We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was alright”

Ray's Seafood Market
Ranked #5 of 70 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
VT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was alright”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I must say, I only ate here once so can't give a complete review, but the time my wife and I ate there the food was just ok. We were dissapointed becuase this place looks so good and everything smelled really good there but the food was just average and a little soggy.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee Fl.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very good food cooked to order and a great value for the price! Highly recommend Rays Seafood Market!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c3kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointing fish and chips”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I don't like to give a restaurant a poor review after only one meal there. After all, it could have been a one-time error. I have tried this place twice, 2 years apart, on visits to Essex Junction, and sad to say, both times it was disappointing. The eat-in part is unattractive; both times I was there, only one other table was occupied. I ordered the Capt.'s plate of fried perch and fries to take out this time. I consider fish and chips a treat, because I don't often have it, and I seek out good fish-and-chip places wherever I go. This one is near the Handy Suites, so probably gets some business from guests who stay there. The perch had little taste, and the fries were not crisp. The tartar sauce is very good (best part of the meal actually), but only a miniscule amount comes with the order, and they charge for extra tartar sauce. Come on guys! That's insulting. Next you'll be charging for ketchup. I won't return to this place. Do yourself a favor and go to the nearby Bagel Place, across from Handy Suites, and order the New Yorker, which is a GREAT smoked salmon, onion, and caper bagel sandwich, loaded with thick flavorful salmon and a bargain at about $7. A much better deal, and you can eat in at pleasant tables or take out. Don't waste your money on this fish and chip place which will cost you more!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Fresh, but, not for eating in there”
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Unfortunately, Ray's is more a fast-food take-out then a true restaurant. The meal I tired was bland of flavor, the sauces served with my fish meal seemed out of a can and totally devoid of any real flavor or snap, and the potato wedges served as a side dish were stored in a heated cabinet and tasted like reheated leftovers and mushy. For $20 or so, you can eat out at a fine restaurant and enjoy a much better prepared meal with sauces and sides made fresh and food prepared with care and having much better flavor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalEater57257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 31, 2008

The food is excellent, the service is nice. It's not the most beautiful environment, but it's too good for anyone to care about that! As a person who doesn't typically care for seafood, I must say that there are still great selections to choose from. Their chicken is also very good. The prices are great for the amount of fresh food and the amount of food you get, even in the smaller portions is well worth the go!

Helpful?
Thank A_Brittle_Soul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to Ray's Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing