We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Italian food.”

Mimmo's Pizzeria & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 70 Restaurants in Essex
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Olney, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not the best Italian food.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had high hopes for this place. I ordered the pizza with pesto sauce. Shockingly, the pesto was the jarred variety. How difficult is it to make real pesto? The guy at the bar was also singing off-key Italian songs which got a little tedious. Children's pasta was alright, although how can you mess up pasta? I wouldn't bother going there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalnomad12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Down right rude !”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The server was rude and food was mediocre . And it seemed the waiter knew more than we did .The owner is pompous . Customer service is not their priority . Putting out pizza and making money is . And the customer pays in more ways than just his wallet . I was better off going to Dominios , where I would have known what i was paying for , with a smile and thank you from the cashier . Go to Leonardos in Burlington

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT Gluten Free PASTA”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is the best Gluten Free Pasta I have had at a restaurant. We went here because the wait at The Essex Tavern was too long. Yes the service is a bit off per the other comments but the Gluten Free pasta was amazing. The GF pizza is not worth ordering Vermont has a lot of GF pizza this is one of the worst but the pasta was perfectly cooked the portions were large. They needed some pepper and parm but to me I would rather have to add flavor then have it overly yucky flavored. I would go back in a heart beat just for that pasta. The salads looked good as well our friends ordered one. The only other negative was it was really warm in there but it was hot out side so that could have been part of the reason.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lambsidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good place for family.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Bring the entire family because there will be something everyone loves. This restaurant is an upgrade to your usual pizza joint. We have dined there probably once a month for the past 5 years! Kids menu is great because your kiddos can have tortellini alla panna or with butter or with sauce or any other pasta for that matter... really whatever suits them. Pizza is a little pricey, but very tasty. Pastas are also pricey, but always delicious. My husband ordered the special last night and had pasta with cherry tomatoes, shrimp, and ??? in cream sauce for $15.99. That price was high for what appeared to be 6 shrimp sauteed in a delicious sauce....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, very slow service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Food is great! But honestly the service is probably the worst I've ever had at any restaurant. So slowwwww! Everytime! The waitresses never seem to care anymore. New Year's Eve our table was ignored for 45 minutes. Beware.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrix15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mimmo's Pizzeria & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mimmo's Pizzeria & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing