We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, worse service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cody's Irish Pub & Grille

Cody's Irish Pub & Grille
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Essex
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average food, worse service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was a disappointing experience for four of us. Took a long time to get served and longer to get only average food. Would think twice about trying this place again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carrottop4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    16
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
1 review
“Service turned us off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

When we went to Cody's we were offended by the rudeness of the waitress. She was short with us and acted like we were putting her out by asking for stuff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 57256Kimmyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was a nice place, but busy. The meals were filling. Standard pub fare. Beer was good. It's nicely located to the shopping area and the Essex Inn. I'd go there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Try the Onion Rings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We've been to Cody's several times and we recently met friends there for dinner. The service and the food were both ok, nothing fantastic but nothing terrible either. The menu is a little bit tough if you are dieting or trying to eat healthy. I substituted the fries for a salad but the salad was very tiny and mostly iceberg lettuce with one cherry tomato and one cucumber. One thing I'm not fond of is that they have very few "booth" style tables and the rest of the tables are very close to one another. Also, they don't take reservations unless you have 5 or more people. On the flip side, my husband gets the burger and onion rings and says both are very good. When not dieting, I like the fish & chips.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank snickerseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“close to our house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I always get the same thing. Buffalo chicken salad with blue cheese (they make the dressing) its fine with a beer (black and tan)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Irish Pub & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Cody's Irish Pub & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing