We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly delicious breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firebird Cafe

Firebird Cafe
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Mexican, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazingly delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's not a cheap breakfast (over $30 for two people), but I would definitely go again! Fresh, delicious ingredients and complex flavors (especially in the sauces).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Cozy and very Vermont. Great breakfast with tons of selection. Good coffee, comfortable and friendly staff. Really great value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anewman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem in Essex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have steadily patronized the Firebird since 2011. They've never missed the target on the food they've served our guests and ourselves. The menu is a delight, inventive and cooked to order at all times. It does have limited seating but we admire how they've resisted getting bigger. It is nearly always slammed and deservedly so. The decor is always unique, from carved snakes to excellent photography. However, it is all about the food and they have never disappointed. Get to this place and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

First time here and will be back. Came for breakfast and will be back. Everything looked so good it was hard to chose. Super nice staff. There only about 20 seats so the wait can be long on weekends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Meunier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I cannot say enough about this little restaurant! This was our first time to the Firebird - breakfast at 9 on a Saturday. It was great!
It's reasonably priced, has some local ingredients (including coffee and dairy), the staff is awesome, it is not overly busy and loud, and the atmosphere is charming. Wait, I didn't even mention the food; both of our egg dishes were very well executed and quit large. (Huevos Rancheros with a wonderful green salsa and the chorizo omelet special with a roasted tomato salsa!)
This is going to be our new weekend breakfast place! Check it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vtviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebird Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Firebird Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing