We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Morey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Morey Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the resort to celebrate our anniversary and really enjoyed the resort and surroundings.

First of all, the lake is amazing, and the mountains with the foliage made for spectacular views. The place itself is large with plenty of parking, situated basically right between the lake and the golf course with less than a minute walk to each from your room. There is a lounge that opens at 5pm, a small pool and jacuzzi area, a dining room, chairs by the lake, and much more.

Keep in mind that this is October, so it's right in between the summer activities and the winter activities. This is probably why we got such a good deal on travelzoo. We would have loved to swim in the lake, or go skiing and skating, or to take the pontoon tour of the lake (closed for season), etc. We did go hiking up Bald mountain - which was much harder than I expected but doable for anyone in average shape. It was over 3 miles long and ends at elevation of 1776 ft. The canoes and golf course were still available although we didn't partake.

The rooms were generally good - understand it's not a brand new luxury resort but it met all of our needs. We had a balcony overlooking the lake and the view made you forget any other small things that weren't perfect. The staff that we interacted with were all very helpful and pleasant.

My very small complaints: the restaurant food was a little disappointing and my pork chop was overcooked and a little tough (the maple butter was amazing though). Unfortunately, they only have prix fix now - not sure about the rest of the year. I would have preferred more choices of food and prices. The doors to the rooms don't allow you to turn the handle so that they close quietly - meaning you have to push hard to close it. This makes a slamming sound through the hotel in the morning, and unfortunately it's not avoidable. And finally, our room was above a huge heat pump or some other type fan that was very loud when it started up.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Lake Morey Resort, but just go in with the idea that you're going to a somewhat older resort that is not meant to be luxurious. I'd like to go back in the summer and golf/fish/hike/swim.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
A congratulations is in order for your anniversary. It is a 'in-between' time of the year as it is in most of Vermont. Soon the snow will be falling, and cold weather will freeze a solid sheet of ice on the lake. We typically offer a la carte dining during most of the year, however there are situations where a prix fixe menu seems effective, as was the case during your particular stay. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by the guest room doors, but know your general location of your stay enabling us to investigate. Please never hesitate to ask our staff with any issues during your stay as we can then send engineering and fix any issues immediately if necesary.
Anyway, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    83
    27
    17
    14
See reviews for
61
71
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The key to the beauty of this resort is Lake Morey itself, a real gem in Vermont's crown. We had upgraded to a lakeside room and it was definitely worth the extra money. The room was "big-city" small however, with an odd choice of questionably placed over-sized furnishings in an awkward space. The bathroom required a certain amount of grace in negotiating the entering and exiting of the room. Logistics aside, there are so many things outside of the room that will make your stay here so enjoyable. The amenities are free for the guests: Boats, bikes, a pool and hot tub, a pool table, a large gym, and a movie theater (sadly, only during the summer...). The golf course is beautiful and apparently includes a driving range. We found the dining room to be somewhat lacking in personality and found the food to be average, but that gave us a chance to explore other interesting options in the area the next night. We will remember our stay here with great fondness. It was a quiet and peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Request a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjhansen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for the review. Just to correct, though we formally schedule movies in the theater during the summer and certain weeks during the winter, we do show movies whenever a guest desires during these 'other' times.

Enjoy,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

A beautiful romantic place on the lake. We had a beautiful room with a view of the lake.( the rooftop put a little damper on it but still nice) The room was large & well decorated. The bed was comfortable. As much as the view of the beautiful fall foliage & the cozy room we also enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant, the only disappointment was that the only choice was the evening buffet ( I am not a big fan of buffets but this one was quite pleasing) The meats were of a high quality and well prepared, with a great view of the lake and grounds. As usual I did over eat, trying one of each of the decadent desserts.Yum. A trip on the lake in a canoe and a round of golf completed our very enjoyable weekend. We will go again to use the pool, Jacuzzi and gym (not time this trip) and spend more time on the water.

Room Tip: Get a Lake view room with a King size bed preferably 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I am pleased you had a memorable stay.
Thanks for taking the time and hope to see you again.

Until then,
Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A beautiful romantic place on the lake. When we checked in my wife and I were not happy with the room. It was a little small. We asked if we could up grade to a larger room. The front desk staff was very accommodating and found us a larger more spacious room- for no extra charge! Dinner was delicious and the wait staff very pleasant.. We even got to make our own apple cider. That was fun. The hotel reminded us of an old ocean liner. As we sat in the lounge next to the windows we expected to see the water go by. It was wonderful. We will certainly consider going back. Maybe this time we'll bring the kids as there is so much to do as a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks for the pictures. Looks like you received an upgrade to rm 215- quite a sizable room indeed. My father used to show reel to reel movies in the theater- its where I watched Jaws as an 8 year old; absolutely terrified me.

Anyway, hope to see you again

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a lovely room with a view of the length of the lake. The room was spotless & well decorated. The bed was comfortable. As much as the view & the cozy room we enjoyed our dinner in the on sight restaurant. The meals were of a high quality, well prepared, in an an environment with a not to be beaten view. We thought the food was very reasonably priced for a meal of this caliber. It was a perfect place for a quiet fall escape.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaisgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again.

Have a nice day,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay but one needs to be prepared to visit a rustic inn. OUr floors were tilted a bit and the door was squared off with a gap under the door and there were visible pipes in the room for sprinklers. The lake was beautiful and dinner was very good. We thought the golf course was a C-. The greens were decent but the tees and fairways need help.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staylor838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for the review. I will speak to my brother (course superintendent) regarding the tees/fairways and investigate your concerns.

Enjoy your day,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just spent 3 days 3 nights at the Resort although the Resort may seem a bit dated don't let it fool you my bed was wonderful Marriot quality . 60 of us golfed, ate and had a great time. Parked our cars on Thursday night and had everything we needed within walking distance till Sunday. Staff very good! Meals very good! Golf very good! Weather perfect!!! Thank you ( Didn't use room service or Spa heard they were good)

Room Tip: Garden View rooms were very big and comfortable, had a second floor room looked out over front entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRich17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
I am pleased your group had a wonderful stay. We greatly appreciated your patronage and were equally honored at your groups level of respect exhibited while at Lake Morey. We would love to see you again.

Thank you,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlee
7.0 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
21.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
17.1 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#2 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
20.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 8 in White River Junction
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Morey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Morey Resort

Property: Lake Morey Resort
Address: 1 Clubhouse Rd, I-91, Exit 15, Lake Morey, Fairlee, VT 05045-9805
Location: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Morey Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Morey Resort is located in the picturesque Connecticut River Valley directly off I-91 (exit 15) in Fairlee, VT. The resort sits right on the shores of Lake Morey offering breathtaking views. The resort, originally built in 1905 offers 133 guest rooms with many different room types to choose from. In addition to clean, comfortable guest rooms the resort boasts an 18-Hole Championship Golf Course, boating, biking, hiking, and tennis for the warmer months. When winter arrives guests can enjoy the Lake Morey Skating Trail, the longest maintained skating trail in the U.S. In addition to the 4.5 mile skating trail the resort also has a full line of Nordic skate rentals along with figure and hockey skates. Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, sledding, access to the VAST snowmobile trail system round out the winter fun. The Lakeside Dining Room with spectacular views of Lake Morey and the surrounding mountains serves breakfast and dinner daily during season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. We work closely with local vendors to provide our guests with the freshest ingredients possible. The Steamboat Lounge is open daily during the season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. Many nights you will find live entertainment from some of the area's most talented musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lake Morey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Morey Hotel Fairlee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing