We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chef Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amuse - CLOSED

Amuse
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Amuse offers sophisticated dining in a casual restaurant atmosphere. Our menu draws inspiration from the finest local, seasonal ingredients, provided by the region's finest purveyors and harvested from our own organic gardens. We take great care in preparing your selection, to highlight the textures and flavors inherent to each element. Reservations are suggested.
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Chef Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The food was phenominal , breakfast in bed was perfect,an all american breakfast for me. Dinner was ribeye steak with potatoe cake and carrots DELICIOUS, what else can I say, enjoyed all the food selections.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roxy32164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want an adventure in dining go to Amuse. We were service amuse bouche and our waiter was amazing. The food is unique - but so good. My filet mignon could be cut with a fork. I did not eat the bone marrow offering but we sampled the beets salad - yum, the Vermont cheeses, Yum! and excellent wines suggested by our server.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2ManageVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Randolph, VT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not that great given a culinary school”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

food not hot
okay flavor
waitress was clearly hungover
price good if food had been hot
pastries at checkin for purchase were great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jadstrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nonexistent Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I had breakfast at the Amuse for 2 mornings. The first morning, I ordered 3 eggs sunny side up, bacon, potatoes, toast, orange juice, and coffee. Unfortunately, I never received my order. I could not locate my waitress, so I decided to go to the buffet line. The food was good. As I was completing my meal, my waitress showed up and apologized for the inconvenience. The second morning I went to the Amuse a half hour after they opened for business. The buffet food was ready, but there was not an employee to be found. I waited about 10 minutes before an employee showed up to seat me. After waiting another 5 minutes, a waitress showed up to take my order. I ordered the same meal as the day before. Unlike day one, this time I did receive my order. I had no complaints with the meal, as the food was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The different touch as a starter, excellent tasty meal. The service was very good and welcoming. The desert was fresh and to die for..... super meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amuse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing