We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Morey Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Morey Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Fairlee B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I live in NH and was looking for a place where my husband and I could spend some time with relatives visiting from VA and, fortunately, I chose Lake Morey Resort. I feel that some of the reviews of this resort do not do it justice and I am glad that I did not let those reviews steer me away. We were not able to book lake view rooms because we wanted rooms next to one another and only garden view rooms were available, but the rooms were clean, spacious, bright, quiet and comfortable, so were were more than satisfied. We would have preferred a king bed to the double beds, but that was no big deal. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the grounds of the resort are very well maintained. Even if we had not liked everything else about the resort as much as we did, the lake would have won us over anyway! The view is beautiful, the water warm and the free canoes, kayaks and paddle boards are great fun. If the weather is not cooperating, there is plenty to do inside as well, including entertainment in the lounge at night. The guests while we were there ranged in age from toddlers to septuagenarians or beyond and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as we were. It seems that many guests return annually to reunite with family and friends and we plan to do the same next summer ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Yes we do have a large contingent of family reunions spending a few days here at Lake Morey reconnecting. It is certainly our goal to ensure all guests experience the joys of Lake Morey. Thanks for the review, and we'll see you next summer.

Enjoy,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    83
    27
    17
    14
See reviews for
61
71
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hello Lake Morey Resort,
Don & I want to thank all the staff involved who helped to make our very first trip to Vermont Aug 2 thru 4 an electricfying experiance :). We drove over 1000 elelctric miles to do a Mount Washingtin Climb for the weekend. We cannot say enough for the graciousness everyone showed us!
We shared with all our friends, that joined us for the Sunset Climb, what a wonderful experience we had at Lake Morey. The Resort not only has a sweet charm of the mountains but the rooms are clean and the food is great. This resort is super friendly to all the electric car peeps! Its plug is located at a garage on the property and the perfect location when driving from PA to Vermont or further. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angel21125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It was very nice meeting you, and thanks for answering my many Tesla questions. Hopefully by the time of your next arrival there will be expanded supercharging networks in our neck of the woods. But in the meantime, our juice will always be complimentary for all electrical owners.

Cheers,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Beautiful views from the room over Lake Morey.
Service at reception was good and helpful. The rooms are a bit old, but big and with good space. Noisy air conditioning. Decoration reminds me the 80's but, one very important thing... everything works!
Breakfast buffet was average but, again... it works.
Not a fancy Hotel but if you need a place to stay in the area it is definitely thy place.
I didn't come to play golf.
I've seen some customers saying is an over rated Hotel and I probably agree but.... I will return!.

Room Tip: Don't miss the ones with lake views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepeGoteras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for your overall feedback. What I would love is some more individualized description. For example, last year I received feedback about the age of our televisions, the quality of our guest room doors, and our key card system. So our capital projects last year included replacing/updating these precise items.
Each Winter we invest our resources to continually maintain the Resort. The projects we choose are a result from direct feedback from our Guests. Descritive feedback results in immediate change as this Resort is for all the public; I am simply a steward maintaining the ship.

Thank you,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

For the past several summers, we’ve spent a few days at Lake Morey Resort as part of Parent's Weekend at a local camp. We are very pleased with the accommodations and it is a great place to relax after a full-day of visiting the kids at camp. You can swim in the lake or take out one of the free boats or canoes. I’d recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillbsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for the recommendation. Please be aware next year's (2014) camp weekend is very close to full occupancy so please book early.

Hope to see you again,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

...and just as relaxing and enjoyable as the first. Staff is gracious, resort is clean, and rooms - although some more spacious than others - are all comfortable, spotless and well-stocked. Do select a lake-side room. The large picture window provides the perfect opportunity to just stare at the scenery and relax. The grounds are impeccably maintained; the golf course was in beautiful condition and on this visit, not particularly crowded. Dining staff is polite; food is delicious. You don't have to worry about leaving the table hungry! My only complaint is the choice of location for the computer. It was moved from a room overlooking the lake to the reception area. Not only is the light poor, but one feels like being in a fish bowl. Looking forward to visit number 6!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lounge. Otherwise, if there is evening entertainment, you could be dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl33814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
And thank you for your continued patronage. A very helpful observation- we incorporated the game room in place of the computer room this past spring; thereby relocating the public computer. We were weary of the 'fishbowl effect' with its present location near the front desk. The lighting can/will be easily resolved, and we will continue to investigate other alternative locations in the lobby area.

Hope to see you again,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our golf group has been going to Lake Morey for 13 years now, It is the PERFECT spot for us. Large comfortable rooms to relax in after our golf. Delicious food. Just a great spot for our needs.Looking forward to our next trip in just 2 weeks!!! The resort is old but that just adds to its charm and is well maintained. We enjoy every aspect of our time there from the golf, food accommodation, lake and entertainment. (love the trivia night) They have done a nice job adding amentities, like the spa/gym area. Waitstaff is friendly and work hard to make your dining an enjoyble experience Golf staff is very friendly and helpful as well.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, make sure you get one that is not over the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmg320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Owner at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
It would be an understatement to say how much we appreciate your dedication these past 13 years. I'm sure you have gotten to know our staff over these years, from Bill, Justin, and crew at the Clubhouse to Jon, Theresa, Joe, and our waitstaff.
We look forward to welcoming you in a couple weeks.

Until then,

Mark Avery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Rooms are clean and the location on the lake is beautiful. Wish I had been able to stay for more than one night and did not have to work! Only "complaint" is how thin the walls are. You can here everything that occurs in the hallway and rooms next to you.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Howiethedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark A, Public Relations Manager at Lake Morey Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
I thought I would give myself a new title; trip advisor gives me so many selections of various titles to choose and I thought this sounds really official.

Glad you had a nice stay. Various sections of the hotel were built from 1905 with subsequent additions during the 40's, 50's, and 80's. Our soundproofing could not be compared to a recently built hotel. However we consistently aim to make sure all our guests are respectfull to one another when it comes to their audible levels.

Have a great day,

Mark Avery, P.R.M.

(I've never used an acronym after my name, I feel pretty cool)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlee
6.9 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
21.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
17.1 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
White River Inn and Suites
White River Inn and Suites
#5 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Morey Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Morey Resort

Property: Lake Morey Resort
Address: 1 Clubhouse Rd, I-91, Exit 15, Lake Morey, Fairlee, VT 05045-9805
Location: United States > Vermont > Fairlee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fairlee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Morey Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Morey Resort is located in the picturesque Connecticut River Valley directly off I-91 (exit 15) in Fairlee, VT. The resort sits right on the shores of Lake Morey offering breathtaking views. The resort, originally built in 1905 offers 133 guest rooms with many different room types to choose from. In addition to clean, comfortable guest rooms the resort boasts an 18-Hole Championship Golf Course, Waters Spa, boating, biking, hiking, and tennis for the warmer months. When winter arrives guests can enjoy the Lake Morey Skating Trail, the longest maintained skating trail in the U.S. In addition to the 4.5 mile skating trail the resort also has a full line of Nordic skate rentals along with figure and hockey skates. Snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, sledding, access to the VAST snowmobile trail system round out the winter fun. The Lakeside Dining Room with spectacular views of Lake Morey and the surrounding mountains serves breakfast and dinner daily during season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. We work closely with local vendors to provide our guests with the freshest ingredients possible. The Steamboat Lounge is open daily during the season and most weekends and school vacation weeks in the winter months. Many nights you will find live entertainment from some of the area's most talented musicians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Morey Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Morey Hotel Fairlee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing