We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can almost hear the ocean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Seafood Market

Ray's Seafood Market
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Essex
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
SOUTH BURLINGTON
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You can almost hear the ocean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you love fried seafood you'll love Ray's. I'm 50+ and I still love to visit the lobsters in their tank. Great seafood and the best take home fresh uncooked seafood for you very own creations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerryyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“AWESOME FRESH SEAFOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Some I'm from the Southwest Area, and Fresh Seafood is unheard of. The only seafood that we receive is trucked in, and frozen. I was here on a work related venture and encountered Ray's... A co-worker and I opted out of buying dinner made somewhere for the night, and purchased Live lobsters... I had never steamed a live lobster before, but once you get over the fact that you are killing this living creature it wasn't so bad! They were great, and tasted even better than I expected. Price was too bad, and like I said the availability was what blew me away. Gotta love that east coast living...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Just Fun o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great seafood for takeout and creemees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I find their menu items to be only OK other than the freshness of the seafood. nothing special with the sides and brown and serve rolls. Salads are just iceberg. My husband loves the Lazy Man Lobster. But they'll steam your lobster for you to take home if you don't want to eat there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vermonterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good selection of seafood in the Burlington burbs.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I ate there recently with a large group. They have a decent selection of fried and broiled seafood options. I had the walleye, which must be a seasonal special. The fish was very good, but I've also never had walleye before. Sides of potato wedges and coleslaw were fine. Generous portions for everyone in the group. A side of calamari we shared was awful. Box-quality, dry, over-fried. Too bad for a fish market. I didn't hear anyone complaining about anything else. The folks I went with frequent this restaurant, namely for the reasonable prices and casual atmosphere. It's basically a restaurant in a fish market, so forget any ambiance. No table service and no alcoholic drinks. They do a brisk business regardless.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DinnerTroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fish store”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

The prices were a bit high for the raw seafood. Just a place to eat.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank gobbynkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing