We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother & Daughter's VT trip”
Review of Grafton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grafton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mother & Daughter's VT trip”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful trip with my Mom and Sister's, thanks to our Mom planning it out! This has been a trip our Mother has wanted to take for years and finally told us this is want we are going to do!! This will be a trip we has sisters and my mother will always look back on as many laughs and many great memories. Our 1st trip to Vermont was a wonderful & relaxing place to visit. We highly recommend the Old Tavern Inn /Guest Houses in Grafton VT. The service, accommodations and food were excellent!! We stayed in the Woodard House...the beds, pillows, sheets...OMG so cozy. We could have stayed in bed all day! We'd love to come back a visit again & again!
We came before peak season, so it was very well priced and our breakfast was included, this is no Holiday Inn cold breakfast!!! The homemade biscuits are delicious and the breakfast itself was probably the one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. We all 4 tried something new every morning. We only had dinner at the Inn one night & it was very good and the food at the Phelps Barn was just as yummy. Friday night pizza at Phelps Barn was also tasty! The town is something out of a movie, the locals are very friendly! If your looking for a relaxing trip, ready to venture out and explore the surrounding areas, this is your place!

Room Tip: Call to make your reservation! Better rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineL0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldtavern1801, Public Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Hello, so glad the ladies trip was a success. We are delighted that you chose The Old Tavern inn as your first trip to our beautiful state. Mother daughter trips are so special! Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    49
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
62
197
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My first trip to Grafton was in October of 1978. I was 23 and a co worker had suggested I vacation at The Old Tavern. We didn't have a reservation but there was a room available over the gift shop (Cricketer). Back then you had to wear a jacket at dinner and everyone dressed up. There wasn't a breakfast area added on yet and the game room was across the street in the basement of the Windham Cottage. It was a very quiet and relaxing place.

Today, The Old Tavern remains a quiet and relaxing place with lots of charm. Recent changes have just added to its' appeal. The entertainment in the Phelp's Barn and pub fare wasn't available 33 years ago. Nice addition! The dining menu has a well thought selection which includes many locally produced items. Breakfast remains a strong suit with freshly baked scones, omelettes, quiche, eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, potatoes, fruit, toast and more. Follow up breakfast with a nice walk through the village and the day is off to a great start!

The new Innkeeper, John is doing a great job! Wi-fi throughout the complex, good changes in the Phelp's Barn and great employees. The pub fare was to die for. Best mac & cheese we ever had and the calamari was top notch too! Wine special at $5 per glass, add in entertainment and we had a fun Saturday night. Our server, Megan rounded things out with wonderful service.

My 15th visit to The Old Tavern was the best yet. They're on Facebook and run an occasional special on the internet. They should think about doing more special deals on Facebook and elsewhere since we often take advantage of the $99 deals The Equinox have as well as The High peaks in lake Placid ($58 per night). We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14alnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldtavern1801, Public Relations Manager at Grafton Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to review The Old Tavern at Grafton. We are delighted you had a good time with us and hope you come back soon. Agree with your mac & cheese statement. Appreciate the input on Facebook advertising. It's something we'll be ramping up this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband surprised me with a getaway overnight for our anniversary. The package included dinner and breakfast. The room was charming, the food top notch and wine in the barn was a treat. We will be back. Staff was very helpful in typical Vermont low-key way. Loved it. Best sheets ever.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeceBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York area
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

On January 14th, a friend and I stayed at The Old Tavern in Grafton, Vermont with the purpose of going cross country skiing nearby. The front desk was extremely friendly answering all of my questions (which were in rapid fire being from NYC area) and when I found out that my cell service is not available there (they only have AT&T) they let me use the phone behind their front desk to call out. The rooms were spotless and very Vermont-esque with lots of old prints and their beds were a dream to sleep on. Very soft and comfortable with huge thick spotless white comforters, and i suspect a feather topper on the mattress. We stayed in the building across from the main inn. It had WiFi and a tv set that was availble in the public room downstairs only. They do, however, have a radio with an IPOD dock in the room. They also had a large block of their famous chedder cheese and crackers in the room when we arrived. They also provided, free of charge, more cheese the next day when we asked for it. Their pub had good entertainment on that friday night and they make a wicked good brick flatbread pizza that was delicious. They also have a restaurant in addition to the pub that we ate in the following night and the food was outstanding, as was the service. They had good wine list and a nice selection of foods on the menu to please all tastes. Their desserts were varied and their apple cider sorbet was different and a perfect end to the meal. A breakfast was included in the price of the room and they were very good about keeping the coffee coming all during breakfast. There waitstaff was abundant and everyone was more than helpful, and pleasant and I would highly recommend this place to people that are looking for a true vermont experience. The cross country skiing that we went up there to do is just down the road and the trails were perfectly groomed and the people there just as nice as at the hotel. They also make flatbread pizza at the skiing that is made by the same people that make it at the Inn. Manchester Vermont is only 1 hour or so away for people looking for a day of outlet shopping nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nys
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

In the sleepy town of Grafton is the perfect place for a quiet weekend stay. The rooms are well appointed, the common space is lovely. There is a full country breakfast and afternoon snacks of Harney and Sons tea (my favorite!), coffee and cookies.
In the evening you can have a drink in the Barn with friends, and if your lucky there is (excellent) entertainment. Dinners are superb! It is a short drive to cross-country skiing and the Grafton Cheese Factory. It is not far from Brattleboro, if you want to go shopping and spend the day there. The Old Tavern runs lots of specials - so check out their website before you book. I LOVE this place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2010

If you are ready for a trip back to a kinder, gentler era . . . perhaps with a four poster canope bed, you are ready for the Old Tavern at Grafton. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Grafton is a bit like Brigadoon, a bit of a ride, kind of out-of- the way, really only thought to be a part of the past......The road there twists and turns, climbs and gives way to a quiet little hamlet, how do people live here and then leave to go to work, shopping, the real world?? I would perfer to walk the roads, paths and sit on the porch and watch the sun rise and set. Although going into the bar for a drink(which is actually a lovely barn type structure with a wonderful fireplace), or entering the quiet and subdued dining room is worth leaving the fresh air to experience. The Tavern rooms were very clean, quiet and restful. We took advantage of a post-foliage season $119. a night and got the best deal!! I'd go back in a minute!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileysmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grafton
23.3 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
311 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
7.0 mi away
Windham Hill Inn
Windham Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in West Townshend
229 reviews
14.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grafton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Inn

Property: Grafton Inn
Address: 92 Main St, Grafton, VT 05146 (Formerly The Old Tavern at Grafton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Grafton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grafton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grafton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1801, this historic inn has been providing visitors with the finest comforts and amenities in a quintessential Vermont setting. The inn features 44 individually appointed rooms, including seven suites and four guest homes. The award-winning Old Tavern Restaurant features locally inspired American cuisine; open nightly for dinner. Pub menu at Phelps Barn Pub. Members of Distinctive Inns of New Englands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grafton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Hotel Grafton
Old Tavern Grafton
Old Tavern Hotel Grafton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing