We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have wanted to stay in a Vermont inn since the days of the Newhart show. The Grafton Inn was the first time I was able to do so and it was worth the wait! Driving up in the twilight and seeing the beautiful building and towns was a treat. I stayed in the main tavern in Suite 12 which was huge, beautiful, and very comfortable. I needed to do a few hours of computer work but did not mind at all, enjoying the luxurious sitting room with the windows open. Breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful, with several options served at individual tables in the gorgeous restaurant. The second-floor porch was relaxing and refreshing. I hope to visit again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYYVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
195
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My sisters and cousin and I planned an action packed weekend of hiking and biking at Grafton Ponds but realized we would have to shift gears when the forecast called for heavy rain most of the weekend. If the weather had been more cooperative we would have missed the opportunity to relax and enjoy the White Gates House, situated just up the road from the Inn and Tavern. The river that runs back and forth through Grafton ran close behind the White Gates House and was a constant source of audio pleasure.
The house was so spacious we each had a bedroom and private bath. We kept a fire going in the living room and had a private yoga class there on Saturday morning. Although we didn't want to commit to cooking dinners, the kitchen was fully equipped and we enjoyed each others company preparing and lingering over lunch in our dining room. Dinner and breakfast at the Inn were exceptional and a wedding at the Inn on Saturday livened things up. The Inn restaurant was closed for the wedding so we headed to nearby Chester, Vermont for pizza, live music, and dancing.
I can't remember the last time I was able to relax so quickly. The friendly staff and tranquil setting made it possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mavelo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Grafton Inn, formerly the Old Tavern, never ceases to disappoint. We were back for an early May special and had a great time. We even booked a stay next February for our 25th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zen3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
259 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in a suite above the art guild across the street from the main building. Lots of privacy but could use a little redecorating as the accommodations felt more tired than charming. Service and food were ownly so so. The pub is only open Thursday through Sunday so the only dining option this time of year is the main dining room which was only OK. also felt that there was no real welcome feeling from the front desk as you generally find from a bed and breakfast. I guess that this place is so well known, they don't feel they need to go the extra mile that the smaller, less established places will provide.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Have stayed here over 30 years. Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward used to come for the Christmas holidays and were always very nice and left to their privacy. No one ever bothered them, which shows the esprit of the place. Everything worked smoothly and led us to get our own country place in the White Mountains, next door in NH.

Room Tip: Ask in advance; try to pick an off weekend for your first visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeaverB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was our first time at the Grafton Inn, but it certainly won't be our last. We had a wonderful experience. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. We stayed in room B1 in the Barrett House. It has a queen sized bed and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The house has 3 bedrooms and would be perfect for a weekend with friends or family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We have been going to the Grafton Inn for several years now and, for us, this is the "gold standard" by which we measure every other property we visit. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfasts awesome and the innkeepers go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
298 reviews
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
7.0 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
228 reviews
6.4 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing