We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend but cold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spent the weekend there for a getaway and the place was perfect. The indoor pool was perfect minus a couple of children swimming lessons but they were not all that bad. Room was great and the Tavern had a great dinner as well

Room Tip: I would ask for the Manor only because its closer to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear dcayer,

I am pleased to hear you had a fabulous weekend and wow, has it been cold! The indoor pool is always toasty warm and our outdoor hot tub is heated to 104 degrees. Don't forget that in the warmer months we have an outdoor pool, walking trails, bikes and hammocks to take a nap and dream the day away.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

719 - 725 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

I thought the Essex was great! I bought a Groupon for the long romantic weekend and was treated well from reservations to check out. The resort was extremely warm and inviting. The restaurants were very good. We only left the resort to go into Burlington. The cooking class was fun to do and I would recommend it. We experienced the 8 course chef's table at Amuse. The only thing we will do differently is not go to the cooking class and the chef's table on the same day. Wow, that was alot of food! We enjoyed the Saturday night campfire, where some guests just hung out, chatted and enjoyed the fire in 20 degree weather.

Loved the morning coffee/tea and mid afternoon hot cider and cookies. The lobby was so inviting we would go to the lobby for coffee or cider and just hang out on the couch and chat or read the morning paper. Our room was always clean and we even had turn down service. The beds were amazing!!!! I don't think I have slept on a mattress that comfortable!

I can only say good things about the resort and look forward to our next visit and will definitely recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Stacy K,

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to be a part of your weekend away and I am quite pleased to hear it went so well.
Your words of praise and support of the Essex Resort & Spa are much appreciated.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I just spent two nights at the Essex Inn with friends and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We can't wait to go back. The staff were so welcoming and attentive. I don't think I have stayed anywhere with such great staff. We loved the breakfast buffet and thought it was quite reasonably priced. I wished we had explored the pool and fitness centre earlier - but it gives us an excuse to return. The trivia night was a lot of fun. The room was well appointed and spacious. The beds were so comfortable that it was hard to get up in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geegeeOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear geegeeOttawa,

Thank you for staying with us. We love when guests take the time to right about their great experiences. These are shared and celebrated with the entire resort and serve as a source of energy and encouragement.

See you next time.....don't forget, we have an outdoor pool for the warmer months!

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I attended the Downton Abbey Festivities at the Essex Resort. What a wonderful place to stay. The bed was so comfortable we did not want to get up in the morning. We are making plans to come back and enjoy the spa. The food was fantastic during the event but we still managed to order some room service and the food and service was great.
Carol & Peter (Canada)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhotoshopDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear PhotoshopDude,

This was our second annual Downton Abbey event and it was as much fun for all of us as it was for the guests who attended. What a unique and interactive evening! We love when guests oversleep due to the comfort of our beds so you go right ahead and sleep in next time you are with us.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at the Essex. I went for a romantic getaway with my fiance, and we brought our dog, and the staff couldn't have been more accommodating, even leaving a plate of dog treats and dog bowl in the room. We ate at the Tavern, and the food was really good. Next time we'll hit up the chef's table at Amuse! We wanted to have a couples massage and spend some time at the spa, but we didn't have enough time. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear merulana,

Thank you so much for choosing the Essex Resort & Spa as the setting for your romantic getaway and I am pleased to hear your experience was everything you hoped it would be.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room was great. The spa was great. The staff are exceptional. The food and service (especially the breakfast) at Amuse were amazing. The food at the Tavern was good, but we waited forever for drinks and food -- they needed more bartenders. We had such a nice time until Saturday night rolled around and all of a sudden we noticed loud voices and door slamming in the room next to ours. This went on for hours. Then we went to dinner and when we came back there was a band playing because of an on-site wedding. We had hoped to crash early and get a good night of sleep - no such luck with a loud band playing and an apparent wedding guest party in the room next to ours. Total bummer since we went there to relax. Friday night was very relaxing -- Saturday night I had to dig out the ear plugs and I could still hear music and parties. I would recommend going there for sure -- just make sure there is no wedding or you will not get peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Pamela W,

Thank you for staying with us and while, unfortunate that you were disturbed, I am happy to see your stay was not overshadowed by the wedding. It is certainly our intention that every guest receives the relaxing and serene experience they came for and deserve. We do take measures to ensure this occurs such as rooming non-wedding guests away from the function space, keeping all doors to the event room closed, monitoring and controlling music volume and setting a reasonable end time. It appears that in spite of our best efforts, we did not meet your expectations and for that I apologize. The Essex Resort & Spa has become the destination wedding location in Chittenden County and the vast majority of these are held without incidence. Hopefully you may consider a return visit as I am certain we can provide you with the level of service and serenity you would expect.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Really well located if you want some quiet time outside the city.
Nice hotel with 2 good restaurants and the possibility to buy some desert made there at the lobby (since it's also a culinary school).

We got upgraded to a small studio room with a kitchen that was really nice.

The pool building is really really nice with all the windows and the high seling. It was really relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Philagr,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Our full service in-house bakery is led by Chef Alex Casimir. He and his team make our desserts daily along with all of the bread and our pies and wedding cakes.

Come back soon and try a new dessert!!

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
704 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
792 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,676 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range: $124 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing