inn is hard to reserve a room in due to it's ongoing full booking in advance. It was a lovely visit, and we hope to repeat the visit again.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrenAndBob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 17, 2003

My family and I have stayed at the Tavern at least 4 Years and always have a great time. We prefer staying in the Tuttle house which has a great fire place, nice family room, and a handy kitchen for our late night snacks. The breakfast in the Inn on a chilly morning before skiing makes one's early morning very exciting. The location is great with Grafton Ponds cross country ski area just up the street. We also like to travel into the nearby town and enjoy dinner at Rasberry and Tyme. The Inn is well maintained, the staff is friendly and accomodating. We are Looking forward to another visit.
Thanks. The Ruffo's

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2003

Great NE town, Great NE Inn. Clean, up to date, nice people, great breakfast room.

Helpful?
5 Thank wellert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
314 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
7.0 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
229 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing