We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could possibly hope for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was a little after concerned after reading a review on trip advisor that stated the guest had allowed her dog to sleep on the bed obviously not adhering to the rules regarding animals in the hotel rooms.
I need not have worried as we were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe suite which was perfect as it gave us the privacy required for four adults. The decor of the room was bright and the cupboard and draw space for clothing etc was excellent, the kitchen area was more than adequate for our needs, the bathroom was a good size and also had plenty of storage space. We ate in both the tavern and the muse and all our meals were of a very high standard as we're the breakfasts.
We also used the spa for massages which included the use of the suna and steam rooms for the day, it was a wonderfully relaxing experience. The indoor pool is excellent as are the outdoor pool and the hot tub. The grounds of the resort are immaculate. The staff in all areas are attentive while maintaining the relaxed cheerfulness that seems to come naturally to the people of Vermont.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Leintwardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at The Essex because it was a Groupon deal I found and it was close to Burlington. Included in the Groupon was dinner to the Tavern which was fantastic. I had the filet my husband had the chicken which was very good as well. We didn't do anything else on the grounds but if we return we would like to try out the Northern lights course they have.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAP1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second visit to The Essex. I did a class at the Cook Academy (Cooking Vegetarian with Vermont Cheese - amazing!), had a massage at the spa, and ate a wonderful dinner at Amuse. I was so relaxed after two nights. I love that they are pet friendly - I brought my cat with me this trip, and she chilled in the room. I upgraded to a fireplace room this time. I didn't need the fireplace this trip, but the room was spacious, with a small sitting area to the side. I may buy another fall special and come back for another visit in a couple months!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

You will want for nothing at this resort! From its landscaped grounds, luxurious sapacious, comfortable and immaculate rooms to its gourmet dining facilities. Unfortunately we could only spend one night here (which is not recommended) and could not participate in all the amenities which are offered. A two full day minimum might include the highlights offered. The Essex is a short 10 minute drive to Burlington and all of its amenities. If you're in this area, make every effort to stay here.

Room Tip: Mid-week stays might offer better accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Art W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here for two days to relax. The spa was nice and quiet. Very clean and well kept. Everyone was extremely attentive. We took the cooking class with Brittany. That was awesome. Learned some new techniques and had a delicious meal to boot!. Grounds were nice to walk about or simply grab a hammock and a book to read. Did a little local travelling but think if we came back would take advantage of other things the area had to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in back tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The grounds at the Essex Inn are very well maintained and lovely which include an outdoor pool, walking trails, a world class's spa and indoor Olympic sized pool.

This is my second time staying at the Essex (both trips for business) the first was in December of 2011 and the second was last week for three nights.

The Essex is best known for its culinary arts so you would expect that such a reputation would be indicative of incredible food throughout the inn. Not necessarily: I did not have the opportunity to dine in "Amuse" which is the upscale restaurant on premises but did have dinner three times in the Tavern in addition to catered buffet lunch during the day.

The Maple Wind Farms BBQ Chicken and roasted corn setved in the Tavern was amazing!! Every other meal was average at best. The Mediterranean Falafel Salad had the worst hummous and falafel I have ever tasted ;as for the "beer dippin pretzels", don't bother-- the dipping sauce was like paste. Terrible consistency and taste. The Filet Mignon Medallions were ok but not as good as the comparable item at Outback Steakhouse which have much better flavor and more tender than the filet medalions served at the Essex. All in all, a huge disappointment. The saving grace in the food department wete the homemade bbq potatoe chips with cinnamon and red pepper and the Maple Wind Farms BBQ Chicken dinner.

What are the rooms like? I had a very large room with fireplace and sitting area that smelled very much like a wet dog. The color scheme of the room was very nice; bright and cheerful. During checkout when I mentioned the wet dog smell in the room to the desk clerk, the young man replied simply: "interesting" --then went about printing my folio and completing my checkout.

Room Tip: Get one that does not smell like a wet dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Sark1961

Thank you for returning to visit the Essex Resort & Spa. Repeat guests are a vital part of any hospitality business as well as a testament to the quality of the service received.

The Essex is certainly known for its culinary arts and while the Tavern is great, it is unfortunate that you did not experience our many other dining choices. Amuse is our signature restaurant and the recipient of a four diamond rating from AAA as well as a Wine Spectator award. Additionally Amuse has been rated as four and ½ out of five by Trip Advisor reviewers. Our Chef’s Table has also been rated four and ½ out of five possible on Trip Advisor. Our cooking classes have been a great source of positive feedback. Our guests truly enjoy the talented chef instructors who take each class participant on a fun filled, informative journey through their culinary adventure. Chef Robert Alger, our Executive Pastry Chef, is often crafting tasty pastry delights right in our lobby demonstration bakery. For breakfast each morning one of our chefs is on stage at our preparation area that is open to the dining room. This provides a wonderful glimpse “behind the curtain” as you can watch your food being masterfully prepared before your eyes. Under the Supervision of our Certified Master Chef, Arnd Sievers, our culinary team is ready to accommodate any food preference, allergy and restriction with ease along with gluten free preparations. With all of these incredible options, we generally can find the right venue and menu items to suit our diverse and varied clientele.

I do apologize for the missed opportunity at departure. Please be assured that this will be used as a training tool as we continuously develop our associates hospitality skills and experience.


Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Wednesday through Saturday in late August. Our room was in The Mansion; it was clean, but not luxurious by any means. The dresser was kind of rickety but it didn't really matter to me - just needed to hold clothes. The walls were also a bit scuffed up in certain places - again, not a big deal, but don't expect this to be a "resort" atmosphere indoors. The grounds are beautiful and the staff I encountered were exceptionally friendly and courteous. We didn't go to the spa, but I did use the small gym (two treadmills and ellipticals, weights and machines). We ate at The Tavern one night and went for drinks another night. Food and drink were very tasty. I would have liked to have tried Amuse, but heard it was really pricey so we opted to eat most of our meals in downtown Burlington. Overall, I would turn to The Essex, especially with another Travel Zoo deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
704 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
792 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,676 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range: $124 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing