We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and privacy are just minutes away from Burlington.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxation and privacy are just minutes away from Burlington.”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Essex in late 2010 while visiting from Philadelphia, and we were impressed with the resort overall and felt it was worth the price paid (which is not always true at B&Bs and some resorts).

The room itself had some nice touches, including one of the softest, most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, as well as small details such as the Kuerig one-cup coffee maker with organic coffee in each room. The room itself could've used some minor cosmetic touches, but nothing took away from the comfort and relaxation of the room, in my opinion. However, the one disappointment was the fireplace in the room. Expecting a gas log fireplace, we instead got a room with an electric "fireplace" that you would set for 30 min. much like a heat lamp in bathrooms, which would hum while running then shut off. The fireplace did not generate any heat, and we were unable to see or feel it from the bed. Granted, the fireplace was only an extra $20 per night, but it wasn't worth it.

The staff was immensely helpful, nice, and courteous, and we ate at both restaurants on site, and were very impressed. Having lived in NYC and eaten at several top-notch exclusive restaurants, we were very happy with all the meals we ate (breakfast and dinner), which often included local items and organic vegetables.

We also visited the spa, which was relaxing and enjoyable. It offers very nice facilities (similar to a high-end country club), which include an indoor pool, steam room with aromatherapy, sauna, an outdoor hot tub (which was very relaxing in 20 degree weather with the snow coming down), and a variety of treatments available. Even if you're on a budget, consider getting a 25 minute massage and use the spa's other facilities afterward. It was money well spent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    396
    171
    112
    56
See reviews for
268
735
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

The room was quaint and the decor was less elegant and more "New England". The food at the tavern was delicious, with a simple but well-rounded menu that had something for everyone. The Spa was a revelation, and the therapists top-notch. Staff was knowledgeable and courteous. Their knowledge extended beyond The Essex itself, offering us tips for shopping , fine dining and attractions across the entire Burlington and Green Mountain area itself. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biff151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Vermont is beautiful and the Essex is nice. It (the Essex) is not exactly what I was expecting from a AAA Four Diamond hotel. But it was not bad! Staff was nice, food was fine, hotel was clean but there were a lot of stains, paint chips, dings, dents, etc. Not bad, but not what we are accustom to with 4 star/4 diamond hotels. It is more along the lines of a 3 star hotel. Don't get me wrong, we would go back, but I will make sure I take them up on one of their frequent $99 internet offers.
However, we were very surprised/disappointed to learn that the New England Culinary Institute closed their Essex Campus and is no longer operating out of the Essex hotel. That was our main draw to the hotel.
It definitely has the VT charm. For $189 keep looking, for $89 you will love it...
Bring a warm jacket, hat and gloves cuz our heat did not work - kidding, heat worked and I even heard some rooms have fire places - it was 28 degrees outside.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Hi KendraOliver, Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate it.
I wanted to respond to your comments regarding NECI's departure. While NECI did indeed choose to consolidate their operations, The Essex is proud to offer award-winning dining with chefs who received their training from from the world's finest culinary schools, including NECI, the Culinary Institute of America, and Le Cordon Bleu. And we have actually expanded our Cook Academy program in the past year to offer a full array of fun, hands-on instruction in our two theater kitchens. The name NECI may no longer be on the building, but our devotion to providing a premier culinary experience is stronger than ever.
Collin Parker, Marketing Director - The Essex Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Just returned from a girls weekend at The Essex. We had a great time.
The Spa-the spa was wonderful. Very nice staff and the treatments I had were wonderful (Facial and hot stone massage). The spa food menu was a little sparse (not a lot of selection) but I ended up with a wonderful salmon ceasar salad.
The Room - my friend and I shared a room with 2 queen beds. The room was on the small side but nicely appointed and clean. The bathroom was also small but very clean and again nicely decorated.
We didn't eat in either of the restaurants but had some friends who did eat in The Tavern and enjoyed their meal. Food is locally sourced whenever possible. I did have a good margarita in the bar though!
Location is convenient to shopping. The Inn is located in a semi-suburban area next to an outlet mall and restaurants/grocery store.
I'd stay there again.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Wow, what an incredible place.

My wife, son, and I have just returned from a Thanksgiving Holiday visit to The Essex (which bills itself at 'Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa'), and we honestly couldn't have been more delighted.

From the minute you walk in the front door (which is charmingly adorned with all number of multi-lingual 'welcome' signs), you know you're somewhere different. This is not some cookie-cutter chain hotel, and it's also (thankfully) not an uber-pretentious Euro-style monument to fake hospitality, either. The Essex is simply (in a very good way) a charming, welcoming, lovely, and quite romantic escape in the foothills of Vermont's mountainside. The easiest comparison would be to a hundred-room Bed and Breakfast. It has perfectly captured the small-town Vermont feel and combined it with all the amenities (and more) that you would expect in a spa resort.

Food is the order of the day, with two restaurants plus a very extensive cooking 'school' program. I attended a class in 'Cook Academy' while my wife and son headed for the spa and indoor pool. The class was very fun (and frankly, not what I expected-- there's nothing academic about this academy. It's all about cooking while enjoying a few glasses of fine wine.)

My wife raved about the spa and pool. While she didn't get the chance to enjoy a treatment, she gushed about the fitness center and the indoor pool. Our son was very excited about the outdoor hot tub, which he said was bigger than his bedroom back home!

The staff was very friendly-- kudos expecially to Darcy at the Front Desk and Chef Carrie in Cook Academy.

The rooms are certainly very nice, though it was a little surprising that there wasn't a flat panel TV (it was a large traditional TV, instead), but in all fairness, there wasn't much time (nor much desire) to watch TV anyway... so I'm completely fine with the Inn putting their money to better use elsewhere (Spa, Pools, Restaurants, etc.)

All in all, it was one of the more lovely trips we've taken recently. And I have no doubt we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seentheworld26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Booked the room for November 23rd - after thoughtful consideration of the different room types, booked a king or two queen bed room. Received a small room with one full size bed. Still the place was quaint and we were running late so gave the Essex the benefit of the doubt. When we arrived back in our room (#223- avoid at all cost) a staff member was having a difficult time dropping things repeatly and cursing loudly down the hall. After a VERY noisy night in the room, which was so stuffy even though fans kept grinding on and off throughout the night, we both woke up to bug bites on our legs and arms. Upon leaving and when asked how the stay was, I politely told the front desk that the stay was not good. I was told I would be contacted. I still have not heard from mangagement, There are a lot of hotels in that area - pick one other than the Essex. Clearly the Essex is having difficulites this Fall based on the other reviews.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collegetravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Unique themed resort focused on good food with options for culinary classes. Highly recommends Spanish cooking class where they teach you how to make Sangria and Paella. There's a spa at the resort for those looking for relaxation. For those looking for active outdoor activities, next door to the resort is a business that will teach you rock climbing, ice climbing, and zip lining. On the same day, we drove to Burlington and rented bikes and rode around Lake Champlain. The resort is within driving distance to Stowe, VT. We drove to Camel's Hump and hiked up to the peak, a good decent day's hike up Vermont's 3rd highest peak.

The room was spacious, clean and quiet. There's a gas fireplace in the room. Bed was comfortable. WiFi available for free. There's supposed to be a bonfire every Saturday outside, but we missed it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thmdmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing