We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windsor, Connecticut USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Enjoyed discovering this interesting getaway destination to enjoy fall foliage & relaxation. Clever culinary themed location. Great food for breakfast and for dinners. Loved the landscaped grounds with culinary gardens, hammocks, gazebo, fire pit,tasteful fall decorations,and more. We used the spa for massages and other pampering--- beautiful and clean. Every single person we encountered from front desk to restaurant to spa to housekeeping was helpful & kind.

Room Tip: Mason rm 260 was wonderful....full kitchen, fireplace, whirlpool, corner room with many windows, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    392
    170
    111
    56
See reviews for
264
730
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had an amazing time staying at the Essex this past week! The front desk was super courteous and the grounds are beautiful! As part of the package we got from travelzoo.com, we received a couples massage and a cooking class. The spa and massage were so relaxing and the food we made in the cooking class was to-die-for! The resort was very close to Burlington where we were able to enjoy 2 hour free parking in all of the garages. The sunset over the lake is a must see! The only warning I would give is to check the bill you get at the end of the stay. We were warned about a $15 resort fee that would be added, but then there were other fees that the front desk person had trouble explaining. He ended up taking off the $29 one because he had no explanation for it, but the $30 one stayed because it was taxes or the other $15 ones were the taxes...? Overall though, it was a delightful trip and we are really hoping to win the pumpkin weight contest so we can return soon!

Room Tip: Because it was our anniversary, we were upgraded to a mini suite. It was huge with a fake fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We just arrived today for a three-night stay. Receptionist was friendly and cheerful, and there were cookies and cider in the lobby. All excitement about our stay vanished, however, upon seeing our room. Instead of a king-size bed, there are two awful looking Murphy beds. The structures look bizarre and make it feel like we're in a dorm room or institution. Overall, the decor is dated, but the real problem is that the massive frames of the Murphy beds attached to the walls make it impossible for this room to feel at all like a nice hotel, never mind a resort. Plus, the comforter on one of the beds is not clean, and there is a dirty grate in direct view from the other bed. The receptionist tried to switch our rooms, but the hotel is booked. Another person at the front desk confirmed that the hotel normally avoids using this room because guests find it off-putting. We would have appreciated being advised at the time of making this reservation that the only room the hotel had available was this strange one. The feel of the room is making it hard to enjoy our stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeminnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear jeminnewyork,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the cheerful and friendly associate at the Front Desk. The cider and cookies are treats that many of our guests enjoy. The cookies are made in house daily by our talented bakers. It is unfortunate that your room did not meet your expectations. The Essex Resort & Spa has 120 unique guest rooms each one with its own personality, style & amenities and some are more poular than others. Hopefully you may consider a return visit with us sometime in the future as I am certain we can find the room that is perfect for you. If so, please contact me directly so I may be personally involved with ensuring this occurs.

Nazba Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
nazj@vtculinaryresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and allow the Essex to remind you what a vacation is designed to do..........help you decompress. Great food, drink, staff and especially the spa....all designed to clear your mind and relax your body.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritciewilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed two nights after finding a deal on Groupon. The property was as described....no surprises. Very inviting, clean, nice building and grounds. Our spacious room had a king bed, d the electric stove was a nice touch, but a more powerful bathroom fan would have been better. From the front desk personnel to the restaurant employees, to the valets, everyone was polite and professional. The "resort fees/taxes" that are assessed at booking is not a policy I like, but we were informed upfront and considering everything, the assessment was fair. Free coffee/tea or cider and cookies were near the front desk throughout the day. NOTE: Even though this property is only 9 or 10 miles from downtown Burlington, it will take you anywhere from 20-30 minutes to get there depending on traffic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandylaneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for a business meeting, so while I did not get to use the spa or culinary facilities, I did get to experience the lodging, fitness center and dining. I stayed in a "junior suite" which was quite spacious and very nice appointed. The walls were a rich burgundy, not the usual hotel to be sure and quite a refreshing change. The staff were all very friendly and the food was outstanding - creative dishes perfectly seasoned and right-sized. I would like to visit again, but this time with my wife!

Room Tip: I was in room 112, junior suite, first floor, but at end of building - nice and quiet. Gas stove cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Along with a group of friends, my wife and I recently spent an extended autumn weekend at The Essex. Following are my rather lengthy observations, and I strongly recommend you consider all of them before making a decision regarding a stay there.

The good:
1. Check in was easy and efficient, and the suite we reserved was ready when we arrived. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. And there were no surprises regarding the rates we had expected to pay.
2. Our suite, in the Manor building, had a full kitchen, including a full-sized refrigerator, a microwave, and most of the dishes, utensils and other equipment we would need had we intended to prepare meals (which we didn’t). A Keurig coffee-maker was included. There were a dining table and 4 chairs as well. The smallish living room included a very nice desk with a hutch, a comfortable sleeper-couch, two chairs, two tables, a decent-sized TV and a gas-fired, free-standing stove, a very nice amenity. The bathroom included a large sink room, and a separate bath/shower/toilet area, with a whirlpool tub. Closet space was very ample.
3. Parking was easy and convenient, even when the hotel was crowded with wedding guests.
4. An outlet mall, including Ralph Lauren, Orvis, Van Heusen, Pendleton, Bass, as well as a CVS pharmacy and a very nice supermarket, are extremely close to the hotel (although for some, this might not be considered a “good” aspect).
5. Wireless internet connectivity was available and free.
6. The terry robes in the bathroom were comfortable and very luxurious.
7. An iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and the usual bathroom amenities were available.

The not-so-good:
1. The tiny bedroom had a dresser, a small TV and only a queen-sized bed, and the bed was not as comfortable as it should have been.
2. The forced-air heating made the rooms very dry, and along with some mold in the rooms, this triggered allergy attacks for both of us.
3. The TVs had no options for any premium channels or movies, and no interface at all with the hotel operations.
4. The corner stall shower was so small we could barely turn around in it.
5. The towels were uniformly stiff and relatively small. No oversized bath towels were provided.
6. Spa treatments were good, but typically pricey, and no better or worse than we’ve had at other hotels that don’t clam “spa” status.
7. One couple in our party was extremely unhappy with their dark, tiny room (which they likened to more of a “tomb”) as well as discovering the lack of maid service when they returned in the late afternoon.

The bad and the ugly:
1. The Essex touts itself as a New England getaway spa, in a beautiful area with views, etc. Don’t be misled. This place is a compound of buildings in a flat, charmless spot adjacent to a highway with nary a hill in sight. It is surrounded by condo villages and shopping malls. A man-made little pond with a fountain on a grassy spot surrounded by parking lots and access roads is used for outdoor weddings.
2. We were extremely put off by the charges imposed for everything. Bicycles are available, but for rental only. Want to take a shower in the spa building before or after a swim in their pool? There’s a $20 fee! Golf or tennis? Get your wallet out. Take a class in their culinary center? More than $100 per person per session. A few hammocks on the property were free if you could find any available (we couldn’t).
3. Some of our party were charged a “Spa fee” regardless of their never having stepped into the spa facilities.
4. This was the first time in many years that we’ve stepped into a room in a somewhat “upscale” hotel where there wasn’t a single courtesy item waiting for us - not a bottle of water, or a 10-cent piece of chocolate or even an apple. (There were a basket of apples and coffee and tea available in the main lobby in a separate building.)
5. On a warm, Sunday afternoon when we wanted to enjoy a drink on their outdoor tavern patio, we were extremely dismayed to find it was closed and that no bar service would be available until after 5pm. (We had to plead with some of the staff to break the rules and provide drinks and we slipped out past the locked doors and sat in the closed patio anyway.)
6. Claiming status as a culinary arts center, we found the food inconsistent. At lunch, soups and chowders were very good, but some sandwiches and wraps were mediocre at best. Breakfast was also spotty, with a few of our party sending back dishes to be prepared as ordered. And there was no buffet breakfast available on the weekend; only menu choices were offered. Our breakfast at the airport going home proved to be at least as good, if not better, than the fare at the Essex.

In summary, we were not very happy with our stay at the Essex. Its overall ambiance was more of a commercial business operation built on a boring tract of land from the ground up, luring guests with images of a spa getaway in the mountains. If you’re traveling to the Burlington area and have no specific reason to stay at The Essex (i.e. for a wedding), I’d recommend you consider any of the other hotels in or around the city itself, such as the Sheraton or the Hilton. At least then you’d be in town with lots to do, and you’d be close to the Church Street pedestrian mall, several excellent restaurants, Lake Champlain, UVM, and many of the other attractions available there. Don’t be fooled like we were.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LarryScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
The Trip Advisor forum is a wonderful tool that, when used properly, provides travelers with access to experiences at properties they may consider visiting. It is unfortunate that this opportunity to express opinions has been so unfairly used in this review. I implore readers of this review to analyze it carefully and afterward to feel free to reach out to me personally so I may address concerns on a point by point basis as it contains inconsistencies and false information.


Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
nazj@vtculinaryresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing