We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle Eastern To Die For!”
Review of Istanbul Kebab House - MOVED

Istanbul Kebab House
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Turkish food is a true fusion of many different cultures, a collage of different cuisines so to speak. Turkey, geo-physically located as a bridge between Europe and Asia, has been a melting pot of many civilizations since the beginning of history. Once the land of Hittites and the Greeks, it later became the home of the Turks, a nomadic peoples. Therefore, its cuisine is not only a collage of all the cultures that lived in Turkey throughout history, but also a collage of cuisines from all the lands Turks lived before settling in what was then called Asia-Minor. Today's Turkish cuisine is a fusion of Turkic, Ottoman, Greek, Persian, Arabic, Lebanese, and Armenian cooking that can be defined as a true and unique Mediterranean food experience. Turkish food, as most Mediterranean food, relies heavily on appetizers called "mezes" and especially the freshest of ingredients. Although it has many meat specialties, it is predominantly based on fresh vegetables. Therefore, it offers a perfect combination of vegetarian and meat dishes, appealing to a broad spectrum of the eating public.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Authentic is authentic gets for awesome delicious Turkish / Middle Eastern food. One wouldn't think much of this place but once you have a bite into one of their dishes, you'll be saying, "Oh My God, this is amazing"! Try the puffy Lavash bread with a side of Haydari which is a homemade Turkish yogurt mixed with spices and other great stuff. Also, share a plate of the Mixed Kebab Grill. It has a great selection of meats, and delicious sides. Price wise, it's a little on the high side but for a once in a while special treat, you can't go wrong here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SkydogVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for dining with us and supporting our small business! Our family is very happy to share our cuisine and culture with you. Your kind words are what keeps us going every day! See you again soon!

Our Best,
Istanbul Kebab House
Oktay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was so looking forward to different flavors and ethnic food. The Falafel was very dry and crumbly. The chicken kebab was tender, but without taste. On the positive note, the staff was friendly enough, but that can't make up for the bland food we were served. Don't think we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pizzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for dining with us and supporting our small business! Our family is very happy to share our cuisine and culture with you. Your kind words are what keeps us going every day! See you again soon!

Our Best,
Istanbul Kebab House
Oktay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We celebrated UVM Graduation at Istanbul Kebab House last night and are so glad we did. We started with the appetizer that included a tasting of stuffed grape leaves, hummus, babaganoush, etc. It is served with a hot large puffy lavash bread. Delicious! We tried different entrees from kebabs and dumplings. Dessert was an AMAZING apple maple baklava. Service was excellent. We will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank milliegordon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for dining with us and supporting our small business! Our family is very happy to share our cuisine and culture with you. Your kind words are what keeps us going every day! See you again soon!

Our Best,
Istanbul Kebab House
Oktay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Tastes exotic yet familiar, friendly, personal service - I first went with my daughter, to check it out before meeting friends there - We were taken over by the good vibes from our server (she and her husband, he's the chef, own the place), and left happy and with way-too-full bellies. It was clear that the food was a reflection of a devoted and talented chef.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guthrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for dining with us and supporting our small business! Our family is very happy to share our cuisine and culture with you. Your kind words are what keeps us going every day! See you again soon!

Our Best,
Istanbul Kebab House
Oktay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A nice restaurant specializing in Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine. The food is authentic and delicious and the owner, Vural Oktay, is super nice, humble, and explains the dishes in detail if you are unsure. It's one of the few hidden gems in the greater Burlington area. Yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SkydogVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IstanbulKebabHouse, Owner at Istanbul Kebab House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for dining with us and supporting our small business! Our family is very happy to share our cuisine and culture with you. Your kind words are what keeps us going every day! See you again soon!

Our Best,
Istanbul Kebab House
Oktay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Kebab House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing