We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We found a great deal for this hotel and booked for the weekend of June 7-9. Check in was quick and friendly and we were in our room in no time. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Two very nice bathrobes were provided for the duration of our stay. The only drawback was that after a day of seeing the sights, we returned to find our room had not been cleaned! When I called down to the desk, I was asked if I had put in a request to have the room cleaned. The only door hanger in the room is for "do not disturb". Apparently you have to call down to the desk to request that your room be cleaned, otherwise they only make up the room when you leave. Not a huge deal as we were only staying for the weekend. The staff was very friendly and were quick to respond when we asked for clean coffee cups, glasses and towels.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 (second floor). The room was equipped with amenities for the disabled. Large d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahamamama65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    396
    171
    112
    56
See reviews for
268
735
37
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent the night here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, cold bottle of bubbly and a beautiful room. The outdoor pool was open and heated just right. Dinner at the Tavern was amazing, I would give this 6 stars if I could. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny, let them know if you are celebrating a special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recommend this hotel , this resort has everything to help you yo enjoy a relaxing weekend...pleasant staff, very nice heated outdoor pool, room nice and comfy...nice indoor pool although the spa needs a bit of refreshing... liked the sauna and steaming bath but less liked that this is not couple sharing, it is separated...Excellent experience while booking, Thank you Jeannette Ward!!!...loved the music in the lobby, calm and pleasant, same in the spa...overall, if you have money to spend and you want to be in the city but away from all stress, this resort is the answer for you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickhita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here this past weekend and loved it. It was my second time at the resort and his first. We brought our dog and they took amazing care of him, allowing him to stay behind the desk when we had dinner at the Chef's Table. They even gave him toys, treats, and a travel bowl to take home with him! The Chef's Table was incredible. Every dish was absolutely delicious (and we are foodies) and the wine pairings (though a lot of wine) were perfect. Alex, our chef, was super. The rooms are clean, decorated very nicely and comfortable. The beds are super comfortable (in fact, we are going to buy the same sheets they use!) We ordered room service for breakfast and it came within 20 minutes and was very yummy. We honestly had no complaints at all. Just wish we had stayed longer!

A special thanks to Lindsey for her help with our dog and to Alex Casimir for the amazing Chef's Table! Can't wait to seee yo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaTripAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Located a few miles outside Burlington, this sprawling resort has everything to help you enjoy a relaxing weekend away from the city. The culinary part in the name is not just a quirk. The food is definitely the best part. the Chef's Table is a must (reviewed separately) and even the Tavern has some very good food. The rooms are spacious enough - we had a traditional fireplace room (although the fireplace itself was electric). There are two pools - the outdoor one is probably more for kids to splash around when weather permits. But 25 yard heated indoor pool is great for people want to get a workout. There are two hot tubs as well - was great during the wet 35F weekend we encountered. There are 6 tennis courts but they seemed in dire need of maintenance. It could be a result of the constant rain the area had been getting. Anyway the weather didn't allow us to use those facilities. Which brings me to the Spa. I am not a regular massage guy so it is difficult for me to rate that experience. The rain showers at the Spa are definitely the best I have ever seen. The staff is like most people in New England, very nice and polite and eager to help. On the whole a very relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KaustuvDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a beautiful resort with pleasant staff and comfortable rooms. What spoiled my business trip here was the worst meal I have ever experienced. The bread roll arrived and should have served as a warning for me. As the knife cut into the bread roll so it disintegrated onto the side plate and table surrounding it, it was then like biting into a tablet of moulded wood chippings. The main course arrived and initially looked ok. Hidden under the tasteless fish (with acceptable batter) was twice fried chips half of which had been fried for most of the day. The chips that were not solid from being over fried were dripping in fat and tasteless. The tartare sauce was garbage and the only thing on the plate that tasted of anything was the ketchup and newspaper garnish placed under this culinary disgrace.

I complained to the staff in the restaurant and the duty front desk manager so that the chef does not think I am being deceitful in my review. Chef, how this got through the pass is beyond me and I think you need to review your attention to detail.

Room Tip: My best tip is to say, if you do go then plan on eating somewhere other than the Tavern Inn on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JGVT, General Manager at The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Tim N.
We are very sorry to hear of your recent experience, and I sincerely appreciate your candid feedback. I have passed your comments on to our Food and Beverage Director, and we are looking into the issue to see what could have been done differently.
I am disappointed that you left with such an impression, in that our crusty dinner rolls are made fresh daily in our own Bakeshop onsite, the fish Is hand-battered to order, and the tartar sauce is also house made fresh. Frankly, our Fish and Chips is perennially one of our most popular dishes, so it is most unfortunate that it was not to your liking this night.
This being said, I am again very sorry and hope that we may try to sway your opinion of our culinary offerings the next time you choose to visit the Resort. I am, however, pleased that you found the resort to be so pleasant and comfortable otherwise!

Sincerely.
Jim Glanville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed there multiple times when I'm traveling to Stowe or Boston and want to be pampered. The rooms are very, very nice and comfy. The boys and I stayed there when were were skiing at Stowe Mountain; it's only 50 minutes away and way cheaper. As a bonus, Ben and Jerry's is on the way back from skiing to the Inn.

The pool is great.
The spa massages are excellent.
The staff is very responsive. I wish other hotels were like this.

They often have deals through Hotwire.

Room Tip: I used urbanspoon and trip advisor and found some great places close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
5.8 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
14.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Property: The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Address: 70 Essex Way, Essex, VT 05452-3383
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Essex
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 18 acres between the vistas of the Green Mountains and the splendor of Lake Champlain, The Essex is Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa. The Essex is a true destination, offering a full-service Spa and Fitness Center, cooking classes in the J.K. Adams and Chef's Kitchens of Cook Academy, and our two award-winning restaurants-- all of which perfectly complement our classic accommodations.The Essex is the premier choice for your next group event and is the perfect Vermont wedding destination for dozens of happy couples tying the knot each year. From our own Vermont Tennis Vacations to our wine list, ranked among the best in the world, The Essex offers you an experience unlike any other resort in New England. ...a true Recipe for Relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Resort And Spa
The Essex, Vermont`s Culinary Hotel Essex
Essex Vermonts Culinary Junction
Essex Vermonts Culinary Hotel
Inn Essex
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing