We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and beautiful Vermont Park”

Half Moon State Park
Attraction details
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and beautiful Vermont Park”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Half Moon State Park offered camping sites, cabins, boat rentals, fire wood and easily accessible rest rooms. Everything was clean, quiet and beautiful. The folks around us were respectful of the 'quiet' with reading/board games/paddling/hikes on nearby trails. The pond is not ideal for swimming, best used with canoe or kayak. Nearby is Glen Lake - a good swimming place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithfamily09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for camping with kids”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pros
1) Very scenic. Lake, fog etc.
2) Ground condition is excellent and well groomed. Firewood available to buy on-site
3) Hot shower available at 10c/min
4) Clean bathroom
5) Boat rental available and cheap (<$10/hr or $20+ all day)
6) Beach for swimming. Not cold at the end of August.
7) Few mosquitoes or flies. Still plenty of fireflies at night.
8) Dumpster available
9) There are many ponds and lakes around for swimming.

Cons
1) Water is not very clear, but OK for swimming. A lot of lotus.
2) Lack a longer trail. The pond is quite small for serious hiking, but trails are well maintained.


Overall, highly recommended. Ideal for staying with kids.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best state park in Vermont - don't go there - we want it to ourselves!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Campsites on the water. Perfectly clean and well maintained. Beavers, owls, frogs, chipmonks, etc.. very wonderful place. We have been going for 22 years.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank naturegirlcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Marshy shallow pond”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I love camping in VT state parks. However, I did not like this campground. The pond is shallow and weedy. The campground is not good for bicycling. The amenities are mostlyon the other side of the pond from the camping sites. The bathroom building is new and well maintained.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Mushrooms and Great Views”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at Half Moon State Park for 4 days by myself in early September 2011. The lake was beautiful and full of birds, snakes and salamanders. I also saw the most amazing collection of mushrooms that I've ever seen. There were only one other group of campers there when I was there, so it was a great place to be alone and enjoy nature.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Half Moon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing