We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hits the spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firebird Cafe

Firebird Cafe
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hits the spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

drove by many times and never thought about going here....what a mistake.
This little place has some great food! Went there on a Saturday morning for breakfast and was so surprised. From the minute you walk in your senses are pleasantly assaulted. There was a man, Eli, playing casually on a guitar and a young lady with a great smile to greet you. The menu selection was pleasing. The smells from the kitchen were wonderful. Had a delicious breakfast sandwich on a croissant with thick cut bacon, egg ,cheese and mexican sauce. A delight on your tongue! Home Fries were golden brown with a great spice on them. Can't wait to come back and try their sandwiches!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing local joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Have been there many times since I finally decided to stop in one day. I did not know what to expect, but I was more than pleasantly surprised! The coffee is local from middlebury and is unlimited with breakfast. Brewed strong and bold-just the way it should be. They have many options to choose from, but one should definitely try the supremo burrito, eggs Benedict (with poblano cream sauce instead of hollandaise), or the croissant French toast. Jake- the owner and chef mixes in a California fusion with fresh ingredients and favors that keep everyone returning. I just tried the iced mocha-made with rich vermont chocolate milk. This restaurant has become a weekend stable for my boyfriend and I.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidaylatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small cafe, big favors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just happened to drive by, 6 of us for lunch. Not much seating so gets crowded quickly. Food was delicious, everyone got something different, the tomatillo sauce on the fish tacos was amazing, and the steak and cheese divine.

The only low point - the hot specialty drinks were disappointing... Not hot enough, some drinks were barely even warm, and the chai tea was very watered down, I brought it back twice and finally gave up.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cute little cafe with good homemade food. If you are looking for a casual lunch with good quality (non cookie cutter) food, this is a great spot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, VT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stopped in here to grab a late lunch just before closing. I hate doing this but they insisted it was okay. I tried the pesto sandwich with the mozzarella and basil I believe, and another turkey sandwich. I cannot remember what exactly but all were delicious. I also took a cup of the daily soup which was a thai inspired coconut basil soup and it was as good as the real thing. The iced tea was fresh and so yummy. I didn't sit but it looks like a cozy atmosphere for a relaxing lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank aprilmae419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Firebird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing