We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Taste of Vermont Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The Silver Maple Lodge is the best taste of Vermont country life that I can find. Our fireplace cottage was a perfect place to relax after touring and hiking the trails and byways. Scott, the innkeeper, is the finest host. He's so available to help with side trips and directions on touring Vermont. Silver Maple Lodge is the perfect place to center Vermont travel!!

Stayed: September 2008
3  Thank insider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2008

My friends and I (and my dog, Jasper) recently stayed at this quaint, cozy inn. My friends and their young son stayed in a bright, sunny room in the inn itself, while Jasper and I stayed in one of the cabins which was rustic, but clean and comfortable with room enough for all of us to hang out in the evening and play games and relax, before they returned to their guest room.

The innkeeper, Scott, was very warm and welcoming to all of us, including my furry companion, and they even allow well-behaved pets to be left unattended in the rooms, which was great while we were visiting places where he could not join us, such as the nearby Montshire hands-on science museum which was as much fun for the adults as the six-year-old.

Yes, it is close to the highway, but, honestly, at night the traffic was very light and it really wasn't a problem for me even with the windows open. The convenience of being able to quickly and easily get to everyplace we were looking to go, as well as the very reasonable rates, more than made up for having some nearby traffic noises.

Not being early risers, I can't comment on the breakfast offerings, but there was a diner right up the street that served breakfasts to die for at reasonable prices,

Overall, this was a great place, especially for travelers with pets, at a reasonable rates with cozy accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicec678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We discovered Silver Maple Lodge's website and their Balloon weekend package. The photos on their site give you an accurate view of their charming establishment.
The Inn is easy to find, right on Rt 5, not far from I- 91. This not only made it easy to get to Vermont attractions, but saved on traveling time and gas expense. We found a lot to do right in Fairlee, in addition to our balloon ride.
Our cottage was comfortable, homey, immaculate, just what we were looking for.
Excellent Value for the dollar! We will be going again.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank hobbittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We recently stayed in this "historic" B&B and to say the least we were disappointed. The "Roar" of Interstate 91 was clearly heard on the back of the property as well as US 5 which adjoined the front. If traffic roar is what you look for in a "Country Inn or B&B" you'll love this place.
The staff was practically non-existent and although not rude was not helpful. The cabins were decent and clean. Breakfast was stale sweet rolls and juice and coffee. When we indicated our disappointed the response of the owner was "too bad".
There are so many wonderful country Inns in Vermont it's too bad we made a poor selection.
Hopefully our review will give other travelers a "heads up".
Paul and Lori Whidbey Island, WA

Stayed: August 2006
5  Thank PaulLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

This quintessetial Vermont Guest house and Cabin is conveniently located just off I-91 in the scenic Connecticut River Valley. Scott, the Innkeeper, is very helpful and accomodating. We stayed with an out-of-town group attending a wedding where the parents hosted a pre-celebration bar-b-que on the lovely grounds. The cabins are clean, spacious and comfortable. The continental breakfast is fairly basic but welcomed. A few of the cabins back up to the expressway but noise is not a factor if you keep the rear windows closed at night. Overall, a very nice facility at a very attractive price. Everybody in our group had a great time. Highly recommended for reunions, weddings and other events. The bar-b-que was catered by Maple Street Catering in White River Junction and the tent, tables and chairs were provided by the local fire department. The whole thing could not have been nicer.

There is lots to do nearly including Fairlee and Morley lakes. The golf course at the Morley Resort is very picturesque and somewhat challenging, especially on the back 9. The ice cream stand (Utter Delight) behind the "Wings" convenience store is to die for. Forget the trip to Ben and Jerry's. This place is a must stop,. The Maple Walnot is incredable. The "Third Rail" Restaurant in Fairlee and The "Exit" Italian Restaurant up the road in Bradford are also worth a visit.

3  Thank Maryland_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2006

We enjoyed our stay in one of the quaint cottages, and appreciated that it came with a microwave and small refrigerator. Scott, the host, was very friendly and made us feel welcome.

However, we were surprised to realize that we were so close to the interstate highway, which definitely detracted from the experience. And the homebaked rolls for breakfast looked suspiciously like they had been taken out of a package and heated in the oven.

Overall, the stay was fine and it was a good value. Next time, I would look for someplace farther from the highway though.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank TucsonTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

My wife and I recently headed north from Connecticut for an overnight stay in Vermont. I stumbled upon the website for the Silver Maple Lodge and the prices seemed reasonable (especially the off-season “Last Minute Special” rate). Especially important for us is that a few of the cottages have fireplaces and all are pet-friendly.
The place is located by the highway, but the windows keep out the traffic noise. But when opened, it’s noisy. This could be a potential pitfall if visiting during the summer. But overall the cottages were delightful — quaint but also very modern. The wood even comes prestacked in the fireplace with newspaper and kindling, and they leave a bundle on the porch as replacement. The cottages are not separate, rather they are 2 adjoined units. Even so, noise from neighbors isn’t an issue as the walls are quite thick.
Scott, the owner, is a wonderful host. Very helpful. And Fairlee is convenient to Lake Morey, fine hiking trails, Dartmouth University and the beautiful Quichee Gorge area. Also, Montpelier is about a 45-minute drive away. The only major snag we ran into is almost everything in town (which isn’t a lot) closes early. Our dinner plans became whatever we could scrounge at the nearby gas station, as Leda’s, the restaurant next door, closed at 8. Other than that, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages

Address: 520 Route 5 South, Fairlee, VT 05045
Location: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range: $92 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Maple Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing