We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Time away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came here for two days to relax. The spa was nice and quiet. Very clean and well kept. Everyone was extremely attentive. We took the cooking class with Brittany. That was awesome. Learned some new techniques and had a delicious meal to boot!. Grounds were nice to walk about or simply grab a hammock and a book to read. Did a little local travelling but think if we came back would take advantage of other things the area had to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in back tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    392
    170
    111
    56
See reviews for
264
730
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The grounds at the Essex Inn are very well maintained and lovely which include an outdoor pool, walking trails, a world class's spa and indoor Olympic sized pool.

This is my second time staying at the Essex (both trips for business) the first was in December of 2011 and the second was last week for three nights.

The Essex is best known for its culinary arts so you would expect that such a reputation would be indicative of incredible food throughout the inn. Not necessarily: I did not have the opportunity to dine in "Amuse" which is the upscale restaurant on premises but did have dinner three times in the Tavern in addition to catered buffet lunch during the day.

The Maple Wind Farms BBQ Chicken and roasted corn setved in the Tavern was amazing!! Every other meal was average at best. The Mediterranean Falafel Salad had the worst hummous and falafel I have ever tasted ;as for the "beer dippin pretzels", don't bother-- the dipping sauce was like paste. Terrible consistency and taste. The Filet Mignon Medallions were ok but not as good as the comparable item at Outback Steakhouse which have much better flavor and more tender than the filet medalions served at the Essex. All in all, a huge disappointment. The saving grace in the food department wete the homemade bbq potatoe chips with cinnamon and red pepper and the Maple Wind Farms BBQ Chicken dinner.

What are the rooms like? I had a very large room with fireplace and sitting area that smelled very much like a wet dog. The color scheme of the room was very nice; bright and cheerful. During checkout when I mentioned the wet dog smell in the room to the desk clerk, the young man replied simply: "interesting" --then went about printing my folio and completing my checkout.

Room Tip: Get one that does not smell like a wet dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EssexResort-VT, Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sark1961

Thank you for returning to visit the Essex Resort & Spa. Repeat guests are a vital part of any hospitality business as well as a testament to the quality of the service received.

The Essex is certainly known for its culinary arts and while the Tavern is great, it is unfortunate that you did not experience our many other dining choices. Amuse is our signature restaurant and the recipient of a four diamond rating from AAA as well as a Wine Spectator award. Additionally Amuse has been rated as four and ½ out of five by Trip Advisor reviewers. Our Chef’s Table has also been rated four and ½ out of five possible on Trip Advisor. Our cooking classes have been a great source of positive feedback. Our guests truly enjoy the talented chef instructors who take each class participant on a fun filled, informative journey through their culinary adventure. Chef Robert Alger, our Executive Pastry Chef, is often crafting tasty pastry delights right in our lobby demonstration bakery. For breakfast each morning one of our chefs is on stage at our preparation area that is open to the dining room. This provides a wonderful glimpse “behind the curtain” as you can watch your food being masterfully prepared before your eyes. Under the Supervision of our Certified Master Chef, Arnd Sievers, our culinary team is ready to accommodate any food preference, allergy and restriction with ease along with gluten free preparations. With all of these incredible options, we generally can find the right venue and menu items to suit our diverse and varied clientele.

I do apologize for the missed opportunity at departure. Please be assured that this will be used as a training tool as we continuously develop our associates hospitality skills and experience.


Naz Jenulevich
Director of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here Wednesday through Saturday in late August. Our room was in The Mansion; it was clean, but not luxurious by any means. The dresser was kind of rickety but it didn't really matter to me - just needed to hold clothes. The walls were also a bit scuffed up in certain places - again, not a big deal, but don't expect this to be a "resort" atmosphere indoors. The grounds are beautiful and the staff I encountered were exceptionally friendly and courteous. We didn't go to the spa, but I did use the small gym (two treadmills and ellipticals, weights and machines). We ate at The Tavern one night and went for drinks another night. Food and drink were very tasty. I would have liked to have tried Amuse, but heard it was really pricey so we opted to eat most of our meals in downtown Burlington. Overall, I would turn to The Essex, especially with another Travel Zoo deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights and used a coupon. Ate at both restaurants and enjoyed them both. Booked a cooking class for my husband and I which turned out to be a private lesson. It was a bit pricey but we did enjoy all courses. All other amenities were nice. Had a very nice facial and a couples massage. Really appreciated that they didn't push you to buy any products.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolmic60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a last minute booking via Hotwire.com, and we were given this hotel. To our pleasant surprise, we were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite upon arrival. Although it was a one-night stay, it was a nice property with good service. Front desk staff were polite and helpful. We were told that the resort has activities planned for guests, but unfortunately we arrived to late to join, and we were going to leave early the next day. The room is a little old in style, but still comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffykoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Was there for 5 nights with family. The grounds are lovely and the room clean but the level of attention and comfort was not 4 star resort standards. The changing room by the pool had only 1 shower and no swim suit dryer. The room had 2 queen beds but not enough room for clothing. The little extras and attention to detail were missing. We did love being close to Burlington, but there are other hotels closer to UVM or downtown. I would go back, but it would not be my 1st choice in that area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpletaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at The Essex for our 20th Anniversary and we couldn't be more satisfied with our experience. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful, they just seemed to be happy to work there and anticipated our needs. They got us fantastic reservations in Burlington, gave us great recommendations on other eateries, with printout lists of staff picks.
I had a headache upon arrival, they gave me Advil, we forgot toothpaste, they gave us plenty.
Fresh baked cookies and lemonade in the lobby, sure why not!
I'm pretty sure we had the nicest room in the resort, it was large with a living room seating area and fireplace, Also I must have mentioned when reserving that it was our anniversary because there was a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for us, nice touch!
So, after unpacking and having a drink, my husband and I walked around the grounds, checked out the spa then just relaxed by the pool for a couple hours. The outdoor pool was perfect temperature, and must be fresh or salt water, there was no awful chemical odor which was nice.
For dinner we went into Burlington and ate at Leunigs, which was amazing. I cannot say enough great things about our meal, We eat out a lot in Boston and this is tops. I had a salad, the coconut Jerk seared scallops with a lobster crab risotto cake on bed of seared greens, wow!
We shared the molten salted caramel chocolate lava cake and a Macallen 12.
The next day we ate at one of the Staff Picks for breakfast, the Firebird Cafe, just down the street a bit, it was terrific. We stopped in at Lang Farm Antiques on the way and bought some lovely items for our home. That place is chock full of vintage finds.
We then went back to The Essex and they gave us bikes and helmets, we rode around the bike path across the street, then through a bunch of nearby neighborhoods, fun.
We got back and went straight to the pool for cooling off and napping.
That night we went to Splash on the waterfront. They sat us right on the waters edge. We had Mojitos and appetizers and watched the sun go down over Lake Champlain, gorgeous.
Then we had dinner up the street at The Farmhouse Tap and Grill, great localvore food, with outstanding Beer selection. Try the Edward Pale Ale by Hill Farmstead Brewery, very rare, impossible to buy, except in select restaurants.
The next day it was time to go home, back to reality, back to the teenagers...
We had the breakfast buffet at Amuse, delicious and great service. Very nice dining room with comfortable seats and large tables.
If we ever get back to the Essex, and I hope we do, we will try some of the culinary classes and maybe a spa treatment or two. We had never been to Burlington before so the sight seeing took up most of our time.
I will also bring my dog! Did I mention that the Essex is Dog Friendly and so is most of Burlington? I love that. We brought Bugsy some of the special house made dog treats home and he loved them. We also brought some of the Essex tarts and other desserts home for our family
to enjoy.
Loved our stay...

Room Tip: Go for the fireplace corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anewman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing