We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$116
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sonesta ES Suites Burlington(Williston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,561)
Filter reviews
1,561 results
Traveler rating
732
425
203
130
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
425
203
130
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classculinary resortculinary instituteoutlet malltavern restaurantmain buildingthe outdoor hot tubsteam roomtennis courtsgrounds are lovelyroom was largegreat weekendfitness centermanor buildingburlington areafire pitnew england
Filter
Updating list...
858 - 863 of 1,561 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This review is long overdue, but my husband and I went to The Essex in Sept 2012 for a long weekend for our anniversary last year. We arrived at the resort later than anticipated, but were pleasantly surprised to find a chilled bottle of champagne and a Happy Anniversary card waiting for us in our room upon our arrival. The room was wonderful - clean and inviting. The restaurant in the hotel is just impeccable! We ate there a few times (dinner and breakfast) and every time it was fantastic. Service, food, atmosphere - everything was awesome. The grounds are beautiful and the facilities (pool, spa, gym) were all easily accessible and clean! Because the resort is a few hours away, we aren't able to get there as much as we'd like, but will definitely be going back again - in fact, we'd like to renew our vows there in another few years. A huge thank you to the staff for a wonderful anniversary getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmom0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Travelingmom0124,
Thank you so much for choosing the Essex Resort & Spa to celebrate your wedding anniversary and for sharing your positive experience with others. I will be sure to celebrate your review with all of our associates so they may enjoy this reward for all of their hard work.
Your mention of returning to renew your vows means a great deal and we would appreciate the honor of being a part of that important event.

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
nazj@vtculinaryresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We bought a package deal at the Inn for a Saturday night. It included a room in the mansion, 3 course dinner for 2 at Amuse, breakfast at Amuse, a bottle of maple syrup, and a bottle of chilled champagne upon arrival. We had a great stay. Here are the details.

Arrival: The front desk staff should win some kind of a customer service award. They are phenomenal. They are friendly, helpful, and always have a smile on their face. They walked us through the property, and made sure we knew about all the amenities the hotel had to offer.

Room: Beautiful corner room located on the 3rd floor of the mansion. The room was quiet, nicely decorated and had any of the amenities I would be looking for at a hotel including coffee maker, iron, robes etc. The room was very clean upon arrival! The beds were very comfortable and we both had an incredible nights sleep.

The Food:

Amuse was satisfying, but we definitely preferred the old Butlers better. We found the hostesses to be a bit frazzled upon arrival, like they weren't sure exactly what to do. Nonetheless they were pleasant and seated us on time for our reservation. Dinner was good, not great. I had the Risotto with Tiger Shrimp which was fantastic, followed by a chicken stuffed with apple stuffing, which was good. My wife had a beet salad which was lacking some flavor followed by the meat and taters which were also lacking some flavor. Amuse blew us away with the desserts. The maple cheese cake was outstanding and won the show!

Breakfast was good, with lots more choices than we would of imagined. I had the Philly Benedict and my wife had hash and eggs. No complaints here. This breakfast was better than any you'll ever get in a hotel and it was packaged in.

Overall this was a great stay. With the 2 meals, the champagne, the room, and the maple syrup this room package was well worth the price. The area is beautiful with lots to do. I will come back to the Inn when our travels take us back to the Burlington area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dproskin1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Dproskin1101,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. Hearing from guests directly is of such great value. Positive comments are used to reinforce a culture of exceptional service and standards. Critiques are a tool used to improve our products and services.
Our Front Desk Agents are a wonderful team of hospitality professionals who enjoy what they do and it shows. The Associates in Housekeeping are so often the unseen heroes of a good experience and to provide them with recognition is a great boost to their morale.
Your comments regarding the experience in Amuse have been shared with Executive Chef Shawn Calley so he may use it as a training opportunity. Breakfast is the meal that sets the tone for the whole day and our breakfast chefs are amazing. They will be pleased to hear how they positively impacted your stay.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon,

Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A last minute change in travel plans had me scrambling for an extra night in the Burlington area, and I found this hotel, sight and reviews unseen, through Hotwire. Check-in was friendly but not effusive, and my room was clean and cute. The spa facility was well-appointed and its staff professional and courteous.

But the highlight, truly, was a last-minute reservation at the Chef's Table at Amuse. This nine-course meal was *out of this world* and Chef Michael Clauss was so friendly and interactive with the diners, giving us insight into his preparation and his selection of the wines for the pairing. It is pretty reasonably priced (given how much one is eating and the artistry and quality of the food. I left full and happy.

Overall, a great find on short-notice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 718cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Enjoyed discovering this interesting getaway destination to enjoy fall foliage & relaxation. Clever culinary themed location. Great food for breakfast and for dinners. Loved the landscaped grounds with culinary gardens, hammocks, gazebo, fire pit,tasteful fall decorations,and more. We used the spa for massages and other pampering--- beautiful and clean. Every single person we encountered from front desk to restaurant to spa to housekeeping was helpful & kind.

Room Tip: Mason rm 260 was wonderful....full kitchen, fireplace, whirlpool, corner room with many windows, very comfortable bed...great view of sunset and landscaped grounds.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had an amazing time staying at the Essex this past week! The front desk was super courteous and the grounds are beautiful! As part of the package we got from travelzoo.com, we received a couples massage and a cooking class. The spa and massage were so relaxing and the food we made in the cooking class was to-die-for! The resort was very close to Burlington where we were able to enjoy 2 hour free parking in all of the garages. The sunset over the lake is a must see! The only warning I would give is to check the bill you get at the end of the stay. We were warned about a $15 resort fee that would be added, but then there were other fees that the front desk person had trouble explaining. He ended up taking off the $29 one because he had no explanation for it, but the $30 one stayed because it was taxes or the other $15 ones were the taxes...? Overall though, it was a delightful trip and we are really hoping to win the pumpkin weight contest so we can return soon!

Room Tip: Because it was our anniversary, we were upgraded to a mini suite. It was huge with a fake fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. The room was on the first floor with huge windows facing the outdoor pool. It was very nice because we were there in the fall, but I could see how it could have been annoying if the pool was open.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews