We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a destination wedding”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Grafton Inn for a family wedding. All of the properties that are part of the hotel take you back in time to a quaint New England town a hundred+ years ago. The staff at the Inn are top notch as was all of the food we had during our stay (pumpkin pancakes for breakfast - fresh scones each day are only a few of the highlights). While the properties are historic and built back in the 1700 and 1800s the gorgeous four poster beds had the most amazing mattresses that you just sank into and made for a great night's sleep. Spotty cell service made sure we slowed down and enjoyed everything the Inn and the town had to offer - the Inn has bicycles you can take out which were a great touch. The wedding itself was held in this meadow across the street and the babbling brook that ran along was something out of a movie. What a gem of a place tucked away in Vermont. Thank you to everyone at the Inn who made our stay - and the wedding - perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 348 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful clean rooms, great food and a wonderful staff. It was nice having the choice of two restaurants and the coffee shop next to the cheese shop. We would highly recommend staying at the Inn and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed across the street from the main in and the room was lovely as were the common area rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggdgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We only live" down the road " but this was a perfect place to celebrate our anniversary evening with excellent dinner, quiet room and romantic ambience. Room 15, has bucolic view of the village and beautiful oval deep tub. The included breakfast was the perfect ending to the stay..I chose the poached eggs florentine over English muffin....coffee was served with warm homemade blueberry scones. Now we have the occasion to recommend to others, often we don't get a chance to experience local hotels or BBs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diverdebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff of the hotel for a friend's wedding weekend were incredibly accommodating and friendly. The food was never a disappointment and the drinks were spot on. The community of Grafton was so crisp and peaceful. Sunday morning, we found ourselves standing in front of the hotel on the edge of the street with no passing cars enjoying the cool breeze overlooking the beautiful front porch of the Inn. Having the windows open all day and night in August was incredible. Only one issue of the stay was the noise the shower head created. However, understanding the historic age of the Inn, alongside the immaculate conditions and cleanliness, it was easy to overcome. Thanks for making the weekend a success!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alovorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkeeper, General Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Grafton is indeed a special place. We're very pleased that you took the time to tell everyone what a wonderful time you had here. We're equally glad that your friend's wedding weekend was a winner and hope that you'll find your way back to our inn in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A couple of friends held thier wedding at the Grafton Inn this August. It was wonderful. The inn rooms were clean and comfortable, the grounds and property were beautiful. Most importantly the staff at the Inn was incredibly friendly and helpful. I had an excellent stay and if I ever found myself in the area for any reason I would check there first as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkeeper, Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your weekend visit with us. It was a true pleasure to accommodate you while you were in town for your friends' wedding.We are immensely proud of our team and it is encouraging to know that their efforts do not go unnoticed. Your warm remarks and beautiful review of or property will be shared with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I felt like I was in a world within a world. The people were so friendly, the food was amazing, and at the end I didn't want to leave. People actually sat on the porch with their complimentary cup of coffee and enjoyed just sitting. What a novel concept on vacation! The breakfast, which is included in the room charge, was out of this world. Anywhere else it would have been 30.00 minimum. And of course, the cheese. Highly recommend this to anyone going to the southern Vermont area. Convenient to everything, but really no need to venture out it you don't want to. Even the live singer at the converted barn pub was excellent. I think I'm in love. Did I mention the mattress.... OMG, amazing.

Room Tip: They are all quiet. We stayed in the cottage across the street from the main Inn, and there was some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LambieJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkeeper, General Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We couldn't say it any better ourselves...."a fresh view of Vermont".....! Thank you for sharing your experience. We very much appreciate your review of our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was our second time at The Grafton Inn and once again we experienced a wonderful time. Dining experience was exceptional! The hotel is lovely and charming. Good size bedroom and bath accommodations. A pretty "hamlet" in the hills of Vermont. Looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
361 reviews
18.2 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
681 reviews
14.8 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range: $210 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 45 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open Friday-Sunday evenings. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub is served nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing