We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn, Beautiful Village”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Beautiful Village”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love staying at the Grafton Inn, Old Tavern. We have spent every President's Weekend here for more than 12 years. The inn is historic, dates back to 1801. There are beautiful antiques everywhere. Check out the houses owned by the inn. These are great value for families or groups traveling together. They have full kitchens, several bedrooms and bathrooms. Your stay at the inn includes winter sports privileges at Grafton Pond. The dinner in the inn is outstanding! Elegantly served. Breakfast is normally delicious, however this year they served breakfast two days as a buffet. This was not good, the food was cold and the selection was limited. That is my only complaint and sadly why I did not give Grafton Inn 5 stars. This is the first time this has happened in all of the years we have been staying here. Hopefully they will decide to not serve breakfast again as a buffet.

Room Tip: If you are a group or family traveling together choose one of the houses owned by the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
194
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first time at the Inn where we met a family of five on their third visit who had already booked ahead for 2014. I understand why. Our room was enormous with two double beds plus breakfast at a bargain midweek rate ($99/night). A few minutes down the road Grafton Ponds Nordic ski center offers beginners (that would be me; Betsy was my brilliant instructor) or experts splendid trails and equipment rental. Seven miles away is the town of Chester; don't miss the Vermont Institute of Contemporary Arts or Misty Valley Books and then stop for lunch at Moon Dog Cafe, all within easy walking distance of one another.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I couldn't think of a better place to spend our 25th wedding anniversary! We spent our 20th there and G-d willing, will spend our 30th there.

We had some dietary restrictions this time around and contacted the innkeepers ahead of time. The chef arranged a menu for our anniversary dinner that fit our restrictions perfectly.

I'm somewhat disappointed that they are remodeling the loft in the Phelps Barn. It was a great place to sit, relax and watch a little TV (there are only two or three we know of in the entire place). That sitting area is evidently going away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zen3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Time away with my married daughter before the hectic Christmas holiday! The Inn is quaint and absolutely beautiful; exquisitely appointed rooms. We felt very pampered. The town is lovely. I will definitely return to explore more of the area and make sure I have time for "Phelps Barn" and local activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Diane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I settled upon the Grafton Inn after searching extensively for a hotel/inn that could accommodate the two of us and our 12 year old son. (Most B&Bs sleep two) We had to pay an additional $45 for the additional guest but the stay included breakfast and cross country ski passes to the Grafton Ponds ski center. Our experience was well worth the price. The staff was very cordial and the restaurant top notch. Not what you would expect in a quaint village such as this. We enjoyed our stay so much, we plan on coming back this summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The inn is classic and charming. The town is beautiful, with many of the properties owned and maintained by the Windham Foundation. The cheese, produced by the Grafton Cheese Company and also owned by the Windham Foundation, is amazing. There's a little shop where you can buy fine wines. Bring your bike, hike or go skiing in the winter. It's all right there. The restaurant serves great food, and there's a limited menu offered sometimes in the Old Tavern. If you are missing your latte, there's a town about 12 minutes away called Chester, and in it is the Moondog Cafe. The coffee/lattes/cappuccinos are awesome. Perfect, relaxing time in a picturesque New England town!

Room Tip: There are single rooms, and there are "suites" in the main inn. I've always stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleatshoprelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon decades ago, and returned recently for the first time. We had a very nice room across the street from the Inn, room 37....oversized, very comfortable bed, lovely amenities, excellent wireless service, and clean bathroom. We did notice the creaking floorboards overhead, but the satisfaction of the rest subdues that detail. To be able to walk out the door of Windham Cottage and be in such a picture perfect New England village is quite something. We took a walk through down, out into the woods, and up a few side streets. Quiet, cozy, every house prettier than the next. We will return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
14.8 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
14.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
6.4 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing