We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT place”
Review of Marble Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marble Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Fair Haven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rutland, Vermont, United States
1 review
“What a GREAT place”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

What a great place in a fantastic location-I unfortunatly did not have the opportunity to stay the night but was able to use the premises for a bit of filming. The Inn was heated at a respectable temperature as it was really cold thatday-The owner was very nice and had let us use what living areas we needed in our film. There are a few local reseteraunt in there area as well as a bar in town all within a walking distance which puts this Inn at a key location-its also close to Castleton State College as well as Green Mountain College and only about 20 miles from Rutland and maybe 35 miles from Pico, Killington, and Okemo for those who like to ski and snowboard. Would most definitely return for furture stays and of course more filming for upcoming film audtions. Thanks a bunch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPomfret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    19
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
61
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

OK the breakfast was great. Really great - Sharon should open a breakfast restaurant. But give up on the inn. The temperature was in the teens outside, and our room had no heat (we heard a lot of complaints from Sharon about the contractor who never came to fix the boiler); the space heater we were given worked very hard to keep it at 59 degrees in there. And those fireplaces that figure so prominently on the website? no luck - they can't be used (more complaining from Sharon, this time about fire regulations). The bathroom was freezing and cheaply done with plastic shower stalls. Furnishings were hit or miss -- plastic model of a turtle on the mantelpiece, frames with original pictures (as in they came with the frame) on the wall. There was no one else at the inn (we heard complaints about that, too). A smart innkeeper would have made sure none of this mattered: she would have let us sleep in a room that had heat and watch TV in our room (the other TV room was also unheated); would have comped us some of the cost because of the inconvenience; would have fired the furnace guy and hired one who would actually do the work; would not have complained to us about how much it cost to heat the place when we didn't even have heat; would not advertise "you can sit by the fireplace" if there is no fire to be had!!! Along with all this, there was no maid service! So I really don't understand all these positive reviews.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank chezqueux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

The marble structure, fire places and setting are beautiful and amazing if you are not from marble country. The Inn is furnished and decorated beautifully. Sharon is welcoming and very accommodating. This is THE best breakfast of any B&B I have stayed at!! Popovers, egg cups and the egg souffle was to die for!!!! What a way to start your day before setting off on a walk, hike or trip in the area. We arrived in the afternoon so low tea was a refreshing and warming break after driving for almost 4 hours. Music, hot tea and a beautiful Christmas tree made for a relaxing and comfortable hour. We look forward to returning with some friends and hope to get in some snow shoeing!
Cheryl and Lynn

Room Tip: Second floor front rooms have great views and lots of natural light as they have 4 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWhitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend here when we had to travel to Vermont for a friend's wedding. Even though the Marble Mansion Inn was a bit of a distance from where the wedding was to be held, we chose it on the strength of the reviews, and we are so glad that we did! The house is beautiful and historic; the owners could not have been nicer or more helpful; and the breakfast was honestly one of the most delicious, home-cooked meals of our lives. We were so sad that we were not able to enjoy the afternoon tea service because of the wedding, but the owners were kind enough to save some cake for us for the following breakfast. All told, we could not have enjoyed our stay more and we highly recommend this inn to anyone who will be in Vermont or who just wants to take a relaxing and romantic get-away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

What a delight to be able to stay in this 144 year old marble mansion. It is certainly worth your time to venture "off the beaten path" to be a guest is this piece of history right on the town square. But don't be concerned about the age, as there are all the modern conveniences that you would desire. Considering that we were the only two guests in the Inn (since it was midweek and off season), we were quite surprised to see the multitude of choices for breakfast.....too many to taste all of them, but the ones we had were wonderful. You won't go wrong with a night or two in this mansion.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is a beautiful historic home that is tastefully furnished and conveniently located on the town square. Our spacious room was quite comfortable. Our hosts were extremely attentive and accommodating, friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious! We will definitely stay again when anywhere near Fair Haven. As "porch-sitters" we look forward to the completion of the rennovations so that we can enjoy our afternoon tea on the expansive porch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I were traveling from Vermont to Maryland with a trailer in tow when our car broke down in Fair Haven on a stormy summer night. Our car gave out directly in front of the Marble Mansion Inn just as I was searching on my smartphone for motels nearby. We noticed the vacancy sign and decided to see how much a room would be in the beautiful inn before us. The owner was very gracious in spite of our unexpected arrival late in the evening, and showed us two of the gorgeous rooms which were available at an amazing rate. We took one of the rooms and were able to develop a strategy for continuing our trip after taking a relaxing shower and spending a very restful night in the clean, fresh, comfortable room. In spite of the fact that we were attired in our “travel clothes”, we were welcomed by the owner to a beautiful, elegant sunny back porch where a fabulous breakfast was served, and we learned about the history of the place. We could not have asked for a nicer place to stay if we had been looking for a quiet weekend away and it did wonders to soothe our frazzled nerves due to the circumstances of our arrival.
If you are looking for a B&B in southern Vermont .... the Marble Mansion Inn will not disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fair Haven
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rutland/Killington
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rutland-Killington Area
20.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Days Inn Rutland/Killington Area
15.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Trolley Square
16.8 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites Rutland-Killington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marble Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Mansion Inn

Property: Marble Mansion Inn
Address: 12 W Park Pl, Fair Haven, VT 05743-1224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Fair Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fair Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marble Mansion Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience historic elegance in this circa 1867 French Second Empire Vermont Bed & Breakfast on the village green in Fair Haven, Vermont. You are invited to come enjoy and unwind in the opulence of a 19th century marble mansion and marvel at twelve foot high ceilings decorated with intricate Georgian style plaster crown moldings & ceiling medallions, and the twin marble fireplaces in the double-parlor with gleaming herringbone pattern wood floors and crystal chandeliers. In the morning, dine like royalty with our gourmet buffet breakfast served on antique Havilland china from Limoge, France and Lunt sterling silver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marble Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marble Mansion Hotel Fair Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing