We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$154
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sonesta ES Suites Burlington(Williston)(Great Value!)
$119
$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$94
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
732
425
203
130
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
425
203
130
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classculinary resortculinary instituteoutlet malltavern restaurantmain buildingthe outdoor hot tubsteam roomtennis courtsgrounds are lovelyroom was largegreat weekendfitness centermanor buildingburlington areafire pitnew england
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

The quality of the hotel does not match their expensive price. Other than a very nice indoor lap pool, I wouldn't say this place was any nicer than a cheap Marriott. Most rooms lack any kind of view ( ours looked over the rooftops and into other peoples rooms) and the decor is a weird culinary theme - a sort of shadowbox with eggs and other food items hung over the headboard. Kudos though to a friendly hotel staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosita96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Junction restaurant fantastic food for foodies at a more than reasonable price! We loved every one of our unique, beautifully prepared and presented courses, fabulous homemade bread options, great open chef's kitchen. Spa is amazing, world class. If you are not in the remodeled rooms, rooms are definitely dated, stained wallpaper, etc. and definitely uninspired. Tavern restaurant mediocre quality, boring menu, with sometimes slow service though like that you can eat outside. Grounds are fun, bonfire on Saturday nights, goats. Good location for exploring everything in the greater Burlington area. We prefer the location to staying right in Burlington with all the crowds and it is easy to park in Burlington and visit the downtown for the day. Botton line: If you can get a good price go for it, book a spa appointment (20% off if you book 3 or more services) use steam room, sauna, pool too, and eat every dinner in Junction. For breakfast and lunch I would avoid the Tavern and go a few minutes down the road to the adorable Winooski center, just park and in the circle are 4-5 nice restaurant choices with outdoor seating.

Room Tip: Try one of the remodeled rooms because the ones that are not are a little depressing, lumpy beds, stained wallpaper, snore fest decor
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ArtLovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

This was my worst hotel experience ever in over 20 years of business and personal travel. We booked and paid for a room online one week before our planned stay (paying close to $300). When we arrived at 10pm (with our confirmation information and voucher in hand) after a long journey, we were told by the staff at the tacky and tiny front desk which doubles as a bakery/cafe--(in itself very shocking for a high end resort)-- that there was no room for us. The nice but inexperienced staff acknowledged that our reservation was in the system, but were not on the 'list' that day of those that were going to be honored!!. This is a large hotel and apparently they over-book as a policy. They then turn away the guests that got better rates on-line if they over-fill their rooms. While they told us they could not give us a room (and another family in the same situation) they checked in other guests who came in later but who had booked directly at a more expensive rate. I have never, ever been turned away after having a booked, confirmed and paid for reservation. We were going to be forced to sleep in our car. All nearby hotels were booked out because it was the University of Vermont freshman move-in day the following day. Luckily after an hour of scouring the web, my husband found us a hotel that did have a late night cancellation. Did the hotel offer to compensate us for all of our troubles? NO. They simply offered a refund for the night we had paid for and they did not honor. This is completely unacceptable. Hotel overbooking??? I never heard of it. Apparently the Essex Resort and Spa is following the example of the airline industry, only in contrast to the airlines, they don't even compensate you for the trouble they cause their guests who are stuck without a room late at night. The management even has a form letter all set and ready for the guests they turn away. The hotel charge is still on our credit card despite having called the hotel and being told it would be removed. They offered to send us to another hotel a 50 minute drive away and the reverse direction of where we needed to be early the next morning. We were stranded with no room at close to 11 at night. NEVER EVER GO TO THIS HOTEL!! They cannot be trusted to honor their booked, paid for and confirmed rooms!!! Since we booked a week ahead, it was not some issue of lag time between the third party site and the hotel--if it had been there would have been plenty of time to contact us and let us know that they would not be able to honor our reservation and offer us an alternative. Believe me, we were very happy to arrive at the Holiday Inn Express at midnight -- which, ironically, turned out to be a much nicer hotel and a far better service experience than this so called resort.

Room Tip: don't choose any room--go somewhere else
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

My husband and I booked two nights at the Essex for Labor Day weekend, excited about the location and resort amenities. After making the seven hour drive from New York City, we arrived at the hotel to check in and were told we did not have a reservation. They said our reservation had been moved to the Sheraton in South Burlington, a hotel in no way like the Essex. They said another party needed to extend their stay so they felt it was okay to cancel our reservation. At no point prior to the weekend did they attempt to contact us. The manager informed us because we used a third party booking service, they had no way of contacting us (despite the fact my husband had spoken to the Essex earlier in the week about having flowers in the room upon our arrival...read: they had his phone number).

After much argument they managed to get us into a nicer hotel in Stowe, 45 minutes away. However, as it was Labor Day weekend everywhere was booked, so we had to spend each of two nights in a separate place. Throughout all this, we were assured that this was the Essex's fault and they would be footing the bill and we would be fully refunded. Come to find out a week later, no such refund has or is planned to be issued as we were "reaccommodated".

Bottom line: if you want to be sure your reservation is in fact treated as a reservation, do not book at the Essex.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Meb477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

I saw this place online when I was hunting up vacation ideas off season in Vermont. I was pleasantly surprised at how lovely and small it was. I was expecting it to be much larger but it's smallness was one of the things that make it most wonderful. Close knit community and friendly staff. Can't wait to return, maybe it won't be raining then.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews