We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here is a very special place indeed !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We needed a place for the night and stopped by and took a room for one night.
Wow: this place is awesome.
After our stay in Burlington at a family member house we wanted a special treat and came back to Essex for 3 more days.

They are a wonderful place to call home while on a trip.

Their staff is top notch, they wait on you hand and foot. Yes it is a little pricey but when you want to feel special and want to bless your wife or husband then this a the place to come to.

Elegant, warm and cozy, clean and peaceful. and they allows your dog.

Can not say enough good things about this place.

The best place we have ever been...................

Room Tip: You get what you pay for at many places, if you want cheap you can find it. Use the internet before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the Essex in June, and found it to be a wonderful old Hotel with a lot of character-reminds me of an old Inn with quaint rooms and alcoves. The weather wasn't great, so we didn't have a chance to explore the extensive grounds. It was about a 10 minute drive into Burlington, so the location was great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diver40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visited the Essex Resort to partake in a 3 hour culinary class and look forward to going back for a longer visit. The hotel and grounds were inviting and the food is an art. We had the pleasure of taking a culinary class in a group of 8. The experience was educational, had a couple of laughs and a fabulous meal. The class was very well organized and everyone got to participate. Once we prepared our fabulous meal we all sat down with a nice glass of wine and feasted.We even got to take our aprons home as a souvenir! There are varied themes of the cooking classes that can be found on the web site. My suggestion would be to stay at the resort and take the class in as one of the many Vermont attractions. All the staff we met was top notch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BougieBFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found a great deal for this hotel and booked for the weekend of June 7-9. Check in was quick and friendly and we were in our room in no time. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Two very nice bathrobes were provided for the duration of our stay. The only drawback was that after a day of seeing the sights, we returned to find our room had not been cleaned! When I called down to the desk, I was asked if I had put in a request to have the room cleaned. The only door hanger in the room is for "do not disturb". Apparently you have to call down to the desk to request that your room be cleaned, otherwise they only make up the room when you leave. Not a huge deal as we were only staying for the weekend. The staff was very friendly and were quick to respond when we asked for clean coffee cups, glasses and towels.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 (second floor). The room was equipped with amenities for the disabled. Large d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahamamama65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent the night here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, cold bottle of bubbly and a beautiful room. The outdoor pool was open and heated just right. Dinner at the Tavern was amazing, I would give this 6 stars if I could. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, let them know if you are celebrating a special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recommend this hotel , this resort has everything to help you yo enjoy a relaxing weekend...pleasant staff, very nice heated outdoor pool, room nice and comfy...nice indoor pool although the spa needs a bit of refreshing... liked the sauna and steaming bath but less liked that this is not couple sharing, it is separated...Excellent experience while booking, Thank you Jeannette Ward!!!...loved the music in the lobby, calm and pleasant, same in the spa...overall, if you have money to spend and you want to be in the city but away from all stress, this resort is the answer for you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickhita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here this past weekend and loved it. It was my second time at the resort and his first. We brought our dog and they took amazing care of him, allowing him to stay behind the desk when we had dinner at the Chef's Table. They even gave him toys, treats, and a travel bowl to take home with him! The Chef's Table was incredible. Every dish was absolutely delicious (and we are foodies) and the wine pairings (though a lot of wine) were perfect. Alex, our chef, was super. The rooms are clean, decorated very nicely and comfortable. The beds are super comfortable (in fact, we are going to buy the same sheets they use!) We ordered room service for breakfast and it came within 20 minutes and was very yummy. We honestly had no complaints at all. Just wish we had stayed longer!

A special thanks to Lindsey for her help with our dog and to Alex Casimir for the amazing Chef's Table! Can't wait to seee yo

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
698 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
780 reviews
16.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,370 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range: $134 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing