We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, met my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Value, met my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family stayed here for 3 nights while in Burlington for a family reunion. We ended up only being at the hotel from 10 pm to 10 am on the days we were there. We didn't use the pool or try the breakfast. Check in and check out was quick and easy. The suite was large, clean, and comfortable. I did forget to bring my own cable for the wifi, but someone from the front desk brought one up to us. While the lobby is air conditioned the hallways on second floor were not and had a hot musty feel/smell, but once we stepped into a room everything was fine. The location was very convenient and at $82.82 (tax included) per night over the Fourth of July holiday, I think this was a good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ru2020bmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    130
    60
    27
    24
See reviews for
169
92
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I've stayed in quite a few hotels/motels and this has been my worst stay. Girl at reception was not receptive, we felt like we were disturbing her. Tried to use wi-fi in lobby which she said would work only in lobby with password but that didn't work and there was no attempt to help. We weren't even greater upon arrival. It was so hot hot in the hallways. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Air conditioning only in the living room part of the room so quite hot in the sleeping arena. She chairs at the table looked so dirty I wouldn't sit on them. So overall for the price it wasn't worth it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinknif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

So yes, the two star rating is very accurate about this property. It is worn and outdated, the hallways had no air conditioning on, there is no wi-fi. It is your very basic hotel room for a good nights rest. I didn't appreciate the hollering from what I can presume to be obnoxious drunk men from the balcony, but that can't be the hotels fault.

The very first night I was there the internet would not allow me to open more than two pages. I couldn't check my email, couldn't do a thing. I had to drive about 15 minutes to the nearest Starbucks the next day and get some things accomplished. The second night, it started working thankfully as I had things to plan for my next stop. They will provide you with an internet cable for a $10 deposit. No need to bring your own unless you feel so inclined.

I gave this property a generous "3" because the room was so large. It was nice to have a kitchen, sink, microwave, dining table, and all of the rest in room. I was pleasantly surprised by this when I arrived.

It is within close proximity to the major highway and "good eating" is about 15 minutes or so away. No fast food or quick bites anywhere around. 1 or 2 mom and pop places nearby but they closed super early on the weeknights I was there.

One staff member was friendly, while the other seemed to always look at me crooked. I don't know what the deal was with that.

If you are a motorcyclist, BEWARE. I saw one biker flat on his back on day one, nailed by someone and the following day I witnessed another get completely taken out by an SUV at the intersection right next to the hotel.

Bottom line: It will do the job, but take the two stars for what it's worth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanLando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

My general experience is that the quality of a stay at any hotel starts at the reception desk. At 'Handy Suites', we were treated very well by friendly and courteous staff. The rooms are very large, in comparison with many other hotels, and couple easily have accommodated a large family in comfort. The location is a short ride from the attractions offered by downtown Burlington, but in the evening provides a quiet haven. Breakfast was basic, but provided the necessary caffeine kick for the next part of the journey.

Room Tip: Don't know if there is anything that would constitute a 'poor' room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We spent 2 nights and we are very satisfied, moreover that the price was pretty fair! The lady at the front desk (Christina) was very friendly and nice to us. We were surprised by the size of the suite, huge room, fully equiped kitchen, dining and living. It was also very clean (we always inspect bed, coach and bathroom). Ok, not ultimate designer furniture, but well maintained.
Easy acces to the pool with extra towells, basic breakfast. Easy to find place.
We will not hesitate to choose this place again when returning in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We got a really nice and big room. We just stayed one night. It is close to the bus stop and a bus away from the Amtrak station.

It is very cheap.

Room Tip: None. We just stayed for a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SramSrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We've liked the place. Two rooms, kitchenette, even 2 TVs. In outskirts of Burlington, 10 mins driving. Clean, friendly, quite. Will gladly stay again.
If anything needs to be improved:
- Too warm and stuffy in the hallway;
- Swimming pool in the morning is used for classes;
- Stale English muffins at breakfast, 5 days outdated.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeBor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
2.8 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Burlington
Hampton Inn Burlington
#1 of 5 in Colchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.0 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#6 of 11 in South Burlington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area
Address: 27 Susie Wilson Rd, Essex, VT 05452-2802 (Formerly Handy Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handy Hotel Essex Junction
Baymont Inn & Suites Essex Burlington Area Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing