We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TownePlace Suites Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$134
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Burlington Williston(Williston)(Great Value!)
$112
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sonesta ES Suites Burlington(Williston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$93
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Burlington(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,531)
Filter reviews
1,531 results
Traveler rating
715
423
199
127
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
423
199
127
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classculinary resortchef's tableculinary instituteoutlet malltavern restaurantmain buildingthe outdoor hot tubsteam roomtennis courtscouples massagegrounds are lovelyroom was largefitness centergreat weekendcookiesburlington area
Filter
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,531 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I checked into the resort for 2 nights to celebrate our Anniversary. Check in was pleasant and the front desk folks were wonderful. Our room was upgraded from a Qu. to a King. When we walked in, there was a chilled bottle of Champagne with two glasses and an Anniv. card from the resort ! I guess I mentioned it on the phone and relaxing with the champagne was a fabulous start to the two days. Very comfortable bed and great shower. The only problem with the room was that you cannot turn the heat down below 65, and we were pretty hot. Other than that, great room. Both nights we opted for dinner in the Tavern after busy days out and about. Food is wonderful, service...so-so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weddingangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Far from impressed with the food at this "culinary resort.". Just paid $100 for room service for wings, 2 salads, a dessert and a few beers. The food was pretty awful - nothing spectactular or innovative about the cuisine and wasnt even moderately good. The rooms are very dated and show lots of wear. They are large and convenient fot traveling with a young child but the carpet is gross and the rooms in general are in need of a facelift. The spa was the best part and what I would recommend. My husband and I both got massages and enjoyed the facility.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Mbkcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my wife and I's second visit to the Essex, and a memorable stay it was. The service was top notch and attentive. We had a small issue in the bathroom, which was rectified within 15 minutes by the hotels maintenance staff. There is plenty to do within walking distance, but everything that you need is at the the hotel, especially the restaurants. There are tow on the premises, The Amuse and the Tavern. No matter what you choose - you will not be disappointed.

My only real complaint was that we could have used another relaxing day! We will certainly be back again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Heinzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first time at the essex resort. The kids took a cooking class which they enjoyed and the huge indoor pool and outdoor hot tub were a big hit. Good times!! The inn is beautiful and the food is amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauriegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This resort was beautiful. The room we stayed in had two queen beds and lots of room to move. There was not much (drawer/closet) space for clothing but we didn't stay for too long so this wasn't a problem. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower was great! Two bathrobes were supplied for our use during our stay!!! The room was very comfortable - one of the nicest we have stayed in, in a long time. The property, in general, was stunning. The decor of the buildings was really nice ... everything was decorated for the holidays since we went in December, right after Christmas. There were Christmas trees, lit fireplaces and lots of ambiance. There was hot apple cider, coffee, tea, hot cocoa and homemade cookies throughout the day in the lobby. There was pastries and homemade bread for purchase in the lobby, as well, for a very nominal price. One day, there were chefs cooking in the lobby and food was provided to sample. We did not partonize the restaurants, culinary classes or spa but they all looked very nice. We actually were able to watch one of the culinary classes taking place and it was a two on one session and looked fantastic. The indoor pool was great. There were VERY large swimming lanes, plus enough room for kids to play. The outdoor hot tub was not functioning but we enjoyed it anyway. With snow on the ground, it was quite exhilirating to be in the hot water in our bathsuits outdoors. There was so much more to this property to enjoy but we had come during a major snow storm, we're not skiers and one of our children had the flu. We made the best of the trip and we LOVED it! We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews