We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top (and not in a good way)”
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Essex
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the best of pub fare served in a casual setting. The Tavern at The Essex features an expanded bar area along with seasonal patio seating adjacent to the East Lawn and the Resort's vegetable and herb gardens, providing diners with a more secluded al fresco experience.The menu is inspired by the finest local ingredients, sourced from Burlington and nearby areas. Enjoy your meal with a selection from our award-winning wine list, our extensive list of VT microbrews, or a specialty cocktail. A children’s menu is available. Seating is first-come, first-served. Dress is casual. Gluten-free options are available.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Every restaurant should have at least one dish that is relatively mainstream. Excellent mainstream is a good thing. The Tavern has nice atmosphere and lots of creativity, but sometimes, I just want a steak or chicken breast that is cooked to perfection, with a nice sauce. The menu used to offer a filet with a choice of sauces, and it was lovely! I have a hard time with the current menu at the Tavern, and that is disappointing because I live so close to it. Every item on the menu has something "cutting edge" that just isn't what I'm looking for. The bar is great, and the wine list is nice. The fish and chips are more crust than fish and I strongly recommend against them. If your taste is for uber-creative, you'll love this place. If you want an excellent meal of something mainstream, you will be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snorkelandsnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear snorkelandsnorkel,

Thank you for being a frequent visitor of the Tavern. Chef Shawn Calley and his team are constantly tinkering with their menu and have a great time developing and preparing great food with great, fresh local ingredients. Chef Shawn's number one priority is to serve food his guests enjoy eating. Please do consider a return visit and please do ask your server to accommodate your request for a steak made your way....you will be pleasantly surprised by their willingness to make it happen.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 190 of 278 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place was the perfect restaurant to go too after a long day of skiing! My husband and I debated going out in Burlington for dinner, but we wanted to be able to relax and enjoy some cocktails, so we decided to stay in at the hotel. We were not disappointed! We found a seat and the bar and ordered drinks and an appetizer. Our waitress was friendly, the atmosphere was fun and relaxed and we were able to sit back and enjoy our drinks and dinner. I had the veggie sliders, which were so good, and my husband had the burger, which he loved!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meghan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Meghan W,

Thank you for choosing to end your day of skiing with us at the Tavern. Chef Shawn Calley and his team love hearing stories like yours. They take great pride in their preparations as well as the ingredients. The Veggie Sliders are part of their new menu and the bread is made by our in-house bakery. Good stuff!!

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

There were so many wonderful and different choices to choose from, that we over-ordered - so that we could try many things! Everything was delicious!

Thank ChristinaK4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear ChristinaK4444,

Thank you for writing this review as well as the others you have posted as a result of your stay. It is quite rewarding to hear such great positive feedback from our guests.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had dinner at the Tavern on the night that we checked into our room at the Essex Resort.

After our drive to the resort, we got settled in our room and relaxed a bit while we decided what to do for dinner. We thought about going out in Burlington, but we really felt like having some cocktails, and we decided stay in so we could walk back to our room.

We were very pleased with the menu selection, and we thoroughly enjoyed our choices! We were hungry, and the food was fantastic and clearly made in house to order. The server was working a full section, but the service was attentive and the pace was just right. Our food was served hot, and the quality of the ingredients were above average.

The restaurant is clean, visually attractive and is precisely what I would call a tavern, but upscale. There is a large bar in the middle with dining tables around the perimeter. There appears to be a patio with outdoor seating, but we were there in February.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenlevity63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Director of Resort Operations at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Jenlevity63,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere, quality of the food and service at the Tavern. Our Culinary team does a great job using local products. In the warmer months we do have an outdoor tented patio that is within sight of our Chef's Garden. They grow many tasty ingredients right on property.

Please visit again in the spring time and relax in a hammock after your meal.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised at the menu offerings, the attentiveness of the wait staff, and the quality of the food. My wife chose a vegetarian mock duck entree, and since she requires very little oil in her diet to reverse heart disease, the chef prepared it without oil - a very professional offering. I enjoyed fish and chips and it was among the best I have had. We would go back soon to try some of the other eclectic choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear FJDriver,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to recognize the associates who provided great service to you. This has been shared with them as well as your mention of the quality of the food presented to you. Our Director of Culinary Operations, Shawn Calley, takes great care to purchase the freshest, highest quality ingredients from his network of purveyors. Recently, Shawn and his team were awarded the Golden Barn Honor from the VT Fresh Network for their commitment to locally sourced fresh foods.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing